Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Clovis, CA
Students enrolled: 758

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cole Elementary School 1

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
Principal at Cole lacks leadership ability. He is very 'PC[ when dealing w/parents in person, yet passive aggressive once parents have left his office. He tends to let his wife play a big role in the decision making at Cole. Favoritism runs rampant at Cole by most of the staff. Principal tends to favor his wife's friends by giving them all volunteer positions yr after yr while others parents have asked to be involved, yet never allowed. Principal is controlling & even did away w/the Parent Teacher Club & started his own "Foundation" to which he hand selects the volunteers & HE determines what items will be purchased w/the money rec'd from fundraising. The sports at Cole are laughable, w/the exception of a very few coaches, most are there for a paycheck & nothing more. The teachers are hit & miss as far as quality goes. Some appear to be lazy w/curriculum & will use a pre-printed flyer as homework & will use the grade in various subjects to make it look like they actually taught more subjects than they did! It's no wonder the principal pulled his own kids out of Cole to be home schooled. Not a bad idea. The ladies in the front office are gossipers so watch out what you say.

Cole Elementary School 2

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
Used to love Cole, not anymore. It currently has very weak admin who allow staff to run school. Almost all the teachers at the upper-grade level have lost compassion for teaching. Standards have dropped & principal is too 'PC' & too weak of a leader to stand up for our kids. He continues to send the msg to parents that it will not do any good to voice concerns because he will not hold teachers accountable. Parents have given up. MANY have asked to volunteer & NEVER been called. There is no longer a PTC. The principal dissolved it. He now runs a 'Foundation' where he decides how $ is spent. He decides who volunteers (his favs). He makes all the decisions. He also monitors comments by parents on FB about Cole & shares it w/his staff. And, W/O parent's knowledge, he will act on the parent's FB comments. Cole has a diverse culture which they wholeheartedly support. Most of the sports are severely lacking in coaching ability but no one cares. Football coach does a great job. Favoritism is practiced blatantly, especially if you're FB friends w/the teachers or friends w/the principal's wife. Confidentiality is a concern at Cole as the teachers are very friendly with parents.


Cole Elementary School 2

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
I use to speak highly of Cole Eementary until this school year. My child' has asked my the teacher is always gone. Come to find out, the teacher is gone thee days out of the week almost every week since school began. How is a child going to learn and retain his or her material with an inconsistent teacher? Definitely one of the faults at Cole. People speak highly of Cole and that they don't allow parents to choose their child's teachers but it's not the case in addition to the inconstancy I of some teachers. A parent volunteer that is invovled with volenteering a lot was given an opportunity to request her top two teachers for her child in Aug. 2015.. The same for the other staff members. That alone displays Cole's ability to falsify information but publish otherwise in their paw prints. You make your own conclusion about Cole but I just want to share my personally experience for the parents that are looking for a honest and dedicated staff.

Cole Elementary School 4

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school with a very stable teaching staff who put children first. Although the principal and learning director have changed frequently over the years, the teachers and administrative staff have been mostly the same for the last decade. Very stable school with lots of extracurricular activities.

Cole Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
I have to say we're pretty pleased here. As with all Clovis schools, the curriculum is intense and they don't screw around. Having said that, Cole offers some cultural diversity you won't see at some other campuses. Parents aren't 'overly' involved here like we saw at another elementary location up the road. While participation is necessary for success anywhere, no school needs a non-working parent constantly disrupting the teaching process. I want administrators and teachers running my school, not Suzy Homemaker. No offense, ladies, but let's be honest... it happens. One parent review here griped about no assistance... and that parent needs to look into the SST (student study program). Clovis schools live for tax dollars so your kids' performance (e.g. test scores) is first priority. Well, that and sports. ;-)


Cole Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
Overall this school is great, and it works out better when parents are involved and know whats going on. Don't be afraid to question everything. And remember as with any school not all teachers are awesome and helpful. Since this school does not allow you to pick your child's teacher, just hope you have luck on your side. Now, if you have lots of extra time to dedicate to your child's success then any teacher will do.

Cole Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
After experiencing other school districts (Tulare and Visalia) I couldn't be happier. I have a 1st grader and a 4th grade student. Both have excellent teachers who have given them a lot of extra attention if needed. I tend to disagree with the previous review. My 4th grader has an awesome teacher who is great with communicating with me. Either through e-mail or phone call. His class size is 29 students and all of them seem to get enough attention. My 1st grader has struggled, and thankfully his struggles have not been ignored like they were in Visalia. He has received a lot of one on one time, and I have been in constant contact with his teacher. The curriculum is tough, but the students are encouraged to work hard and have fun. This is an awesome school and I honestly don't want to move because I love it so much.

Cole Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cole Elementary School 3

Posted February 20, 2009
- a parent
I think this school is an average public school in California. It's not great and it's not bad. Just like a lot of public schools in California, up to 3rd grade the school is great. Then once 4th grade rolls around it's not so great. The classes sizes are above 40 in most cases and the teachers CAN'T give 40 kids the attention they need. They don't offer ANY pull-out programs for children who fall behind in the class. Unless your child qualifies for a 'special ed' type program you are on your own to help your child. No title or chapter programs are offered or funded during the school day. The teachers are rushing to get all the items covered in the year and it doesn't matter if half the class hasn't mastered the skills. They will just keep taking the same test until they get the required grade.

Cole Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
My son is doing extremely well compared to other schools he's been in. The teachers here know how to handle energetic kids for sure.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cole Elementary School
615 West Stuart Avenue, Clovis, CA  93612
(559) 327-6200
Last modified Cole Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cole Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top