Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vista Del Valle Elementary School 3

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
At Vista, there are a few truly good teachers who are dedicated to the children. All the teachers are results-driven, but most public schools are due to standardized testing. Some parents think the principal is arrogant and cannot or does not want to relate to them. I wonder if he even realizes that is how he is perceived. The demographics of this school consist of working families, and the majority of the children receive free or reduced lunches. Since most parents are working, there are very few parent volunteers. The PFA is almost non-existent, and the people running it are unfriendly and in a clique. They stand around in a circle and gossip about other moms. Yes, I overheard you. I don t see the PFA out and about getting parents involved except for a couple of the new moms last year. They lack vision and creativity and organization and leadership. Fundraisers/events are usually boring and the food terrible. Bake sales and more bake sales of mostly store bought junk food. Except for last year, they served only hot dogs for Multicultural Night! But hey, Vista has a nice green campus and garden, and the rude lunch lady is gone so far!

Vista Del Valle Elementary School 1

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
This school is good if you like military style, chained locked gates, RUDE LUNCH LADY! and bipolar staff. Your kids will learn Spanish before English. All they care about is the test scores and not the students. Don't be late, the bell rings at 7:57 and the gates will be closed and locked right in front of your face! It's not a school for parent involvement, because the PFA is controlled by parents that couldn't organize a yard sale. This review might sound harsh, but the reality is that it's not only my opinion, but the opinions of many parents that I've become acquainted with over the years.


Vista Del Valle Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
I love this school, and I'll be sad when my son graduates and leaves the teachers and staff behind. Whenever I visit during school hours, I always see the principal out and about doing something, and he seems to know all of the kids' names. The teachers are friendly and really do go above and beyond for the kids.

Vista Del Valle Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Vista Del Valle Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Vista Del Valle Elementary School 4

Posted February 15, 2007
- a parent
There are a few stellar teachers at this school, the Principal is touchable and caring, some of the teachers need more parental contact than others but overall this school tries to give the students everything to help them succeed. The academic program is good, not a lot of options for students who are above average. The music, art, sports programs need help but get an E for effort. This parents really do a lot at this school and are awesome volunteers who care. This is the most diverse school in Claremont, small intimate environment where your child will have a name, not a number only. We have found the more we are involved at the school the better it is for our children.

Vista Del Valle Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2006
- a teacher
Vista is a great school with a balanced program including art and music education, experiential learning, and an emphasis on reading and writing skills. The faculty is experienced and dedicated. Vista's standardized test scores are improving, even though the school does not emphasize 'teaching to the test'. Vista's students are very diverse, with several dozen cultures and languages represented among the 300 or so students which attend the school. While this presents some challenges (for example, when a parent or student speaks English as a second or third language) I feel my son has really benefitted from the diversity. Nearly 300 volunteers, including parents, college students, and community members help with field trips, extra-curricular activities, and as teacher's aids in the classroom. The campus is open, colorful, and inviting, and is located right next to a large park. I feel my son is very safe on the campus, and have seen relatively few discipline problems.

Vista Del Valle Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2003
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. I have one child in kindergarten and another in 3rd grade. The principal is really involved with the kids and the teachers go that extra mile. It is a wonderful little school where you really feel like part of a family and a community. You know that your child is getting personal attention and is not just another number.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vista Del Valle Elementary School
550 Vista Drive, Claremont, CA  91711
(909) 398-0331
Last modified Vista Del Valle Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vista Del Valle Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top