Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
109 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

From a former St. Mark's student: St. Mark's taught me how to practice good study skills and taught me about priorities. St. Mark's taught me that school is a top priority along with God's Word and family. Thanks to that wonderful life lesson I can confidently say I have only ever had one B in my entire high school career (it was an 89.4%! I was so close to an A). During my time at St. Mark's, I also learned about the importance of morals. In high school, as much as I hate to say it, we face a lot of unnecessary drama and tough choices. But my morals were built on such a strong foundation of God's Word and knowing right from wrong that all that drama and all those tough decisions have been such a breeze for me because I learned how to say no and be strong in my morally right decisions. Fortunately, I have never really been faced with tough decisions like those because I set a strong willed reputation for myself and hold myself to a high standard and people know that so they don't even bother trying. And it brings me all the joy in the world to say that those moral foundations were built at St. Mark's. God's Word has given me the strength to be confident in myself and never give into the peer pressure. St. Mark's has also taught me the value of giving my all in sports. I would not have ever been as successful as I am in volleyball if it weren't for the early coaching I received. St. Mark's helped me realize my God given abilities and how I should use them to the fullest to represent him. There is always more I could say, but I really thought you should know the impact St. Mark's had on my life and the person I am today. Especially my 7th and 8th grade years. You are doing an awesome job with your students, whether they are young or old. Thank you for making such an impact on my life and making an excellent learning and growing school environment such as St. Mark's.
April 19, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 19, 2016
- a school leader
From a former St. Mark's student: St. Mark's taught me how to practice good study skills and taught me about priorities. St. Mark's taught me that school is a top priority along with God's Word and family. Thanks to that wonderful life lesson I can confidently say I have only ever had one B in my entire high school career (it was an 89.4%! I was so close to an A). During my time at St. Mark's, I also learned about the importance of morals. In high school, as much as I hate to say it, we face a lot of unnecessary drama and tough choices. But my morals were built on such a strong foundation of God's Word and knowing right from wrong that all that drama and all those tough decisions have been such a breeze for me because I learned how to say no and be strong in my morally right decisions. Fortunately, I have never really been faced with tough decisions like those because I set a strong willed reputation for myself and hold myself to a high standard and people know that so they don't even bother trying. And it brings me all the joy in the world to say that those moral foundations were built at St. Mark's. God's Word has given me the strength to be confident in myself and never give into the peer pressure. St. Mark's has also taught me the value of giving my all in sports. I would not have ever been as successful as I am in volleyball if it weren't for the early coaching I received. St. Mark's helped me realize my God given abilities and how I should use them to the fullest to represent him. There is always more I could say, but I really thought you should know the impact St. Mark's had on my life and the person I am today. Especially my 7th and 8th grade years. You are doing an awesome job with your students, whether they are young or old. Thank you for making such an impact on my life and making an excellent learning and growing school environment such as St. Mark's.

St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Bauer sets the tone and culture for St. Mark's. He is always "raising the bar" and by doing that teaches the students to keep moving forward and building and not becoming complacent.


St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
This topic is central to the St. Mark's culture. It is modeled by the faculty and reflected in St. Mark's extra-curricular programs. Most notably, St. Mark's uses its athletics program to model this. There are many opportunities presented on the field or on the court (or the stage or behind the mic!) that teach the students in ways that cannot be delivered as effectively in the classroom.

St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
St. Mark's develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in several ways. First, the faculty models this behavior in an ongoing way. They are not (quite, ha!) perfect, but they model the behaviors and the students see these values lived every day. Second is the leadership structure, which holds faculty, students, and families accountable to a set of practices that support these values.

St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Both of our children attend St. Mark's and have since PreK. This year, our oldest will graduate from the 8th grade, so we've had a chance to see St. Mark's at every grade level. The St. Mark's difference lies with the faculty and the benefits of being in a Christian school. The entire faculty are not only top notch educators, but are Christian people who love and care about these children as God's own creations. This means that hour by hour, day by day, the students not only receive a superior academic education, but also a life training and character modelling example.


St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Both of my daughters attend St. Mark's from K-8th grade. I was looking for a private Christian school that would teach them wisdom as well as knowledge. St. Mark's exceeded my expectations in both areas. Both went on to public high schools where their knowledge and study habits set them apart from other students. Their teachers in high school were impressed with their discipline and respectful attitudes. But the best part was their biblical knowledge. Not only did they have Bible verses hidden in their hearts (which they can still recite to this day), but they have a clear understanding of who Jesus is and what He has done for them. Their love for their Savior is still evident in their lives today. St. Mark's instilled in them lasting qualities that have served them into and past their college years.

St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
St. Mark's is a friendly, welcoming environment where the priority is teaching with Christian standards and values in every subject. You don't have to be a church member, or even a Lutheran, to attend. The teachers and staff make new students and parents feel welcome, and help them fit in. Our student was new in the fourth grade, and very shy, and her teacher and classmates were so helpful with her adjustment. There are also regular activities for all families that bring a high level of community to the school. The academic level of learning is high, and the classroom environment is geared toward teaching students to be self-motivated and organized. Technology is used to enhance learning regularly. Students are involved with sports, music, the arts, and drama, as well as a school newspaper and choir club; there is truly something for every student. The sports and physical education at St. Mark's reflect a priority, and set the bar for excellence. The students regularly exercise, run, and play outdoors, as fitness is important at this school. There is an amazingly professional basketball program during the school year, as well as summer sport camps. The coaches are fantastic. As parents, we are so glad St. Mark's goes up to 8th grade. The students coming out of here to go onto high school are well-balanced, healthy, confident, and joyful.

St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
Our son started here in kindergarden. It was clear from the beginning that his preschool had not prepared him well for school. Mrs. Bauer was patient with him and worked through a number of issues including emotional outbursts. By the end of the year things had clicked and he was ready to continue to first grade. We were still nervous about him going on to first but with Miss Thrams he has continued to mature and thrive. He's an A and B student. His confidence grows each day. The small class sizes are great. They also have a hot lunch program. Summer basketball camps are available too. It's a small school but doesn't lack for anything. If your looking for a loving family feel type of school choose St. Mark's!


St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
We love St. Mark's! The faculty is dedicated, loving, and truly cares about every individual child. The academics are top-notch and results and standards exceed the local public school system. Being a private school allows St. Mark's to keep the best academics without being burdened by the sometimes questionable requirements the public schools have based on the politics that drive them. St. Mark's also offers great extra-curricular activities like athletics (the new gym is beautiful!) and the performing arts (plays, voice/choir, instrumental music, and so on)

St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2011
- a parent
If you want a safe school, with strong academics, a loving atmosphere, and a faith based education St. Marks is the way to go. I have 2 children enrolled and both of them as well us love St. Marks. The teachers and staff are the best and truly care about the kids. For the first time in 3 years my son said " I like going to school ". I can not recommend St. Marks enough it truly is a blessing.

Nearby schools

St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School
7869 Kingswood Drive, Citrus Heights, CA  95610
(916) 961-7891
Last modified St. Mark's Lutheran Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top