Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
473 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Calvary Christian Academy 3

Posted August 13, 2016
- a parent
I feel the new principal ruined the school. He seems to care about money a bit too much, maybe that's why they starting incorporating common core (which is terrible, a step back) even teachers dislike it. There seems to be a different vibe now to the school where the kids of parents that donate and volunteer get special treatment. Wasn't like that before, before it felt like a big family now it feels separated. For the high monthly tuition there is too much book learning (memorizing) and not enough art, music, gardening, nutrition, sports or hands on learning. Just sit in a classroom all day and memorize. Oh he also made the school day longer and school lunches are extremely unhealthy, other than religion it seems just like a smaller public school.

Calvary Christian Academy 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a teacher
The teachers and principals and headmaster work together to create a safe, warm, academic environment where students can learn, have fun, and grow to their best potential. The school uses the common-core to report to parents in the most accurate way where students glow and where they still need to grow. Instead of reporting a grade of 85% in Math or English the skills are taught and accessed and reported. Parents and teachers can then work together to help the student achieve their best for each skill. This school is fantastic, their star test results show phenomenal growth.


Calvary Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
I don't think the teachers and the principal are honest! They tell the same thing to all the parents! Lol

Calvary Christian Academy 1

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
This is not a good school. Their academics are bad. I'm transferring my kids to another school for next year. They did their assessment test on the new school and they were behind on math! Now they have to take summer school (math) to be on the same page next year on the new school. For the amount you pay on this school you would expect the opposite! They have common core which I don't like. How in the world does a private school having the option choose to have common core. Their teaching method is like they have a box and every child needs to fit in that box. They don't focus on the child, they focus on the method and if your child don't fit, so sorry! And finally they don't have good teachers! They are always moody and is like the don't enjoy their work! Believe me there are really good Christian private schools in the area for almost half of the price!

Calvary Christian Academy 2

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
This school has a very bad community and has bad academics. I used to be here, and when I moved to a new school, I saw how behind this school was. There's no room for progression even if your student is in advanced math because of the teachers. There's only a handful that are good. The community is terrible. There is frequent bullying with no intervention by staff. People there are judgmental superficially and won't have fair discussions of other opinions. The community is very exclusive to staff children and those following social norms.


Calvary Christian Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
The students don't see the importance of learning. In this case, even if the teachers tell about the impending future, the students just won't listen.

Calvary Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
Despite teaching important values, the school doesn't reinforce them to the students. There's a lot of hypocrisy, mainly among students.

Calvary Christian Academy 2

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
I hate to leave bad review but I feel the need to. Some staff and preschool teachers can be so rude and unfriendly that make you feel uncomfortable. I believe if this is a Christian school the atmosphere should be more pleasant. Kids are often mistreated. The preschool teachers seem unhappy and always moody. I will start searching for a new school. I am just not happy with the school performance.


Calvary Christian Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
The school principal Mr Andujo is always polite and so nice. He has always made us feel welcome and has always been professional.

Calvary Christian Academy 4

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school. My kids have been attending for a couple of years now and I have seen a positive change in their demeanor and confidence since they started attending. Like any school there are teachers that I don't care for but I would say 99% of the teachers really do love their jobs and love their students. They pray with them and help them if they are not understanding the lessons. The workload is challenging but their goal is not to just get them through high school but prepare them for college and to set them up not just to get into college but to succeed once they are there. It has been an overall positive experience. I would highly recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Calvary Christian Academy
1771 East Palomar Street, Chula Vista, CA  91913
(619) 591-2260
Last modified Calvary Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top