Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mt. Diablo Elementary School 2

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
The housing market is cheaper in Clayton, but be warned, it comes with a price if you have kids. We now understand why so many of our friends send their children to private schools in the area.

Mt. Diablo Elementary School 4

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attended Mt. Diablo Elementary from 2nd grade through 5th grade. I feel like there are some teachers that are significantly better than others. Many of the parents there are VERY involved and very vocal. Consequently, their children were assigned to better teachers. My daughter, however, did very well here and is now getting straight A's in middle school. I feel she was well prepared and made a nice easy transition to Diablo View regardless of the teacher situation. I personally have not seen the bullying that other parents have referred to, but as with any school, I suspect some of these issues are kept between the parents of the children involved.


Mt. Diablo Elementary School 2

Posted December 29, 2014
- a parent
Teachers below average and there is a bullying problem. Children are poorly supervised. Don't see how this school is rated a ten?

Mt. Diablo Elementary School 3

Posted March 07, 2012
- a parent
My children have attended this school for almost 2 yrs. We are a military family, so we have experienced different public schools for the last 6 yrs. My children are presently in 3rd and 5th grade. Mrs. Keanan, the principle started at the school the same year that we did. I am very impressed with her, and her leadership. One of the first things she did was take out the sugary milk out of the cafeteria. A small change to make things healthier! . As far as academics, I think this school is average. California is in crisis when it comes to the money spent on education. This school district has no money, and the schools are suffering. If it not for the parent involvement, and constant fund raising, this school would be in real trouble. The class sizes are way too high. My kids classes have 32 students. Impossible for the teacher to focus on any individual student. Luckily, my kids do not have any problems with academics, so they have done alright. My fear is that when we leave here to go our next assignment, they will behind their peers. So, all in all, this is a "better than average" public school for California, but is that really saying much?

Mt. Diablo Elementary School 4

Posted May 02, 2011
- a parent
Looking to move in the area. Any new reviews would be great! How is the bullying issue? Thank you


Mt. Diablo Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2010
- a parent
We have high quality teachers, who care very deeply about educating their students and are willing to work hard to ensure their high standards are achieved. We have amazing parent involvement and willingness to donate time and money to help our school. We are getting a new principal, so I'm not sure how to rate that, but I hope we will get a good leader and communicator.

Mt. Diablo Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
The teachers here are great! My kids score in the top 1% nationally and this has much to do with the high quality of education provided.

Mt. Diablo Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
My child had substantial bullying issues at this school, but perhaps that is because it was a school-wide problem, there is virtually no diversity of races nor tolerance of what little diversity there is. I agree that parent involvement is high and that is nice but it borders on 'chummy' which seems less academic and more about popularity, which is seems of great importance to this small, even sheltered town. The culture of the school is lacking an identity in the worst way. My child is a high performing student and has only been recently challenged after years at this school...we personally cannot wait to leave this school.


Mt. Diablo Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
The parental involvement here and the PFC is the best. With them this school is one of the best in the district - actually, it is the best.

Mt. Diablo Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
It's the little school on the hill all grown up! It is now a large elementary but retains the small town feel. Our community really supports the school and the teachers are great.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mt. Diablo Elementary School
5880 Mount Zion Drive, Clayton, CA  94517-1114
(925) 672-4840
Last modified Mt. Diablo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mt. Diablo Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top