Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
278 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Family Catholic School 5

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
This is such a wonderful school... Academically my children are challenged, the teachers are caring and tough at the Same time. Athletically my children have been able to play on the are parochial Athletic teams and love playing competitively with the kids at the school. Spiritually this school nurtures and encourages children to have faith, values and to display "Christ like behavior." The community is one of the best parts. The parents are all warm, friendly and caring. You feel the community is looking out for all the children and it is closed campus so you feel safe. I love the fact that this school is K-8th... Small classes and the kids all grow up together with values. There are also tons of fun events. The school requires parental participation which I feel only helps make the experience for the children and the parent that much better! By volunteering at school you show your children that you value their education and lead by example in teaching your children to serve others. I highly recommend touring Holy Family if you are interested in giving your children an excellent education and preparing them for a bright future. The bonus is that the cost is very reasonable for a private school education! A lot lower than many other private schools in the area.

Holy Family Catholic School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
This is my children's first year at Holy Family and they absolutely love it! The teachers are very enthusiastic when it comes to teaching. They really do care if your children succeed and they take the time to make sure that the students know what is being taught. It’s awesome seeing the teachers getting excited about education, which also makes the kids excited too! The principal welcomes parent feedback and is eager to implement positive change. The best part about Holy Family is that my children are going to a school where they are being nurtured both academically and spiritually.


Holy Family Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Holy Family are fabulous. They set high expectations for the students but they work with them to help the students meet, and surpass, their expectations. They're all educated, smart and wonderful!

Holy Family Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
The school's Catholic identity is strong and helps guide kids down a path of positive moral decisions.

Holy Family Catholic School 5

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Holy Family School is an amazing academic, social and nurturing environment for students and their families. The school has been around for more than fifty years and continues to pride itself on strong academic excellence with high expectations for the students. Academically, Holy Family students are very prepared for high school (private or public). Their test scores are always among the top performing schools and continue to rise each year. The environment at Holy Family is welcoming, positive and supportive for both kids and families alike. Check this school out, it's worth a look!


Holy Family Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
All students are made to feel welcome and treated as individuals. It is not the school where you only see one type of student - it is well rounded and diverse.

Holy Family Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff are fair and treat the kids with respect. This model translates to the students.

Holy Family Catholic School 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
It has been a long time since anyone has posted, and I am happy to say that things have definitely improved at Holy Family! The teachers are all relatively new to the school and so is the principal. This new energy has been fantastic and many of the old issues are long gone. The families at this school work together with teachers to make sure the kids are all learning to their highest potential. It has been a great place for my child and he continues to thrive there. His test scores place him well above grade level in all areas, along with many of his classmates.


Holy Family Catholic School 1

Posted November 09, 2011
- a parent
I agree 100% that HFS has plummeted. I don't think it was great to begin with. This is why I took my son out. Didn't take him to St. Mel's either. My Spouse went to St. Rose in Roseville back in the 70's and he was behind when he entered High School. I won't name the HS but lets just say you have to take an entrance exam to get in the HS. Hmm.. seems like there's a theme to these schools...Lacking in education but paying out the nose and fundraising in our sleep! Ha, ha. For a school that focuses more on disciplining and religion than education, I am blown also, blown away how the school still manages to allow the bully kids to stay enrolled. Oh, yes, money! Bottom line, I was very disappointed with the academics.

Holy Family Catholic School 4

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
I am a single mother and broke my back to send my only son to HFS for 9 years and could not have made a better investment. HFS is more than an education. It is an extended village of women and men who care deeply for the success of the whole child spiritually and academically. Worth every penny.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Family Catholic School
7817 Old Auburn Road, Citrus Heights, CA  95610
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (916) 722-7788
Last modified Holy Family Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top