Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pilgrim Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 130 students

Our school is best known for building up students academically and socially.

 

Living in Chula Vista

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $278,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

After going the public school route for several years, we decided it was time to put our kids through private school; we couldn't be happier with our decision! Our kids have thoroughly enjoyed their time at Pilgrim. The teachers/school staff/church staff are amazing and are always ready to answer any questions we may have. When it comes to the curriculum and overall education the kids are receiving, it is second to none! Not only are they receiving a more well-rounded education, while in a smaller class size, but they have also learned an appreciation for the Christian faith and what it means to be a Child of God. The entire staff always treats each student as an individual...not as a number or test score! In addition, the school has a wonderful before/after-school care program, and summer camp. which really helps the working family!! While it's always a bummer to see some of the previous staff members (voluntarily) move on to other jobs, I have no doubt that God has a plan for this school and ALL the replacements for the departed staff members will exceed expectations! My kids are definitely looking forward to their next several years at Pilgrim Lutheran School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

Making the choice to send our daughters to Pilgrim was easy. We looked at other schools in the area and kept being drawn back in to the family environment and Christian education. Being a member of the Pilgrim community feels like home! These teachers and staff love and care for my kids as if they were their own, and the quality of education is second to none. I am a HUGE fan of Mrs. Feldmann and the enthusiasm and drive she has brought to the school. I'm proud to see my daughters looking up to and being mentored by such amazing people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My child attends Pilgrim and is excelling tremendously, especially in math. Mrs. Barrett is an amazing math teaching. She is very patient with the students and definitely knows what she's doing. My child needed extra tutoring so Mrs. Barrett tutors my child twice a week for free! The education offered at Pilgrim is academically challenging but the teachers there are willing to do what they can to help their students reach the high academic standards. As a parent, I cannot ask for a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

I love Pilgrim. The teachers grade all student work and return it right away... lots of feedback, lots of communication. The homework is manageable and the teachers are willing to work with different academic and needs of their students. The balance between projects and regular assigned work is perfect, not overbearing. Chapel on Wednesdays is so much fun and is very uplifting and lively!! I LOVE PILGRIM!!! Also, Mrs. Feldman, the principal is a great mentor to the students... she is youthful yet experienced and very warm and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

I love Pilgrim! I have two children that attend this school and I couldn't be happier. I love the family feel the staff and faculty provide to my children. My kids are not just numbers in overpopulated classrooms. They are individuals in small classes where teachers have the time to recognize their individual needs and make extra effort to help them succeed. My children are both quite a bit ahead in school compared to the kids in our neighborhood their age. I also love the moral standard Pilgrim sets. It is a big weight off my shoulders each day knowing that they will be required to be polite and responsible gentleman at school as well as home. I would highly recommend Pilgrim to any family looking for a high standard education facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

As a parent whose 8th grader and 6th grader have been attending Pilgrim since pre-school, I highly recommend it. With small class sizes, they get individual attention consistently. The after school care knows every student. I feel secure knowing they are safe and cared for at all times. The before and after school child care and monthly school tuition for this private school with very small class sizes is less expensive (!!!) than public school and YMCA sponsored child care. Really a no-brainer. Technology includes iPads, and curriculum is challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

This is the place where friends become family. My son has attended this preschool for a few months now. The staff is amazing! Ms. Gina does and awesome job of you keeping you updated with your child's activities thru email and facebook. The entire staff seems to know every child, even if he or she isn't in their class! Prayers and manners are taught which is a bonus! It's a warm and fuzzy feeling when you walk into this preschool. My son loves it, and so do we :) We highly recommend this preschool to our friends
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

As a military parent, we have utilized several schools to help our children utilize their full potential. Pilgrim Lutheran, by far, mirrors the expectations that we desire for our children so much that we have recommended our extended family and friends to this school. To date, we have seven children from our family and extended family in attendance. The staff is very knowledgable and are very engaging with the students. My wife has built personal friendships with some of the teachers as well. Dropping/picking up the kids is great because the teachers take the time to talk about any questions you may have about your child second to their willingness to respond to your emails or phone calls. We love this place and would recommend it to anyone who is considering in taking their child(ren) to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

I will have my son attend Pilgrim Lutheran for as long as I can. He has thrived and learned so much just in the last year. He wants to go to school everyday. Your child is not just a number but a person that is cared for by not just the teacher but all the staff. I checked around a number of schools in the Chula Vista area. What was important was the price and how long they were open. You cannot beat the price compared to the surrounding preschools available. They are also open until 6pm which was a bonus and made my decision immediatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

As a mother of 2...Sending both of them to Pilgrim Lutheran has been the best choice my husband and I have made for them. The staff members are highly qualified and extremely dedicated to providing a warm, stimulating and fun-filled environment for kids. Each staff member strives to create a family environment, making each child and their family member feel involved and accommodated. Pilgrim Lutheran Preschool is a wonderful highly recommended facility for all preschoolers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

This school is fantastic. The teachers are incredibly focused on each individual student. The class sizes are small and students are graduating the 8th grade with post-high school test scores. Overall, this is a wonderful place to bring your child and watch them grow!


Posted October 26, 2010

Fantastic students and a great staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 26, 2010

Both of my children attended Pilgrim, 10 years apart. They both received a quality education in a Christian environment. Weekly chapel services and daily devotion time helped strengthen their growth in the Christian faith. The teachers there hold the students accountable and teach responsibility along with the curriculum. My youngest went to Pilgrim from preschool and graduated from the 8th grade 4 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

I attended this school from preschool to 8th grade. There is no better environment for your children. The staff really care about each student and offer much more than a great education.


Posted October 7, 2010

I can't say enough about Pilgrim Lutheran School! I know my children are getting a top notch education that not only includes academics but they are also learning to be strong leaders and stewards! It's an education that is priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

I'm a teacher in Children's Church at Pilgrim Lutheran, so I've had an opportunity to work with some of the kids that attend the school. I must say, they are the sweetest, kindest, and brightest kids I've ever known. I wish I could have had some of these kids to hang out with when I was a kid, maybe my childhood would have been the better for it.


Posted October 4, 2010

I love the dedication of ALL the staff, the Christian enviroment and the great education my boys have and are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

It is a great school with excellent teachers and students-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

Pilgrim Lutheran is like a small family. I attended this same school as I child and am so grateful I am able to send my children there. They provide a wonderful academic and christian education with teachers who really care about our children. Thank You Pilgrim!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

Pilgrim Lutheran is a fantastic school. I like the perfect balance of religious and educational curriculums that are being taught to my children. My daughter is excelling well and has been placed in advanced classes to further assist and encourage her education, My son requires a little extra educational assistance but with the aid of the local school district and with the fantastic cooperation of Pilgrim s teachers, he is doing well and is moving right along as expected. Pilgrim Lutheran is a great choice for our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 52%
White 35% 26%
Asian or Pacific Islander 8% 11%
Black 8% 6%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Bonita Optomist (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jahnai Feldmann
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Girl scouts
  • Science club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
130
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
150
Students typically come from these schools
Pilgrim Lutheran Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lutheran High San Diego
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

497 E Street
Chula Vista, CA 91910
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 420-6233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Davila Day School
Chula Vista, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT