Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hilltop Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2014

This school is a horrible choice! My daughter was blamed to be smoking pot in the bathrooms twice this year. I highly recommend you don't put your child through this school. This school has a bunch of pot heads and horrible teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2014

One of the best schools I have attended, the teachers are nice but strict and the principal is an amazing leader.


Posted September 10, 2012

This school is literally my second family. My friends and teachers help me fell like home here. I am currently a 7th grader here. This is a really great school.


Posted February 3, 2012

Hilltop middle is a great school! The FLAGS program recently got iPads to use in class. The IPads have apps separately for each class and they keep students up to date with technology!


Posted June 4, 2010

After a 38 year career in the Sweetwater District, and 6 years as Principal of Hilltop Middle, Mrs. Linda Stanley is, unfortunately, retiring. Her contributions to the District, and Hilltop Middle, and its community, have been significant. Having sent two children to HTM we greatly appreciate her dedication and service. She will be missed by all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

Flags was a wonderful opportunity for my child. Mr Wittman has done a fantastic job with this program and it all takes a lot of team work to make it possible. Unfortunately there have been many changes in the Teachers lately that I think are set in their ways and not willing to be part of that team work that makes FLAGS so successful. With some work I hope that the FLAGS program continues. The downfall is because of the area, children tend to be treated as if they are prisoners. They are guilty until proven innocent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

Principal and staff are willing to include parents that are willing to make time for the students. My child is struggling with the cross over to middle school. The counselors and most of the teachers are willing to extra to help my child. The school property really needs some improvement and it's too bad they get updated science labs and air conditioning since school starts in July now. Overall, I am happy with Hilltop Middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I love this school, so much. There's so many after-school activities, and it's so safe. There's nothing wrong with the school, what-so-ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

In response to the previous rating that asks 'Where are the good teachers?', all I can say is 'Where are the good parents?' Teachers have their students for about an hour per day, we parents have them for life. Take responsibility! Hilltop Middle is a decent school, not without it's problems but pretty good. Many of the classrooms are a bit run down, but teachers do their best. I find it interesting that although the FLAGS students only make up about 25-30% of the student population, their parents are overwhelmingly involved in assisting in extracurricular activities (Science Olympiad, etc.) and are the majority at school meetings. I recommend FLAGS to eligible students. I think that in addition to providing a rigorous academic regimen the program also provides students important lessons in prioritization and time management. Both are life skills that will serve them well in high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Their FLAGS program is one of the best middle school programs in the country. They learn a second language, learn about world cultures in a very hands-on way and learn to care about the environment through the Rice Canyon environmental study they do each year. They were the first in the South Bay to compete in Science Olympiad.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2009

The teachers are very involved in my childs progress and keep me updated with current projects and activities due. My child is very challenged in the FLAGS program and enjoys partipating in their activities and course curriculums.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

this school is NOT for students that need to be educated, but for the f.l.a.g.s honor students, for students that like to teach the teachers , hilltop staff is all about lectures, enforce the rules, and challanged well educated minds. thats great but what about the kids that need good teachers. Being a good teacher means know how to educated all types of kids, also common sense ' is this child understanding, what can be done if he not . Why is this so hard to find in schools where are the good teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

I agree, the school staff lacks communication, leadership, and can put a bad impression in there minds of what and who they are. As young adults they need support and people to look up to. Not tear down there selfconfidence. I feel education has been lost with tyrying to make money!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

Hilltop has been a great school for my now 8th grade child who is in F.L.A.G.S also since 7th grade teachers have been great with communication and the school notes and other online sites to communicate with them is awsome way to keep and in touch personal numbers and e-mails is great for the parents to keep in touch in odd hours my son has enjoyed it never wants to miss or skip school enjoys the challenges of the work load as expected and we are informed befor siging up our child into FLAGS is for hard working students with great intrest and imaginations other than your usuall it's an all great school with high expectations to help your student for the future Hilltop will allways be my top choice from experience ..Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

My child goes to this school and she is allredy smarter than me. She also has no complaintes about school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I have seen many quality changes taking place over the last several months. Changes I believe are for the betterment of the school, and in support of our kids. All the staff, teachers, and administrators I have spoken with are very supportive and will do anything possible within their power to make Hilltop Middle School a learning community with a 'tradition of high expectations' for ALL our kids...and no, I do not work for this school, or the district. We as parents have to remember that teachers cannot educate our kids by themselves as each teacher only has our children maybe five hours per week. We as parents also need to be supportive of our children, and form a partnership with the school to ensure our kids get the education they deserve! That is my opinion, what is yours?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Great School - Propositions for fundings has helped with school improvements. My daughter is in FLAGS and some of her friends are not. The teachers are great and always available for help at various times and days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

This school is run down. I don,t think is very good for the kids to have their school in this condition. It makes no sense because this is a good school and it doesn't go with its appereance. L.L.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

I am in F.L.A.G.S. and it is a blessing. There is sometimes a big amount of homework, but its not like there isn't going to be any in High school, right? Theres always chances to be active in school and the parents and teachers are there to support you. The teachers are kind and there to help you before school, after school and even on there lunch breaks. its a very positive place to learn!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2006

Great school, I'm currently an 8th grader there. If you go there willing to learn, then you will. I'm in FLAGS, and its a good program.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

814

Change from
2012 to 2013

-16

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

814

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-16

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
61%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

506 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
40%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

507 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
22%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

544 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students72%
Females77%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females67%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to state68%

Math

All Students49%
Females46%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate48%
Parent education - declined to state51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students35%
Females39%
Males32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino45%
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented61%
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate46%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate42%
Parent education - declined to state30%

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females68%
Males52%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipino71%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state55%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students7%
Females11%
Males5%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino9%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged6%
Not economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability14%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only7%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate11%
Parent education - high school graduate4%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)5%
Parent education - college graduate9%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state17%

Geometry

All Students77%
Females74%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students58%
Females58%
Males58%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Filipino79%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state51%

Science

All Students71%
Females70%
Males72%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Filipino79%
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate66%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 85%
White 7%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 1%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/AN/A
English language learners 14%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Maribel Gavin
Fax number
  • (619) 585-3576

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

44 East J Street
Chula Vista, CA 91910
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 498-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




San Diego Virtual
Chula Vista, CA


St. Rose Of Lima School
Chula Vista, CA


San Diego Virtual
Chula Vista, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT