Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Clovis, CA
Students enrolled: 645
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gettysburg Elementary School 1

Posted March 14, 2015
- a parent
This school has gone from great to poor in the last 3 years. I've been waiting on the ridiculous transfer protocols set by Clovis Unified. There are some teachers there that do not care about the kids, do not help foster and guide kids toward succeeding. Students are not motivated to learn the "old" traditional way of seat work when students should be embracing common core. The teacher and administrator take no ownership or responsibility to help students succeed. They blame it back on the students and parents. When parents reach out, they are not supportive. I can't wait to get my child out of this school!!!

Gettysburg Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a teacher
I LOVE working at Gettysburg where all students and staff reach for the STARS!


Gettysburg Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Gettysburg Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2009
- a parent
Great school. Incredible sports and academics!

Gettysburg Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2008
- a parent
Incredible school. Terrific academics. Solid extracurricular offerings. 19-20 kids in each 1st grade class this year ('07-'08). Great administration. No wonder the school is nationally recognized. Has history of Getty graduates doing extremely well in middle school and beyond. Terrifically diverse student body. Couldn't expect anything more! Go Generals! Purple Pride!!


Gettysburg Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2007
- a parent
2007 National Blue Ribbon winner. Excellent parent participation, teacher enthusiasm towards extra-curricular activities. Overall, a very well-rounded school.

Gettysburg Elementary School 3

Posted January 31, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Gettysburg Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2006
- a parent
Gettysburg provides a great education and the teachers are veterans that love children. The office staff is experienced and helpful. I'm glad my kids attend Gettysburg...and I'm an elementary teacher from another district!


Gettysburg Elementary School 2

Posted November 20, 2005
- a parent
I have three children who have attended this school. Strengths are leadership and strong basic education. Gettysburg's academics are test-driven, but adequate. My two older kids were well prepared for upper grade work. The music program is great, but not everyone is allowed to participate. Art is minimal. The teachers are overworked. Class size--my child tells me there are 39 kids in her fifth grade class. I believe all the 4 - 6 grade classrooms have over 35 students. Leadership is a strength in CUSD. The problem areas I see are: 1) critical thinking skills, 2) writing is somewhat neglected, as it is only state-tested in 4th grade, 3) class size in 4 - 6th, 4) special education.

Gettysburg Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2005
- a parent
I have a child who has attended Gettysburg Elementary School for the past 4 years. He continues to be challenged as well as encouraged. I couldn't ask for anything better.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gettysburg Elementary School
2100 Gettysburg Avenue, Clovis, CA  93611
(559) 327-6900
Last modified Gettysburg Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gettysburg Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top