Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Rose Of Lima School

Private | K-8 | 303 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chula Vista

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $278,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2013

We've been with St. Rose over ten years. I have a daughter that graduated and is doing well at OLP, and a 6th and 2nd grader there right now. The school is great, but not perfect. The academic rigor in the upper grades is excellent. There is a family feel with the parent community, and Father John is wonderful. The classes are unusually large for a private school; however, my kids seem to be doing well regardless. The principal is shared 50/50 with St. Pius and so there's less time to build a relationship with him (he's busy working at two schools). The school facility is three years old and lovely, but the quality that happens inside the building is what counts. We're happy at St. Rose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

We have a fifth grader that started at St. Rose last year and a kindergartner as well. So far so good, teacher is great, good communication and education. Classes are large but good, both of my kids are receiving a better education than when they were at public school. No issues with bullying or discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

I can only say that this school is awesome! The parents who are involved, the dedicated teachers, the hard-working staff, help to provide an excellent atmosphere for my daughter and her friends. I have been very impressed by Mr. Saavedra who has an open door policy. I am also impressed by our music instruction and choir Led by Mr. Advento. The parish and the school are alive. I always look forward to coming to St. Rose. My daughter loves this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Classes are overcrowded, teachers are not "warm", and the tuition is astronomical. Class sizes are grossly underestimated, and teachers are not the best at supervising. Bullying is also a very big problem, with little to nothing done to handle it. If you are looking for an AFFORDABLE Christian education, look over at Pilgrim Lutheran down the street. Building may not be as big or fancy...but what is inside is warm, well supervised, and enthusiastic. Tuition is nearly half as expensive and class sizes are smaller....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

We tranferred our 2 kids from public school to St. Rose last month, I can say that so far we have been very pleased with the school overall, the staff and faculty have been great and we are happy with their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

My child's teacher lacks warmth. I don't agree to their rule that if you got an award the previous year you won't get any this year. I think if a child deserves it he/she should get it, I don't think it's fair to give some one an award just because he/she didn't get it the previous year. On my child's birthday, I brought in some treats/ snacks for the class. Their teacher didn't even bother to initiate for the class to sing a happy birthday song to my child and I don't even remember the teacher mentioning the word "thank you". My child went home feeling bad that day after school. Teacher quality POOR, Principal leadership just ok. Parent involvement is also ok. My child will definitely not come back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

If you are lucky enough to afford private school tuition, do your child a favor and send him/her to St. Rose. Wonderful school, great teachers, and amazing parent community. St. Rose of Lima School is a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

I have been a student at St. Rose and my knowledge as well as my confidence have improved immensely. I can genuinely say that my education is advanced and taught by teachers who are dedicated to leading their pupils to success. All teachers challenge their students and are always willing to help. The new campus is amazing and now the parents are pitching in and buying us microscopes! In addition, I have made friends and gained memories to last my lifetime. I feel my whole class has become a close-knit family. In closing, I would like to say that I have become closer to God through the encouragement of my teachers and family.


Posted March 5, 2011

Before enrolling here attend and tour other open houses of other Catholic Schools and look at books, ask questions, etc. No teachers on hand, books ancient, lack of pride. School is beautiful but lacking warmth. Parent involvement minimal at best and only forced due to points. Lack of leadership and security is minimal. Children in upper grades need tutoring to enter HS.


Posted January 11, 2011

I am a student at this school, and I'm sorry to say, I'm thinking about moving. The 7th grade students misbehave, and our teacher doesn't teach us anything. I am not challenged.


Posted February 5, 2010

Excellent School! The Curriculum and Level of Education is superb with the work and dedication from the church, faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

My child attends St. Rose, but i feel that she is not getting the best education possible. The teachers gie her a huge amount of work and she is stressed most of the time. As a parent I do not enjoy seeing my child stay up all night trying to finish homework and study. So, i am considering removing her from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

i go to st. rose and its a great school with high expectations but the teachers could use some help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2007

This is our first year at St. Rose and so far we are very happy with the quality of education our daughter is receiving. It is a very tight knit community and I love how involved our parents are.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 52%
White 10% 26%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jeff Saavedra
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Diego
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

278 Alvarado Street
Unit 2
Chula Vista, CA 91910
Phone: (619) 422-1121

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

San Diego Virtual
Chula Vista, CA


San Diego Virtual
Chula Vista, CA


Davila Day School
Chula Vista, CA



Highland Institute
Chula Vista, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT