Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Private
Citrus Heights, CA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Pioneer Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
He had projects and nightly work. It kept him busy, but not too much that all the work was done at home.

West Pioneer Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
My son has voiced that he loves academic challenges because of the high expectations of his teacher.


West Pioneer Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
They do not tolerate bullying or any form of harassment among students. This is a huge change from public school.

West Pioneer Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
My son is now more compassionate and caring toward other children especially younger or special needs.

West Pioneer Academy 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
This school is fantastic! My son had a bulleying problem at the public middle school. He had some anxiety about a new school and they were great! They focus on individual learning so the kids can go at their own pace. (Faster or slower) my son has excelled in academics, and he is far above his grade level now. Highly recommended for any type of student.


West Pioneer Academy 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a community member
I could not disagree more with the poor reviews! This school is fantastic and there is a very special dynamic between the students and teachers. My son had serious challenges before coming here and the staff have been exceptional at helping him feel accepted, loved, and capable! If you are looking for a great school, disregard the grumpy parents. You'll love it here!

West Pioneer Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
No teacher can succeed in this environment. The good ones leave because the pay is bad, which is what happens when you recruit your teaching staff via Craigslist ads and refuse to use a professional service.

West Pioneer Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
I'm neutral on this question. Because while my inclination is to answer "no", the truth is that any student who can succeed in this environment must have developed persistence, grit, and determination. In all seriousness, I have watched stellar students get beaten down to the point of not wanting to go to school because of the environment on campus.


West Pioneer Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
For the reasons already listed in previous questions, I do not. The administration does not handle issues consistently or with forethought to the well being of the students.

West Pioneer Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Older kids regularly pick on the younger kids and nothing is done about it. The administrator's son runs wild and bullies the teaching staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Pioneer Academy
7723 Old Auburn Road, Citrus Heights, CA  95610
(916) 723-1400
Last modified West Pioneer Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
West Pioneer Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top