Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Otay Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Some teachers are not willing to work with students tbey would much rather just put them in the corner of the classroom

Otay Elementary School 1

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
Great teacher's bad Receptionists if you don't get there in time they tell your baby to get out, this is the second time I find my babies outside crying because the receptionist told them to get out ,there 6 and 7 i sometimes get there late because i work and sometimes i just can't get there in time, only 5 minutes late and they can't let them stay inside until I get there ....... again this school have great teacher's but really bad receptionist they do not care about your kids.


Otay Elementary School 3

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
This year the bullying has gotten out of control. There is nothing to engage the children in, no after school programs, no art, no music. Just swearing and bullying.

Otay Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
My husband and my self went to Otay school 27 years ago and now our son attends Kinder. The school is great, the teacher Ms. Todal is amazing. My son has learned to read so fast and he has gotten to be great at math. All the kids talents come out, all the kids have improved in one way or another.

Otay Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2012
- a parent
My daughter started going here for 2nd grade and is now going to 5th. My litle one did Kinder and is going to 1st grade. I am very pleased with the teaching methods, they have wondreful teachers, staff and principal. The students do a lot of testing but also get medals or trophys if they get passing scores. This is an accelerated school and I enjoy my children going here. =)


Otay Elementary School 4

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
My son is in sixth grade and has been at Otay since he was in kindergarden. Great school, Great teachers! Their curriculum is tough but they make sure every student believes that they are capable of that and more...Way to go Otay

Otay Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2009
- a parent
My step-daughter goes to this school and I find this to be a wonderful place for young students to learn and become successful people. The staff is great and the school has a lot of nice things going for it.

Otay Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2008
- a parent
My two children have attended Otay Elementary since kindergarten and I have seen a tremendous positive change and improvement in both the school and my childrens academic growth. The teachers and the principal have done an exceptional job in improving the students state scores!


Otay Elementary School 4

Posted August 30, 2007
- a teacher
I am proud to be a teacher at Otay Elementary. The school is brand new and well kept. The children are high priority and are taught rigorously, with high expectations and standards. It runs as a peacebuilder school allowing children to feel safe from bullies and teasing.

Otay Elementary School 2

Posted June 26, 2007
- a parent
Academic programs are not helpful enough and the pressure to meet state scores are overwhelming for tstudents when the academic programs aren't successful. The level of parent involvement is not inviting and their is poor communication with teachers. The school environment is not good my children have been affected tremendously on a daily basis were they have expressed not wanting to attend school because of students and teachers that made them feel unwelcome because of their actions towards them. This has been the first school that I have experienced that don't go by by the zero tolerance guideliness they have.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Otay Elementary School
1651 Albany Avenue, Chula Vista, CA  91911-5801
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (619) 425-4311
Last modified Otay Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top