Advertisement
Advertisement

Calvary Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 481 students

We are best known for Servant Leadership, SimplyJesus.

 

Living in Chula Vista

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $330,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

The teachers and the administration work in complete partnership with the family to nurture the mind, body and soul of each student. I can't think of a safer or more nurturing school to entrust my child to each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2012

My children have been attending preschool for two years and I absolutely love it. I teach in. public school and the atmosphere at CCA is so different. It's a small community that really seems to live what they preach. They have high academic standards and most teachers seem to really care. I decided to have my children continue their education here as long as our finances permit us to do so. I highly recommend their preschool and I really hope in a few years a can come back to this site to highly recommend education in other levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

Calvary is fabulous! The teachers and administrative staff are loving and supportive. My son's teacher is experienced and knowledgeable about children and their needs. The curriculum is challenging but not frustrating. My son is halfway through kindergarten, and he is already reading. He has developed a great love for the Lord and the Bible as a result of the teaching at Calvary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

CCA is a wonderful school. I am honored to work here. The atmosphere at CCA really is described by their motto: Simply Jesus - Superior Academics Servant leadership. Go CCA
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2011

All my children have attended Calvary Christian Academy in Chula Vista. I am very grateful for the love and support that the teaching staff has shown each of my children. The school moto, "Servant Leadership, Superior Academics, Simply Jesus" truely shows. This school really loves and prays for our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

I graduated from Calvary, i do not recommend this school to anyone. I am a struggling student at a community college now. i can barely meet ends meet. I went there all my high school, and i got straight A's, but that wasn't good enough for a good college. They also don't give you a lot of opportunities in calvary. Although they have all the sports, they don't have good enough coaches. Most teachers are unexperienced. The school also doesn't let you grow as your own person. One word that i can express Calvary in is "Brainwash." Even though they teach Christianity very strongly and with a passion, They don't prepare Christians for the real world. This school is very judgmental. I would write more but i cant, i leave you with this: For a High School experience, this school is not good. Listen to your Child.


Posted March 30, 2010

CCA is a great school. The office staff is very helpful!!! Anytime I go to the office I am greeted with a smile. The academic counselor is very helpful and to my surprise was able to help me in spanish! I love that students get to learn how to play the violin and can compete in extra curricular sports starting in 4th grade. I love CCA!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

My son has attended this schoo for 2 years and will enter 7th Grade this year. This is an amazing school . My son told me that compared to his previous school , the teachers in this school love their students. The school is strict but fair and consistent. All the staff strive hard to make a great atmosphere . There are many extra curricular activies and optional trips arranged all over the world and all children are given the chance to excel. Parents can check the performance of their children online daily in detail . The staff really try to put in to practise what being a Christian means and give great examples to the children. By integrating the bible into all areas of teaching helps build the Christian character and values and beliefs that will guide them in the rest of their lives
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I currently work at CCA and have three children that attend; grades 9, 7, and 5. The academy's spiritual, educational, and social growth expectations are high; but attainable by every student. My children have grown immensely and matured greatly. I appreciate the consistency and equality demonstrated by all Faculty and Staff toward every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

Both my sons attend Calvary. I could not be more blessed to be able to have my sons here. This school has provided my sons with an excellant education but a place where they could grow in the Lord, weather in sports, worship, drama, spanish.... the list goes on. This year has been extra special, seeing children from 4th-12th going on different missions trips around the world. What a blessing to be able to part of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

I LOVE this school! I wish I could afford for both my daughters to attend but the cost hinders me to do so. My daughter is soooooooo happy at this school, it's hard to match it with another. This school family is truly a family-God's family. Everyone at that school makes you feel so welcomed and I love it ! Everyone there is so spiritual and christ like. It makes me feel that there's no other. My daughter has academically succeeded in her fisrt way more than I would have expected in her first year.I can go and on.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

I was disappointed to find out that many of my daughters credits did not count towards a transfer to a public school. I felt this school was a waste of time and money. I did not get a superior education as advertised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

I absolutely love this school! Unfortunately I can no longer afford it. But my daughter is soaring academically. They are very strict but it's a good thing. I'm going to miss this school I really am. I hope that the change is temporary because as soon as I can afford to send my children back to this school I will do it in a heartbeat! The children go on frequent field trips, the have music appreciation for sure. And my children have learned more about God than I ever taught them. The parents are very involved in their children's lives and that is important to me and it's the type of children I want my child attending school with. Calvary has been a blessing to our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

My son attended Calvary s Summer Kindergarten program, and though I've been extremely pleased with another Private School he's been attending during the regular school year, I was blown away by Calvary s faith based teachings, respect this school has instilled in the children and curriculum. My son is writing, reading and doing math beyond the Kinder level at his regular school. In addition, Calvary also teaches Spanish as part of the daily instruction during the regular school year! The staff, beginning from the office secretary Marianna to the Pastor were all always very approachable and sincere. My only objection about the school is the lofty cost. It s twice what I pay now for my son s private school, but my goodness, worth every dollar. We have only one chance in life to give our kids the best education possible and what a way it is at this superior school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

it is a great school with discipline and character build up for the students. in which they not only learn the academics but also good manners and respect for others. very uncommon now in days.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 42%
White 40%
Asian 13%
Black 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Korean
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Wes Anderson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (619) 591-2261

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Welcome! CCA is a very special place. It is our desire to come alongside parents to teach our children the ways of God (Deuteronomy 6:6-9). We are so thankful to be able to enjoy God's faithfulness from His promise to guide and protect our children as they keep His will (Proverbs 6:20-23). We believe Christian education is the foremost tool God is using to evangelize and disciple the next generation. It is an honor and privilege to serve you and your family. Please let us know how we can serve you today.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
461
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
463

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1771 E Palomar Street
Chula Vista, CA 91913
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 591-2260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT