Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Charlie Keyan Armenian Community School

Private | PK-6 | 96 students

Our school is best known for its excellent instruction in a caring environment

 

Living in Clovis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $122,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2012

We are so lucky to have this school in our community. The teachers are excellent and the kids love going to school. They get a fantastic education in small classes, music lessons, poetry reading, sports, drama and more........ they have it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

The teachers really care about our kids and are teaching the common core standards in innovative ways!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 6, 2009

It's a family as much as a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Our school provides a loving and caring environment. The teachers provide a caring environment. It is the goal of our school to help every child learn, grow, and succeed. The students come first, now and always!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Lots of personal attention is given to all are children in a very loving and caring way. We have been very happy with the school, and our kids love going to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Although our family is not Armenian, we chose this school because it's clear how much the administration and teachers truly love the children. Every decision they make is guided by what is best for the children. It's amazing to see how the Armenian community dedicates itself to keeping this beautiful culture alive through teaching their values and language to the next generation. We've been very happy with the education our children have received at this school and would highly recommend it for anybody looking for a first-rate education. Originally, we had our children at a far more expensive private school in Fresno, and the Armenian school has turned out to be superior in every way - even down to the smallest details, including fresh, healthy, made-from-scratch school lunches - and even including a museum room at the school with Armenian artifacts on display at the kids' eye level. The teachers and community volunteers work so hard at giving the kids the very best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I am very proud of Armenian Community school. I have two kids who attended that school and have wonderful teachers and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

It is a unique school that is teaching Armenian children their language, religion, and all educational needs necessary for living in America.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I love the way the teacher take the time to show the students their lessons that will stay with them for life.


Posted November 5, 2009

Great school and location, highly recommended to all children, Armenian or non-Armenian.


Posted November 5, 2009

parents are 100% involved, leaving no chance for outside negative influence on the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

It's just fantastic! They enrich the lives of the children and the community!


Posted November 5, 2009

The teaching staff provides excellent individual attention. It truly reflects a community feel as children, family, staff and teachers all work together to provide a same and exciting learning experience for the kids. They also offer a variety of unique learning and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Best private school in Fresno, CA. The teachers are the best and provide loving home-like environment at the same time educating our young ones. I can't wait to take my son there.


Posted November 5, 2009

The teachers are fantastic! The students work hard, and really enjoy attending this school. I am blessed to have my children there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

As a small private school it provides a quality learning environment for all students and it is one of the best schools in the central San Juaquin Valley that should not be overlooked. Check out their web site.


Posted November 5, 2009

Our school provides an opportunity for each child to have the highest quality learning environment with the dedicated teachers and staff. The small class sizes enable the teachers and students to have a closer bond and individualized needs are met. Each child feels special. These students also have the opportunity to learn about their Armenian heritage through reading, writing and music.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Great school with great students and lots of active parenting too!


Posted November 5, 2009

The small class sizes give the teachers the opportunity to provide a high quality and creative learning environment for the students. The children love going to school where they feel nurtured and are constantly recognized when they achieve. The teachers and staff work very hard to see that every child's individualized needs are met. The studens spend and hour each day learning to read, write and speak Armenian which will prepare them to learn other languages in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Our school is awesome! They provide a peaceful atmosphere where the kids are enabled to discover their talents, including music, art, computers, etc. I appreciate that the teachers have the freedom to provide individualized attention to each child. The people of the school feel like part of our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Armenian
Foreign languages taught
  • Armenian

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Zar Der Mugrdechian
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (559) 323-1959

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Armenian
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Armenian

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Softball
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
96
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
100

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Alta Sierra Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

108 North Villa
Clovis, CA 93612
Website: Click here
Phone: (559) 323-1955

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT