Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Coalinga, CA
Students enrolled: 1,105
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Coalinga High School 2

Posted June 12, 2014
- a student
This school is very small and because of it there are many clicks and there is no diversity it is all a popularity contest that staff buy into. Since this is the only high school in Coalinga students do not have many options.

Coalinga High School 5

Posted July 30, 2010
- a community member
I love this school! The teachers really care about their students even ones that fail. The teachers and other staff are really helpful. You fail a test go in after school and they will go over it with you so you do learn it. Then they are overly special teachers you get close to and you can show up to class crying because of stuff that has happend that day and they will take the time to help you though it. The counselor's are great they help you with everything from switching you to classes you need, and making sure you have everything you need to graduate, and if they know you want to go to a four year college they will plan your schedule on that. Everyone is so great there principals, office staff, counselor's, teachers and everyone. The high school is like one huge happy family!


Coalinga High School 1

Posted March 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Coalinga High School 1

Posted October 22, 2008
- a student
Although a tight knit community may seem the most appropriate place to raise a child, the truth is otherwise at CHS. With everyone knowing everybody, it hardly leaves one room to breath and nothing is kept hidden from the public. The teachers vary in quality; some very caring and involved with the student's education, while others are very blase about it all. The principal and the administration are very passionate about a select group of students and a lot of segregation goes on without notice. If you happen to get along with the difficult employees at this school, then its the perfect place for you.

Coalinga High School 1

Posted November 27, 2007
- a parent
What few classes they offer for electives were full, so my child was stuck in an elective she didn't even want. She couldn't change any of her classes around to take more of what she needed because the teachers were already maxed out on their number of students per their contracts.


Coalinga High School 5

Posted August 13, 2007
- a student
This is an awesome school where the students and faculty act more as a family rather than just students and teachers!

Coalinga High School 5

Posted May 09, 2007
- a parent
Good, small school. Nice community and a great principal.

Coalinga High School 5

Posted May 08, 2007
- a student
This school is a tiny town known as Coalinga. Coalinga is a small place, which explains why everyone here is so tight. What I mean is, everyone in this school knows everyone else. It's like we're all one big family. If anyone has a problem, someone's there to help! Whether it be with grades, or anything at all. I know because currently I am a Senior here. I know there's a great staff, with a great Principal who cares about all of us. Whoever comes here if lucky because we also have off campus lunch and a brunch too. Plus, it's really easy to make some friends and pick out extra curricular activities like Salsa Dancing, Drama, Journalism/Video productions, or band. I know if you or your student went to this school, they would love it here because of the feeling of caring all around.


Coalinga High School 5

Posted June 08, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Coalinga High School 4

Posted August 20, 2004
- a parent
Coalinga still has a small school feel that we have come to love. Our principal, Mr. Campbell is the best.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coalinga High School
750 Van Ness Avenue, Coalinga, CA  93210
(559) 935-7520
Last modified Coalinga High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coalinga High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top