Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Creative Frontiers Elementary School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Citrus Heights

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2011

I enjoy taking my son to CFS. Every time you drop off or pick up, it is clear that the children are very happy to be there. They have a great curriculim for their preschool program. Fieldtrips, healthy lunches and snacks are included in the tuition cost. Their administrative staff is very friendly, albeit disorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

I am a credentialed public school teacher with two children at Creative Frontiers for 5 years. My old boss (San Juan School District Superintendant) recommended me to see school. He paid for his two grandchildren to do K-6 there and could not say enough good about school how impressive is that! I also see many other teachers bringing their children too. I agree: office is understaffed, but principal focuses budget on quality classroom staff/programs and all children are always well supervised. Principal and director stay late or call on weekends just to return messages. Mr. Bob gives out cell phone to everyone! Btw, he earned the 2008 Administrator of the Year from the second-largest professional teaching association in California. The school is on 7 acres so you may find a puddle or repair in process here or there, but they have a full time maintenance man & janitor on staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

This school is by far the best school for children in the sacramento area, it does not have the best office staff, however it is about the children not the administration stuff and every child is in the best of hands with the teachers and all staff. The cost for this is far and what they have to offer with the tuition is faboulous, swim, field trips, and holiday parties, my children love to go to school and I feel so content everyday when there there cause I know not only are they learning so much they are in great hands. I do and will alway recommend this school to everyone..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

For 5 months, our child attended this school. Academically school was great and so were the teachers! However, poor communication and bookkeeping with head and administrative staff. Facilities were always flooded, children allowed to roam grounds unsupervised. Personal experience with head staff was extremely unprofessional and turned out to be unsatisfactory. I would not recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

My son is in the Transitional Kinder class and we are very happy with his development this year. The school is great, teachers are caring and experienced. Overall, we are very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

I am a parent of a 2nd grader. I have to say that it is a GREAT feelign to know that my child LOVES going to Creative Frontiers. My husband is the one who picks her up from school he travels and today he would not be able to pick her up at 4pm. I told her I was sorry that she would have to stay late, close to 5:30 pm due to working. She jumped in the air and said' Yes! You are and awesome mom! Thank you' I was shocked. Thank you CFS for making my daughter feel safe when she is away from home. You guys are the BEST!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

This is my sons second year. He came in 99% in the entire nation on his GPA during his Kindergarden year with Mrs. S... He reads like a 10 year old and just turned 6. The atmosphere is personable, not run down like others say. Look at what your up against with public school GPA's, overcrowding, factor in before and after school care and you will agree... The cost, convenience, but mostly the level of education is way worth the money spent...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

My daughter loves going to school and all of her teachers have been wonderful! She has learned so much and is right on track. I am very happy with the teachers and administrators at Creative Frontiers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

Our son has been going to CF for a year now and we love it. I find the administration helpful, available and child-focused. I look forward to our son going on to Kindergarten here and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

I d like to thank the faculty and staff for the wonderful Kindergarten experience Tyler had before we moved. Tyler started at Creative Frontiers in 2006, after having been in an in-home pre-school. He acclimated quickly to the Creative Frontiers environment. He enjoyed a terrific year with Mrs. Flynn, the other teachers, and his fellow students. It s hard as a parent, dropping off your child at school in the morning, leaving them to go to Kindergarten, while you go to work all day but it s so much easier when you see that your child is happy. School was so fun for him! He was happy when I dropped him off and also when I picked him up - even after a long day. I was so impressed! The academics were top notch. Everyone there does a fantastic job! You provided him such a good start in school, both emotionally and educationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

My children were pulled out of public schools because they could not read at their grade level. The afterschool program was awful - all ages mixed together. Since coming to Creative Frontiers my children's reading scores have improved by 2 grades and their study habits have improved with the great after school homework club. I would recommend this school to anyone who values their children's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

Creative Frontiers has been an extremely supportive school. If there is any questions the teachers and the office staff--including the principle are quick to respond. My child has thoroughly enjoyed the horse back riding, swimming, and the Spanish classes. The teachers have even used books from other classrooms to support my child's learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

This school has been great academically for our two children. They have attended since pre-school. We are planning on taking them out because we have run out of money. The school administration and communication is very poor and the bookkeeping was always incorrect. There always seemed to be a problem with the simplest things like the copier, always broken or the bathrooms, always dirty. We felt our money was not going towards making the school run smoothly or toward administrative support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2007

I agree with the last comment the staff is unbelievably dedicated and talented! My child has been at this school for 4 years. I look forward to completing her entire elementary education there! Before we joined, we thought this school was expensive, but then we looked at over 20 schools before deciding upon this one. Creative Frontiers was by far the most reasonable of the good ones! Lunch and extras are included. I know the plumbing issue in one bathroom the parent commented on (below), but I saw an involved administration solving a complex problem which they did! By the way, this is the first school I know of where the principal gives you his e-mail and cell phone number to contact him! I have only had to call him once, but he answered me right away. This is a great school - I would highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

My child attended this school for over 2 years. The teachers were all fantastic! The summer swimming was fantastic, my child swims like a fish. However, the condition of the school was not the greatest. Often the bathroom stall flooded and was closed for student use. Also, the office staff had poor communication and let items of concern sit around with no attention to the matter until we went down to the office to address the situation. My child learned so much academically, however the school is very expensive and the principal and administrative staff turned out to be unsatisfactory.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

Creative Frontiers has been a great experience for us! After visiting EVERY private school in the area, we were happy to finally find one that suited our daughter's 'outdoor' personality. It has been a perfect experience for us. Now, she always wants to go to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

Creative Frontiers is more than a school, it is like family. Everyone cares for one another and looks out for the best interest of the children. Our experience at this school has been wonderful day after day. You can't beat the price and the quality! My 5 year old daughter is sad on the weekend when there is no school. Between the education, swimming, field trips and cute little class celebrations, this school towers above the rest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

My daughter is a first grader and has been a Creative Frontier's student for the past 3 years. Thanks to staff's above and beyond cooperation and communication with us (her parents), she is blossoming into a responsible, kind, intelligent, and confident young lady!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

Since attending Creative Frontiers School, both of my children (ages 5 and 7) have excelled dramatically - both socially and academically. I praise the teaching and the supportive administration for my children's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 86%
Hispanic 7%
Two or more races 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Robert B. Adams
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (916) 723-8849

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6446 Sylvan Rd
Citrus Heights, CA 95610
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 723-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Christian Academy
Citrus Heights, CA




Skycrest Elementary School
Citrus Heights, CA


Kingswood Elementary School
Citrus Heights, CA


West Pioneer Academy
Citrus Heights, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT