Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tiffany (Burton C.) Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chula Vista

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $330,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

Tiffany is a fantastic school with great administrative leadership. Mr. Tapia knows the kids well and interacts with them constantly. The teachers have been terrific since 1st grade. My daughter loves this school and is a happy graduate this year. The PTA on the other hand is not very friendly but that doesn't affect how awesome the staff is. I am a very committed parent who has been at Tiffany for 6 years now and love the staff. Mr. Tapia has been the most hardworking, dedicated, compassionate, friendly, and energetic principal I have ever known. Fantastic school!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

I love Tiffany Elementary School especially since Mr. Tapia has taken leadership. He has given the school a new face of dedication and higher standards allowing Tiffany students and staff to rise to those standards and meeting them. I am a very proud Tiffany parent for the last 6 years. Mr. Tapia has brought an innovative outlook with Technology and it is very exciting. He is very dedicated, passionate, friendly, and hardworking. His leadership has set a fine example for the entire school. On a minor note the PTA is not very friendly. But overall a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

My older daughter now 17 years old has always attended private schools thinking that was the best choice. I was wrong. My youngest daughter is in 4th at Tiffany and I like the school a lot. They have music and art programs you don't see in other schools. The principal knows every child by their name and is aware of their needs. The PTA is consistently working on events to bring families together. Teacher take the time to listen to your concerns.Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

Tiffany is a great school. I am recently a 5th grader there and my brother already graduated from there. the school is a lot better now that it has our principal. i love the after school programs such as Dash, YMCA, and GATE


Posted October 27, 2013

Tiffany is doing a TERRIFIC job implementing the new common core curriculum. We have had numerous parent meetings and opportunities to learn more about not only the new standards, but also how Tiffany will be training teachers & staff to make the transition successful. Administration is available for questions/concerns and there is plenty of choice when it comes to parent involvement. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

My family loves Tiffany. The staff is great, the teachers are always approachable and willing help us in anyway they can. Tiffany has tons of activities before and after school. My boys especially love the mornings running club. Both of my kids are testing well above grade level and participated in the after school gate program last year. We are very happy Tiffany Tigers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Bullying running rampant, the GATE program is just additional homework, and the classrooms are not managed well. Admin is unresponsive if your child is above average. Mine tested three grade levels above his own, yet he just gets more homework to shut him up or he's made to sort papers. Teachers are paid to do work, my son shouldn't be doing it. He now knows more about weed, inappropriate language, and sex than our christian family has ever anticipated having to explain. Thanks Tiffany.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

Tiffany just added a teaching garden to be used by all grades. I think they were on Channel 8. They added afterschool art classes, a track club before school and during lunches. Most classes are free or just a materials fee. That is what I like, you don't have to pay $100 for an 8 week class. Also some new GATE art, astronomy, martial arts,and a competitive science team. They still have DASH, soccer, basketball, chorus and orchestra. Fun school outside of class time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

Ms.Carreon (kindergarden) was the best n nicest teacher.my child was transfer there n im very thankful she had her as teacher. My kid can read n write and im confident she is ready for 1st grade. She is very well organize everytime we meet for parent/teacher. My daughter is crying and she already miss her..Also, Mr. Tapia the principle is very pro active.thanks to all the staff because theyre always nice n helpful.. Best school ever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

I am so unbelievably impressed with our school! Excellent teachers & staff, a principal, Mr. Tapia, who genuinely cares about our families, and many opportunities for parent involvement! While attending Tiffany Elementary, my son achieved a perfect score on the California Standarized Test-both on the English and math section! He also scored perfect on the district writing test! Tiffany really focuses on standards and exceeding grade-level proficiencies. With all those academincs, it's amazing that Tiffany offers so many fun and specialized classes before and after school. My child is an active participant in many incredible Tiffany School Programs such as the school chorus, science field day, "master baker" cooking class, video creation & editing for entry in the IVIE Awards competition, and even geocashing after school on Fridays! We feel so lucky to attend this school where our kids really are the focus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

A wonderful school. All teachers take pride in there classrooms and it shows in their students work. They are a great staff and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

My daughter currently attends Tiffany Elementary and I am very satisfied with the school. She is the third generation attending this elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

Love this school! Great academics! We transfered from a neighborhood school and are very pleased. Parents are involved & teachers are challenging. Students attend weekly music & computer classes with specialized teachers. They also have lunchtime & after school sports leagues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

The office staff, the support staff, the teachers and the Principal are all committed to the students. Our children have progressed and advanced academically. The music program is outstanding, the athletic program is great and the academic program excellent. We just lucked out moving into this area and had Tiffany as our neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Commitment of faculty & student success
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

We transferred our children from a San Diego City School District campus to Tiffany. My kids like their new school and so far, we're pleased with what we see and hear from our kids with respect to the education they're receiving the new friends they've made. However, we feel the parent and parent/school organizations can be a little better with communication, especially for new families to Tiffany. We'd like to hear more about SSC, Governance and PTA. Is there a Gate/Seminar committee specific to Tiffany. The school website should include links to these organizations or at least provide information about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

I switched my kids from private to public and landed at Tiffany's. We are so happy about the move that now we think we threw away money for years. Great move and will recommend it to anyone. Awesome staff, teachers and personnel. Everyhting about the school is perfect. Thank you guys!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

I was hesitant to send my children to public school and consequently didn't send my son to Kindergarten at Tiffany. After visiting 6 different public and private schools, I was pleased to decide that our neighborhood public school was actually the best choice for our family. The principal is highly accessible. The PTA is active without being pushy. The Tiffany Campout, Carnival and Father Daughter activities are favorites. The reading programs are fantastic and the music programs are unique to Tiffany. The 1st, 3rd and 4th grade teaching teams are particularly great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I have two kids that attend Tiffany Elementary and I think it's a fantastic learning environment with a caring staff. We were so nervous initially about sending our children to public school because we feared they would not receive individual attention, but we couldn't have been more wrong! It is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

Both my kids have attended Tiffany. K-6 All the years was a wonderful experience. The teachers and staff are excellent. Communication is a great factor as well. I, myself, is a graduating Tiffany Tigers, 1977, the 2nd 6th grade graduating class. My brother was the 1st 6th grade graduating class. We both still have fond memories of Tiffany and Mr. Burton himself.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

859

Change from
2012 to 2013

-34

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

859

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-34

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females65%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state42%

Math

All Students73%
Females73%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner69%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females69%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino89%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to state79%

Math

All Students87%
Females92%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females86%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino81%
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state77%

Math

All Students82%
Females88%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner90%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females81%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state67%

Math

All Students77%
Females84%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state78%

Science

All Students65%
Females68%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females77%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females74%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 57%
White 18%
Black 5%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
English language learners 19%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Joel Tapia
Fax number
  • (619) 482-3115
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1691 Elmhurst Street
Chula Vista, CA 91913
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 421-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT