Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sylvan Middle School 3

Posted January 01, 2014
- a community member
This school is good but bad. About three teachers ruin this school.. If your on the honor role and avid, you should get a really good education, if your not, hope you don't get the teachers that scream at you and don't teach you.

Sylvan Middle School 1

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
this is the worst school i could have sent my child to. when i went to sylvan the teachers talked the parents and cared for the students now im referred to a website that is never updated. i know teachers dont make much money but they choose their cereer path and they should follow through and help our kids. strait A's to F's what a sad school


Sylvan Middle School 1

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
my son was a honor role student his whole school career until he started at sylvan and now we are lucky he brings home a D. this is the worst school for middle schoolers in the area.

Sylvan Middle School 4

Posted April 17, 2012
- a community member
ThIs school is not bad at all they have increase the safety and the teachers great dont listen to the bad comments they were wriiten years ago it has changed alot and its getting redone soon. also i'm in avid and its helping a lot with grades and help with homework i would recommend this school to anyone

Sylvan Middle School 5

Posted February 05, 2011
- a community member
I am a student attending Sylvan Middle School, and I must say it is doing a fine job in teaching me not only the subject of that class, but other important life lessons as well. I can guarantee my own safety and I am certain that I will leave Sylvan knowing I can have a bright future. The principal is not a nice man however.


Sylvan Middle School 5

Posted December 29, 2010
- a community member
i am a student at sylvan middle school and i can tell you that this is a great school. I wasn't so sure about it at first, but then I felt very welcome by all the teachers. I am a 4.0, straight-a student and i am also in AVID and HA classes. I do not feel any uncertainty about my safety. If your child is not getting good grades at sylvan, then send them to the counseler, Ms.Nancy. She is a very nice lady who helps you and guides you to success. I would definetely recommend your child/children to go to this school.

Sylvan Middle School 1

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
Despite the new principal - Sylvan remains an unsafe school and an unlikely place for your child to get a good education. There is very little parent involvement. Judging from the class of students - it is not surprising. The parents don't care and it is reflected in their kids. If you can manage to get a kid through this school with a decent education and no battle scars - it would be a miracle. The overgrown vegetation at the back is a magnet for inappropriate sexual behavior and drug use on campus. Despite being notified of this - they rely on the District to cut down the bushes. Needless to say - the San Juan District is a complete failure. If you can send your kid anywhere else - do so.

Sylvan Middle School 4

Posted September 14, 2009
- a parent
Sylvan Middle School has committed teachers that have been teaching at Sylvan for many many years. The are truly dedicated to making sure each child makes the most of his/her education. The principal, Mr. Banks, is a wonderful new addition to the staff who has made it his mission to improve the standard of education at Sylvan Middle School despite the State budget and funding. Sylvan staff work together with parents to ensure each child gets the attention and resources they need to be successful. I truly enjoy being a part of the Sylvan Middle School family.


Sylvan Middle School
no rating

Posted October 19, 2008
- a parent
I have a daughter in the HA and AVID programs at Sylvan. We love this school. Her teachers are enthusiastic about teaching and very helpful when a parent has questions. I believe that having a positive school experience starts in the home...if a parent is focused and excited about their child's education, then the child will be too.

Sylvan Middle School 5

Posted August 25, 2007
- a parent
Sylvan is an excellant school. The staff at Syvan are very helpful. You get a fast and friendly response if you have a question regarding you son/daughter. The teachers are also wonderful, very focused on your child. I would recommend this school to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sylvan Middle School
7137 Auburn Boulevard, Citrus Heights, CA  95610-3824
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (916) 971-7873
Last modified Sylvan Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top