Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
291 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Foothill Country Day School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
One teacher at the school attempted to help our child but failed. They stated how horribly things are handled at the school. They also stated that parents are kept away from information about their child to protect the image of the school.

Foothill Country Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Poor and boring lessons are administered. There is no excitement in the classroom. Communication and collaboration in assignments do not exist. There are a lot of worksheets. Notes and home asked projects assigned. The teachers think they know it all and do not want to hear any other constructive advise. When approached try seem to be argumentative and can only place fault in the child.


Foothill Country Day School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Most of the teaching at school consists of long homework assignments if your child is not good at self teaching then this school is the wrong choice. Tutors are expected for every child because all material has to be retaught or memorized. The teachers do not teach they merely assign loads of homework and give tests.

Foothill Country Day School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The school will focus on a handful of children they feel are a good representation for the school the rest are ignored.

Foothill Country Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Students bully others and there are no consequences. The situations are usually ignored and considered to be part of growing up. The students are not encouraged to be compassionate or caring.


Foothill Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
Foothill promotes dishonesty and covers student and adult faults to protect the reputation of the school.

Foothill Country Day School 1

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
We thought Foothill would provide a great education academically and build a strong character in our child. We were very wrong academically the children learn to memorize a lot of information without any application. The schools use of technology consists of playing games and typing. As far as building character, our child's experiences included their personal property being stolen, being told their class was the worst class on campus, and being bullied to the point where they no longer wanted to go to school. The head master and dean of students were fully aware of what was going on and ignored the dituation. In fact the headmaster did not even return our phone calls. When we went to discuss the matter with the dean we were told that there were other schools and different options for our child. We invested a lot of money and time into a school that turned their back on our child when they needed help. We ended up pulling our child out of the school with a couple months of the school year left. It is unfortunate to have people who don't care about the wellfair of the whole child in education. Our experience with Foothill has been terrible! We would not recommend this school to anyone.

Foothill Country Day School 4

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Our child is kind, responsible, successful, intelligent and hard working. This is due to the joint effort of the teachers and parents. The school has gone through many necessary changes ...the results of which will only be seen in years to come. No review should be written based on short term observations...children are at Foothill for 9 years...some longer, if they attended Seedling. If a student makes the most of what is on offer at Foothill , they will grow from a fledgling to a falcon and become a model citizen of the world, able to not just to help themselves but others too.


Foothill Country Day School 1

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
My son applied for admission to Foothill’s kindergarten this spring, but he will not be attending in August. As a longtime Claremont resident with a physician spouse, I long assumed that attending Foothill would be the best choice for my child. After all, Foothill is expensive, and higher prices always imply better quality, right? Wrong. During my wife’s and my tour of Foothill with a very friendly current parent, we noticed that a child in the kindergarten classroom was sitting in the corner while the teacher taught the rest of class! When I asked the father giving us the tour what was going on, he just rolled his eyes, as if to say, “You weren’t supposed to see that on this tour.” But later in the spring, when I had a chance to ask the teacher herself what had been going on, she explained that the child was being made to miss that day’s language arts lesson as punishment for answering a question without raising his hand. I’m a firm believer in teaching children respect and manners, but, I’m sorry, but that Kind of draconian response to a five year-old just trying to participate in class is excessive and wrong-headed. In my opinion, humiliating a first-time student just for trying to participate in class seems like a perfect recipe for producing quiet but unenthusiastic students – not confident lifelong learners. Unfortunately, the principal permits such punishments to continue, so I guess that’s precisely what he wants to do.

Foothill Country Day School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
No! Frightening five-year olds in their first year of school from answering questions in class is precisely the opposite of what it takes to develop determination in students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Foothill Country Day School
1035 Harrison Avenue, Claremont, CA  91711
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (909) 626-5681
Last modified Foothill Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top