Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Clovis, CA
Students enrolled: 740

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
This school is great. Great Teachers and Students. The activities are good, they are focused on academics and that is what matters to my family. I don't know why there are a few bad reviews here probably parents who have children that did not get their way. I have two children here and they love this school, there never has been a problem for us even if my kids sometime do not get their way.

Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing, my son is in 2nd grade and he loves going to school. The teachers are wonderful and very involved.


Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
Love love this school! Love Mrs Smith- she knows all the kids personally. Mrs. Gonzales is so wonderful she really should be nominated for the district teacher of the year award! She is so kind and really loves her students. I love how the school pushes the kids to exceed. Go Woods!!

Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School 1

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
The Principle of this school is only interested in students who need no additional help and looks to ignore students with the hope that they will leave thus helping her overall scores. Crowding in the classroom has also been an issue as student fight for attention and only the stong survive.

Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School 1

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
We cannot wait to get out of the Woods! The parking lot during the drop-off & pick-up times is a nightmare. Clovis PD even drops by occasionally to make it worse. For a school where "character counts" yelling at the students by their teachers and yard duty staff is allowed. Clearly, respect is something that is expected and not given. How this school receives 10 out of 10 rating is puzzling when so many other parents and teachers are not happy.


Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School 1

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
The principal, a smarmy former cheerleader walks around in age inappropriate clothing insisting that you refer to her as Doctor and is condescending to everyone. Her primary concern is NOT the education of her students but in more ways to acquire more and more Federal Funding and goodies. The school's Curriculum is also very questionable. What benefit is it to try and ram down the throat of 5th and 6th grade students the very difficult subjects of Algebra and Statistics? And then have some teachers make students feel bad about not having assimilated it. Folks, save yourself some headache, avoid Woods... and it's Principal.

Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2012
- a community member
Wonderful staff, fun, engaging experiences for the students, and a lovely principal who sets high standards for all who are fortunate enough to attend Woods. Suzanne, the office manager, always has a smile and a warm greeting for the children, parents, and staff.

Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
Great school!! Great parents!! Great staff!!! I couldn't be more pleased with this school! My kids are so happy and I am happy as a parent!


Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
My child has a learning disability and the teachers at Woods have helped her to greatly improve her reading and math skills. The extra curricular activities are outstanding. I am very impressed with this school compared to one in another district, where she was for several years. Most importantly, she likes school.

Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
My son Akul Saini is a second grader, he has already achieved more than 100 AR points and has completed his division. He is very fond of his teacher Mr Robert Watson who is a role model for Akul. This year he went with us and actually did snorkeling which he wouldn't do few months ago and we as parents attribute it to the encouragement that he gets in his class and school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School
700 Teague Avenue, Clovis, CA  93619
(559) 327-8800
Last modified Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woods (Harold L.) Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top