Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
291 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Foothill Country Day School 1

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
My son applied for admission to Foothill’s kindergarten this spring, but he will not be attending in August. As a longtime Claremont resident with a physician spouse, I long assumed that attending Foothill would be the best choice for my child. After all, Foothill is expensive, and higher prices always imply better quality, right? Wrong. During my wife’s and my tour of Foothill with a very friendly current parent, we noticed that a child in the kindergarten classroom was sitting in the corner while the teacher taught the rest of class! When I asked the father giving us the tour what was going on, he just rolled his eyes, as if to say, “You weren’t supposed to see that on this tour.” But later in the spring, when I had a chance to ask the teacher herself what had been going on, she explained that the child was being made to miss that day’s language arts lesson as punishment for answering a question without raising his hand. I’m a firm believer in teaching children respect and manners, but, I’m sorry, but that Kind of draconian response to a five year-old just trying to participate in class is excessive and wrong-headed. In my opinion, humiliating a first-time student just for trying to participate in class seems like a perfect recipe for producing quiet but unenthusiastic students – not confident lifelong learners. Unfortunately, the principal permits such punishments to continue, so I guess that’s precisely what he wants to do.

Foothill Country Day School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
No! Frightening five-year olds in their first year of school from answering questions in class is precisely the opposite of what it takes to develop determination in students.


Foothill Country Day School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
My son attends and likes this school. Our daughter will attend soon. We've had mixed experiences. We've witnessed the school going through transition, changes in headmasters, we've seen teachers come and go, and the construction and opening of the upper school building (which is lovely). Pros: The children who attend are bright. The children are well behaved -not only while in the presence of adults. Parents are very involved. The head of the upper school and the head of admissions are phenomenal. Front office staff are kind, competent and responsive. The Headmaster is approachable. The school is attractive and well kept. The English program is good, particularly in the middle grades. The workload is challenging but not insurmountable. Students are accustomed to testing. Cons: Like many schools, it can drill students into boredom. Less emphasis on critical and creative thinking skills. The PE instructors need better training and the drama classes need a teacher more interested in the process than end product. The maths program is dubious but changing. Heavy on homework and memorization. Overall, my husband and I like the school. Good luck to you and your family.

Foothill Country Day School 2

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
So basically families are staying because there is no other choice-not because they are satisfied. Anyone who says anything (teacher or parent) which is thought as a different perspective from the administration is made to feel unwelcome.The quality is going downhill but the tuition continues to go up.Now some children will have same poor 2nd grade teacher again! All the above comes at a high price of $18k per school year, not including the donations and volunteering time that is expected. =20k+

Foothill Country Day School 1

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
The only reason I have rated this school one star is because of how it use to be. My kids in the early years benefited greatly from the programs and small class size. While looking at the rest of the reviews, basically I am reading between the lines that many are here because there is no other alternative. So basically families are staying because there is no other choice-not because they are satisfied. Anyone who says anything (teacher or parent) which is thought as a different perspective from the administration is made to feel unwelcome. That develops a culture of fear rather than respect towards the administration. There was a time when a child might have waited years (or never) to enroll-that was the difficulty of being admitted. Now we see a child visiting on a Tuesday and enrolling the next Monday. Suffice to say this is not the Foothill I know and loved. If you are starting Foothill in the younger grades you will probably not have the same bar to compare as many of us before you but do remember that there is always a choice.


Foothill Country Day School 5

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
Yes FCDS has gone through some changes from what it used to be. (Whatever that is supposed to mean?) However, a parent needs to consider what the alternatives are. In the area there are few. You can not beat the small class size, teaching of good study habits, diverse curriculum, and love for learning that is developed in the students. Bottom line, it is a school like no other in the area. I will agree that there were issues with 1st grade and we almost left because of it. However, no school is perfect and one needs to keep in mind that there are bad teachers no mater where you go.

Foothill Country Day School 5

Posted July 18, 2014
- a community member
Our children enrolled at FCDS at the end of the tenure of Howell Webb. Through the Foothill Family we have made lasting friendships and followed the successful paths to adulthood of many of the alumni. Each of our children, and their schoolmates, will tell you that the lessons learned at FCDS have been the foundation of all future learning and enabled their successes. It was a community devoted to the love of learning and living up to expectations. If you are considering FCDS then the only thing that matters is how the school measures against the alternatives. Some food for thought; you own your education outright, whether it be bad or good.

Foothill Country Day School 1

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Foothill WAS a great school. If you talk to parents that have kids graduated from the school, they would paint you a totally diffrerent picture from what it is now. The quality is going downhill but the tuition continues to go up. We feel obligated to update the ratings of this school so the people on the "waitlist" knows the truth. The greatest thing about this school is the parents involvement and care for their kids.......which really has nothing to do with the school?! As for character, I believe it starts at home.


Foothill Country Day School 3

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
Some teachers at FCDS are excellent and others are not at all. Right now we are extremely disappointed with headmaster because he decided to get rid of excellent second grade teacher and promote poor first grade teacher. Now some children will have same poor teacher again next year! Many parents are extremely disappointed and principal is refusing to respond at all. Of course, many teachers are superb, and parent support at the school is the best. Is this school run for the teachers?

Foothill Country Day School 2

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
Do not send your children to this school if they have slightly above average math capabilities as they will be under challenged, bored, and at times, frustrated. Several parents have raised their concerns regarding the math program, however no action has been taken to date. There is no individualization of learning nor advancement for gifted students. If one is to look at the school calendar, one would find that this school starts their academic year after September, have many holidays interspersed, and two spring breaks (February and April). In addition, this school has changed over the years (due to expansion) to essentially accepting anyone who can pay tuition, versus a detailed selection of highly moral and academically inclined students. All the above comes at a high price of $18k per school year, not including the donations and volunteering time that is expected. Most parents stay in this school as there are not many other private school choices around the area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Foothill Country Day School
1035 Harrison Avenue, Claremont, CA  91711
(909) 626-5681
Last modified Foothill Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Foothill Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top