Advertisement
Advertisement

Valley Christian Academy

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Citrus Heights

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

This school is a well-kept secret. I have placed my high-schooler at Valley Christian and I am impressed. The instructors have many years of experience and provide a flexible and responsive education for their students. Ever teacher knows each student and addresses them by name. It is a Christian school, but it serves all denominations and respects them. I have had a son at the most well known private high school in Sacramento, and have found an excellent quality education here as well. Unlike many of the charter schools, they have an excellent sports program and other extra-curricular activities. This school is not the newest that you will visit, but they make up for that in their experience and heart. One of the most striking sights at the school is a large and well groomed baseball field. It is hard to miss and is the center of the campus visually. It reminds me of the movie, "Field of Dreams." It serves as a statement of the wholesome greatness of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

The love the teachers have for their students is apparent. Class sizes are not as small as advertised though. Foreign language doesn't start until high school, nor does technology or physical education. The school itself needs some work maintenance and building wise. Unfortunately most (if not all) of the teachers lack credentials as well. The student that commented that athletics is the main focus is correct, especially in terms of funding. The values and morals that are taught are amazing but the lack of classroom management and individualized attention makes the actual learning that takes place sub-par.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

My family is so happy that we found this school! Our three children are enrolled, and we intend on staying thru their graduation. The staff are friendly, and obviously love the children. The teachers have become those I count as friends, and I have recommended this school to many people because I know the staff's integrity and heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

I attended VCA and I can honestly say that the staff did their very best to ensure that students were prepared to face the challenges they would face in life. I played basketball, baseball, and football (my senior year was the first season of the football program). Some may say that the school revolved around their sports programs, but coaches Gunter, Conroy, Borges, and Terry were as hard on us physically as well as educationally. If grades were slipping then players were not allowed to play. I am currently serving in the U.S. Navy and attending college at the Art Institute. The values and mental toughness I have gained form VCA have given me what I need to be a successful part of society. At VCA I acquired the tools to make myself a success.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2008

Go figure that the majority of bad reviews are written by disgruntled students !!!?? As a parent I have had both of my children in VCA for 10 years now. It is a small, loving, spiritually sound school. My children have maintained the ethics and morals that we have instilled in them at home because the same standard is upheld at VCA. This school loves children and will work with families who are struggling to keep their children there. I don't know of any other school willing to do that. Sure, it may not be the most modern, top of the line facility but we have all seen where looking good on the outside and having top of the line everything has gotten say,,,,,Paris, Lindsay, Brittany....I would Much rather have my kids being taught how to be honorable, loving, giving and of good character. Not many schools can offer that, b
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

This is quite possibly the worst private school in the area. I attended Valley for my freshman and sophomore years and earned decent grades without doing much at all. The problem is that it is a school driven only by it's athletic program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2007

Very questionable curriculum. I would not recommend this school. Teachers are not educated, and they do not prepare their students for college. and I do not think my parents would recommend it either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2007

I am a student at VCA, and its a really good school, Pastor and Coach are very caring, and are always there for the students academically, spiritually, and personally. I play sports for VCA and the athletics there are great. They coach us to have a good sportsman like attitude, on and off the field/court. This school is a very good choice, it is smaller so the administration gives each student individual attention that they need to succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2007

My children have attended Valley Christian Academy for several years. My oldest daughter recently graduated from VCA. This schools administration has the highest of integrity I have ever seen. The elementary program is unmatched. The teachers have tremendous longevity and are spiritually driven. Pastor Gunter holds chapel every Friday. They stick to a Godly dress code and are always available for the students and families. Some say the campus needs. The administration works extremely hard to keep costs minimal for families, there financial intergrity unmatched. I would encourage anyone considering VCA to meet the administration and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

I am a graduate of VCA, and it was the best school I ever went to. The administration cares so much about the students, and they truly have a heart for each and every one of us. Teachers are good, they help the students a lot. The athletics are amazing, they are comparable to public schools, although they dont have soccer, and the cheerleading isnt so great. If they got a new coaching staff for the cheer it would improve greatly. This school is similar to a family, everyone feels so welcome and loved. I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2007

Very questionable curriculum. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7400 West Whyte Avenue
Citrus Heights, CA 95621
Phone: (916) 728-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lichen K-8
Citrus Heights, CA


Merryhill School
Roseville, CA


Merryhill School
Roseville, CA


Harvest Academy
Citrus Heights, CA


Grand Oaks Elementary School
Citrus Heights, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT