Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bonita Vista Senior High School 4

Posted February 07, 2013
- a teacher
Bonita High offers a good education for the high functioning student. I do believe that additional support should be offered, but budgets are low. They have come under fire recently due to the lack of credible sports programs. While their golf team is amongst the best, and the GIRLS basketball team is coached by knowledgeable mentors, the BOYS basketball program is the worst. The Freshman coach is knowledgeable as is the assistant JV coach, but the other coaches unfortunately show no credible ability to lead these talented young men. The volleyball coaching staff is knowledgeable. The football team walked out on the program due to the coaching staff. While the focus on high school should be academics, it does help young men and women when they are mentored by coaches whose knowledge and ability they respect.

Bonita Vista Senior High School 1

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
This staff here is a joke. They are a terrible school and have no idea how to run this school. The vice principles especially are idiots.


Bonita Vista Senior High School 3

Posted August 04, 2012
- a parent
If your child is planning on participating in the AP/IB track then this is a great school. My child is an AP Student and we were not happy with the lack of help and direction from my child's counselor. Also, Bonita Vista lacks attention to it's sports programs & fields. Kids from other schools attending sports functions at Bonita Vista have been heard commenting on how "ghetto" the school is. The principal only seems to be concerned with the high API scores for the school. Score boards, bleachers & fields are in dire need of repair.

Bonita Vista Senior High School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
The school is top-notch, Consistently the best academics in the district. The classes are tough many teachers hold Phd in thier feild and most have more than a decade teaching experience So if your kid is not ready to work hard this is not the school for them. However if they can keep up with the work BVHS provides a great jumping off point to a successful college experience and success in life.

Bonita Vista Senior High School 2

Posted February 24, 2011
- a community member
im and 8th grader right now... and im from santee im movening up to chula vista and i will be in bonita vista high school.. district so thats where im goinggg... can anyone tell me what im expecting..?


Bonita Vista Senior High School 3

Posted February 03, 2011
- a parent
As a current freshman parent and BVHS alumnus, I can say the school has retained a high academic rating, however this is upheld by such a small portion of the population that it is actually irrelevant. I believe that the staff has become complacent and relies on this population to "carry" them through. An ordinary student that could become extraordinary with a little help and motivation is just pushed along. My child was absent due to illness for a week and I only recieved an email response from 2 out of 6 teachers. I have literally stood in the office for 10+ mins while office staff chatted, until I finally interrupted them. I have only seen the principal at assemblies, she didn't even show up to a local CABE, education assoc. conferance, for an award she was nominated for, she didn't win....there are drugs, sex, etc... in every high school, BVHS is no exception, but the students' sense of entitlement and total disrespect for each other and faculty is appalling, I've heard better language in an episode of Lock Up.

Bonita Vista Senior High School 5

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
My daughter started as a Freshman and is now in her Sophomore year at BVH. I am very pleased w/ the academics & support by all teachers. They really strive to stay in communication w/ parents & provide many tutoring options. The teachers are always open to meeting with students during their break hours. I have even received personal calls from teachers giving feedback on my daughters performance. She struggled at Bonita Middle but now at the High she is a straight A student due to the all the help available & encouragement...she is not book smart but very determined & is very greatful for the time teachers have given her. One negative is that principal is not really involved or available and her apprearance to me is not professional or appropriate. The asst/vice principal is always around though.

Bonita Vista Senior High School 2

Posted December 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Bonita Vista Senior High School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bonita Vista Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a student
Bonita has more spirit than most, we are an accredited school, and we have the highest API score in the district (: GO BARONS <3

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bonita Vista Senior High School
751 Otay Lakes Road, Chula Vista, CA  91913
(619) 397-2000
Last modified Bonita Vista Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bonita Vista Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top