Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Chula Vista, CA
Students enrolled: 2,307
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bonita Vista Senior High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
How can they develop respects in its students if they allow students to be bullied infront of their own face? If you ask for help...somehow the students being victimized are at fault or singled out?

Bonita Vista Senior High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Are you kidding me? Perhaps several years ago but now on 2014, 2015 and most likely (hope not) next year is way the opposite.


Bonita Vista Senior High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
They encourage bullying by not taking action to stop it or protect the victims. Getting help from their staff in many subjects (specially the principal and vice-principal) is beyond a wasye of time. Security and true supervision is none.

Bonita Vista Senior High School 1

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Football coach allows quite a bit of bullying among those that love the Sport and want to learn by the ones that are a lot more experienced. Principal and vice-principal seem to always and inly support the teachers but disregard the students. Cell phone use dyring class is out of control. Communication between divorced parents is not existant, they just pick one and disregard the other 100% of the time. I do aknowledge that teens can be very challenging and disruptive, but I don't feel that they have the counseling, safety measures, etc in practice or if you ask for help is pretty much a waste of time. Coming from the SDUSD I Really thought this school will be way better in quality, safety, care, support, etc I have now sadly discovered it is way worst. This school only. I remember Sunnyside was so much better back on 1996.

Bonita Vista Senior High School 4

Posted February 07, 2013
- a teacher
Bonita High offers a good education for the high functioning student. I do believe that additional support should be offered, but budgets are low. They have come under fire recently due to the lack of credible sports programs. While their golf team is amongst the best, and the GIRLS basketball team is coached by knowledgeable mentors, the BOYS basketball program is the worst. The Freshman coach is knowledgeable as is the assistant JV coach, but the other coaches unfortunately show no credible ability to lead these talented young men. The volleyball coaching staff is knowledgeable. The football team walked out on the program due to the coaching staff. While the focus on high school should be academics, it does help young men and women when they are mentored by coaches whose knowledge and ability they respect.


Bonita Vista Senior High School 1

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
This staff here is a joke. They are a terrible school and have no idea how to run this school. The vice principles especially are idiots.

Bonita Vista Senior High School 3

Posted August 04, 2012
- a parent
If your child is planning on participating in the AP/IB track then this is a great school. My child is an AP Student and we were not happy with the lack of help and direction from my child's counselor. Also, Bonita Vista lacks attention to it's sports programs & fields. Kids from other schools attending sports functions at Bonita Vista have been heard commenting on how "ghetto" the school is. The principal only seems to be concerned with the high API scores for the school. Score boards, bleachers & fields are in dire need of repair.

Bonita Vista Senior High School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
The school is top-notch, Consistently the best academics in the district. The classes are tough many teachers hold Phd in thier feild and most have more than a decade teaching experience So if your kid is not ready to work hard this is not the school for them. However if they can keep up with the work BVHS provides a great jumping off point to a successful college experience and success in life.


Bonita Vista Senior High School 2

Posted February 24, 2011
- a community member
im and 8th grader right now... and im from santee im movening up to chula vista and i will be in bonita vista high school.. district so thats where im goinggg... can anyone tell me what im expecting..?

Bonita Vista Senior High School 3

Posted February 03, 2011
- a parent
As a current freshman parent and BVHS alumnus, I can say the school has retained a high academic rating, however this is upheld by such a small portion of the population that it is actually irrelevant. I believe that the staff has become complacent and relies on this population to "carry" them through. An ordinary student that could become extraordinary with a little help and motivation is just pushed along. My child was absent due to illness for a week and I only recieved an email response from 2 out of 6 teachers. I have literally stood in the office for 10+ mins while office staff chatted, until I finally interrupted them. I have only seen the principal at assemblies, she didn't even show up to a local CABE, education assoc. conferance, for an award she was nominated for, she didn't win....there are drugs, sex, etc... in every high school, BVHS is no exception, but the students' sense of entitlement and total disrespect for each other and faculty is appalling, I've heard better language in an episode of Lock Up.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bonita Vista Senior High School
751 Otay Lakes Road, Chula Vista, CA  91913
(619) 397-2000
Last modified Bonita Vista Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bonita Vista Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top