Advertisement
Advertisement

Western Christian School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Claremont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $420,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,490.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2013

This is an AMAZING school. We wish we would have found this school when our son was in KG. Our son will stay with the Western Christian system throughout HS graduation. The teachers and staff are caring and truly do a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2012

Our daughter attended Western Christian for one year when she was two years-old. Then we moved to a different school, Children's School in Claremont, which we subsequently left also. Having now tried three preschools in Claremont, I fell qualified to stated that Western Christian is an excellent choice for multiple reasons. Strong learning environment, NO BULLYING, and most importantly a very child-centered loving environment. I appreciate the time our family spent there now more than ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

I transferred my daughter to WC this year after being disappointed by the public school she was in. The campus is beautiful, the students are intelligent, polite, and well-spoken. The faculty and staff are passionate about their calling. From the moment we set foot on campus we have been whole-heartedly embraced by the WC community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

I have two children at Western and we love the school. The teachers are outstanding. They care and they are good at what they do and it shows. My kids are developing academically, socially (what a great peer group!), emotionally and spiritually. And I love the music, PE, art and other extracurriculars. My kids feel very connected to this community and all the children here seem to treat each other with kindness. It's a great place. Our only suggestion would be for better planning, advance notice and communication regarding the calendar, extracurricular activities and events. But that is minor compared to the all the great things about this loving Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Western Christian is a safe haven for my daughter. I still am transformed when I am on campus. It's truly breathtaking. The love and caring Christian attitude make this a school 10! We are Western Christian Fans for like. God Bless You in searching for a safe, Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

I love my school. It rocks. They have great teachers . The school is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2006

WCS has been a great experience for our family. My child has received a very good education. The staff and students are terrific. The campus is gorgeous. My only concern is the increasing tuition it has gone up gradually through out the time we have been there and I am wondering when it will top out. Other than tuition concerns I rate Western a 9.9 out of 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

The teachers at western christian are excellent and are truly devoted to the children and their mental, emotional and spiritual growth. I am happy with the school and the involvement of the parents which play a big part. The school grounds are very nice and give it an atmosphere of a Mayberry town. The extra curricular activites need some growth but certain subjects are available. They have sports, music, art and computers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 47%
Hispanic 25%
Asian 18%
Black 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3105 Padua Avenue
Claremont, CA 91711
Phone: (909) 624-8291

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT