Advertisement
Advertisement

Foothill Country Day School

Private | K-8 | 260 students

We are known for the moral development of our students and excellent academics.

 
 

Living in Claremont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $420,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,490.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2013

Academics, curriculum and teaching at the upper school (grades 6, 7 and 8) are top-notch. The school, however, hasn't been able to successfully implement the character-building component of its mission statement because there is no real parent support for anything which is viewed to interfere with academics.. The majority of the parents are simply buying a prestige educational product to get their kids into Webb and aren't particularly concerned with values except for the value of ensuring their child holds a privileged position in an increasingly competitive world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

Best academics found in a private school ages 5-14! Character building and solid core fundamentals needed to get into a great high school and do exceptionally well. If you are at Foothill Country Day, a solid foundation has been set for the balance of your academic career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

Best grade school in the San Gabriel Valley, bar none. Our only child is completing her first year at the school right now, and our family's experience has been excellent. Foothill's facilities are much better than average, with sophisticated in-classroom technologies, an art studio, music room, science labs, full-sized gym, and computer lab featuring among them. The teaching staff seems universally excellent. And most importantly to our family, Foothill's educational commitment to creating a learning community of mutually respectful and honest students, teachers and parents is exactly what we were looking for in a school. I admit that our family wishes that Foothill provided more opportunities for advanced students to accelerate beyond their age-based classroom peers, and I hope very much that it will do so in the coming years as its student population grows, both to keep up with the state's other top independent schools and to serve gifted students. Other than that, however, my family has no complaints or concerns. If money is no obstacle and education is important to your family living anywhere near Claremont, Foothill is your K-8 school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

FCDS offers everything you hope for in an independent school: small classes, personal attention, effective teachers, top-notch equipment and a lovely physical plant. I am continuously surprised and pleased by the way they seek to develop your child's character as well as her intellect. My child has been very happy at FCDS for two years now and I am eager to see how our other two (very different) children will do when they get there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

FCDS has the highest level of academics excellence in the Inland Empire. Character, respect, proper manners, and decorum are highly emphasized. There is a huge amount of parental volunteerism (which is also expected). Physical plant is beautiful. The tuition used to be a bargain; however, it seems that they may be trying to align the tuition with excellent schools in Pasadena, West side, or Valley which made the tuition grow at a surprising rate. The negatives of FCDS are that all of the positives are taken to the extremes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

FCDS is a wonderful educational experience. It has a challenging academic program but most importantly it focuses also on developing a strong moral compass in my children. The facilities and extracurricular activities are also top notch. Parents are very involved and inclusive. Certainly there are some very affluent families in the school but everyone works well together for the interests of our children. I recommend this school without any reservations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I have sent 3 children through FCDS. I agree with the other commentators that the school is probably the best in the area, but it has definitely changed over the years -- for the better and worse. FCDS recently modernized its campus by adding a new science building and gymnasium and revamping the library. Computers are abundant. For the negative, FCDS has transitioned away from being a small, 'country day' school to an 'elitist' school. The cost of attendance has risen disproportionally with the cost of inflation - from $5,000/year in mid 1990's to approximately $17,500/year today. The school is currently engaged in a major (costly) expansion project, whereby it will double in size - from about 160 students to well over 300 students. Some parents view the expansion as good, others have expressed grave concerns. Bottom Line: If money is not an object, FCDS is worth a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

We put our only child here not knowing what to expect. Well, our childs music instructor, softball coach, and summer camp counselor always comment that she is well behaved and very very smart and compassionate. We are always asked 'What is the name of the school she attends?' because the results are right in front of them. It's tough paying tuition, but the results are priceless... The administration has always made us feel welcomed and we are very greatful! Foothill is the absolute best thing for our child!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

Sending our 2 children to FCDS is the best decision that my husband and I have ever made. As the saying goes If you think education is expensive - try ignorance . FCDS has a high regard for academic excellence and good mannered students. FCDS has not only taught our children to be independent and responsible students but rather has taught us parents to raise wise and reliable children of the 21st century. Class 2015/2016
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

It is true what other parents are saying about FCDS. It is definitely the only private K-8 in this area with the most high tech classrooms around. The science lab is similar to the one I had at USC. Being a alum from the 1980's, times were a little different. It was when Howell Webb was around, and things felt much warmer and less competetive among the parents and families, as they are now. It is absolutely true that it is now an elitist 'prep'-type school that many families are not able to afford for the entire 9 yrs. My child is in school there and I feel like the old 'magic' is gone. If you care about a good education, and have very deep pockets, this school is definitely for you and your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

This is a small 'family' like school with excellent teachers and staff. All parents are expected to participate in volunteer work, and be involved with their children's educational process. Graduates of this school go on to some of the most elite high schools of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

Simply the Best! Foothill Country Day School (FCDS) has a pristine campus new buildings and a staff that is far ahead of their colleagues in education of K-8 students. It has the most advanced science building, the only K-8 School that has a computer lab where the students put together their own yearbook. The teachers and staff care about only one thing; the student s success in education. My daughter is a sophomore in college now. She picked her school and it is on the most selective of universities. She states that it was the foundation at FCDS that made the difference. She knows how to study, write A level papers, and speak in front of a group of strangers. In all things she is more prepared for life because of a solid foundation received at FCDS. A grateful dad of Whitney Hanlon, class of 2000 Bill Hanlon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

The academic quality of this school is outstanding. Our children absolutely love learning at this school. The school was founded by Howell Webb with the mission of providing an old fashion education. The school is becoming more of a high end prep school. Tution increases average 15% each year. The school seems to be pursuing the prestige market. Our family could no longer afford this school if our children weren't near graduation. Nevertheless, it has hung on to its family virtues. There is still a magical environment that comes from hand picking extremely dedicated teachers and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2005

Both my children attended FCDS from K-8th grade. Wonderful, small, secular environment. Strong academics and fairly good program in the arts. Absolutely gorgeous facility far surpasses that of any elementary school I've seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Asian 36%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 9%
Black 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mike Silva
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (909) 625-4251

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$17000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Webb
public high schools
single sex private high schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1035 Harrison Ave
Claremont, CA 91711
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 626-5681

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






ICC Community
Pomona, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT