Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 89 students

We are best known for balanced Christian curriculum.
 
 

 
 

Living in Citrus Heights

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

Our son started here in kindergarden. It was clear from the beginning that his preschool had not prepared him well for school. Mrs. Bauer was patient with him and worked through a number of issues including emotional outbursts. By the end of the year things had clicked and he was ready to continue to first grade. We were still nervous about him going on to first but with Miss Thrams he has continued to mature and thrive. He's an A and B student. His confidence grows each day. The small class sizes are great. They also have a hot lunch program. Summer basketball camps are available too. It's a small school but doesn't lack for anything. If your looking for a loving family feel type of school choose St. Mark's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

We love St. Mark's! The faculty is dedicated, loving, and truly cares about every individual child. The academics are top-notch and results and standards exceed the local public school system. Being a private school allows St. Mark's to keep the best academics without being burdened by the sometimes questionable requirements the public schools have based on the politics that drive them. St. Mark's also offers great extra-curricular activities like athletics (the new gym is beautiful!) and the performing arts (plays, voice/choir, instrumental music, and so on)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

If you want a safe school, with strong academics, a loving atmosphere, and a faith based education St. Marks is the way to go. I have 2 children enrolled and both of them as well us love St. Marks. The teachers and staff are the best and truly care about the kids. For the first time in 3 years my son said " I like going to school ". I can not recommend St. Marks enough it truly is a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2010

St.Marks is great Christian school. It has a family feel to it. The class sizes are small allowing the teachers to know each student. The teachers and principal are both vested in the whole child. The principal is alway willing to listen to new ideas that can improve the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2010

St. Marks is a great school! It offers a great education, highly trained teachers and a very caring and loving environment for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2010

I love this school. The academic level is high and there's so much personal attention. We moved from a different state where my daughter was in the top public school in the county. When her former teachers heard what was being taught here, they were stunned. The curriculum is outstanding! But it is not just about academics here. Kids are well-rounded, from sports to arts to language. The family atmosphere is also encouraged: from older kids being chapel buddies for the younger, to having lunch together as a school family, kids are friends across the grades. And when there are discipline concerns, the teachers and principal address it in a Christian manner, lovingly and thoughtfully. Throughout everything, the love of Christ is shown. I wouldn't want my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2010

We enrolled our 4 year old in the Pre-K program after experiencing some problems at two other local schools. She was happy from day one and months later is still enjoying her school experience so much we plan to keep her there. As a public school teacher, with our class size threatened to be 30-40 students starting next year for all grades, I am quite motivated to keep my child where bully-behavior is not allowed and all students are known personally by the teachers! The teachers at this school take the time and energy to know the families and children. All the kids are pleasant to be around and appear to be happy. A quality Christian education that cannot be beat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

St. Mark's Lutheran School is a tremendous blessing to my family. My child is receiving a balanced education permeated by Christian values. The teachers are dedicated and the atmosphere is nurturing and family-like. The excellent home-school communication strengthens our partnership in the education of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2005

One child in 4th Grade, started at St. Marks in Kindergarten. No complaints here! I appreciate the well balanced education, including the usual math, science, history, spelling, but added to that a musical emphasis (piano lessons at school, mandatory choir), and of course a Christian emphasis to all activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2003

We have 3 children at St Mark's, going on our 3rd year at this school. We came from a highly rated public school in our area and there is no comparison. St Mark's is superior in every way. High standards, superior academics, moral and ethical education. We're home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Wonderful school with caring teachers and staff who are dedicated to the children and to their higher standards of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 26%
Hispanic 8% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 11%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • MATHCOUNTS Gold Level (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Matthew Bauer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Wisconsin evangelical lutheran synod
Fax number
  • (916) 961-5034

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Math club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bella Vista High School
Del Campo High School
Casa Roble High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7869 Kingswood Drive
Citrus Heights, CA 95610
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 961-7891

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kingswood Elementary School
Citrus Heights, CA


Valley Oak Academy
Citrus Heights, CA


Skycrest Elementary School
Citrus Heights, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT