Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coalinga High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 12, 2016
- a community member
Thanks to the teacher who tried to warn me about the way the school was, and the teacher who went out of his way to mentor me through what was a very difficult assignment. I am back where I belonged.

Coalinga High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted February 12, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are why it is so. It is so because of the good teachers.


Coalinga High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 03, 2015
- a student
Only to Those who are favored like kids of the staff members care to disagree look into it your self.

Coalinga High School 2

Posted June 12, 2014
- a student
This school is very small and because of it there are many clicks and there is no diversity it is all a popularity contest that staff buy into. Since this is the only high school in Coalinga students do not have many options.

Coalinga High School 5

Posted July 30, 2010
- a community member
I love this school! The teachers really care about their students even ones that fail. The teachers and other staff are really helpful. You fail a test go in after school and they will go over it with you so you do learn it. Then they are overly special teachers you get close to and you can show up to class crying because of stuff that has happend that day and they will take the time to help you though it. The counselor's are great they help you with everything from switching you to classes you need, and making sure you have everything you need to graduate, and if they know you want to go to a four year college they will plan your schedule on that. Everyone is so great there principals, office staff, counselor's, teachers and everyone. The high school is like one huge happy family!


Coalinga High School 1

Posted October 22, 2008
- a student
Although a tight knit community may seem the most appropriate place to raise a child, the truth is otherwise at CHS. With everyone knowing everybody, it hardly leaves one room to breath and nothing is kept hidden from the public. The teachers vary in quality; some very caring and involved with the student's education, while others are very blase about it all. The principal and the administration are very passionate about a select group of students and a lot of segregation goes on without notice. If you happen to get along with the difficult employees at this school, then its the perfect place for you.

Coalinga High School 1

Posted November 27, 2007
- a parent
What few classes they offer for electives were full, so my child was stuck in an elective she didn't even want. She couldn't change any of her classes around to take more of what she needed because the teachers were already maxed out on their number of students per their contracts.

Coalinga High School 5

Posted August 13, 2007
- a student
This is an awesome school where the students and faculty act more as a family rather than just students and teachers!


Coalinga High School 5

Posted May 09, 2007
- a parent
Good, small school. Nice community and a great principal.

Coalinga High School 5

Posted May 08, 2007
- a student
This school is a tiny town known as Coalinga. Coalinga is a small place, which explains why everyone here is so tight. What I mean is, everyone in this school knows everyone else. It's like we're all one big family. If anyone has a problem, someone's there to help! Whether it be with grades, or anything at all. I know because currently I am a Senior here. I know there's a great staff, with a great Principal who cares about all of us. Whoever comes here if lucky because we also have off campus lunch and a brunch too. Plus, it's really easy to make some friends and pick out extra curricular activities like Salsa Dancing, Drama, Journalism/Video productions, or band. I know if you or your student went to this school, they would love it here because of the feeling of caring all around.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coalinga High School
750 Van Ness Avenue, Coalinga, CA  93210-1541
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (559) 935-7520
Last modified Coalinga High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top