Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clinton, William Jefferson School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

This school is broken. Do not always believe things you see. KNOW facts and speak to teachers and other staff who will tell you honest answers about the lack of support and poor progress of students. Sadly I decided to remove my children from Clinton. Great teachers, yes! Excellent teaching practices, yes! Pride in the community, yes! Positive relationship with administration, NO! Respect from principal and assistant principal, NO! Are select individuals on campus given special treatment, YES! All is not fair. All are not treated equally. I am saddened that two principals cannot support their staff and develop better relationships. Teachers cannot be happy and motivated to teach when they are not supported. This is another reason why African American parents are removing their children. ONE group is getting all perks and treated like royalty. The rest of kids are being set up to fail. I am disappointed. Thank goodness Paramount is very near home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

My school is great . But we need to help it . It has great teachers .


Posted March 23, 2014

My kids have access to a lot of technology. Teachers get training to better help our kids learn. Our school has new computers in classrooms, new computer labs, a soccer field and after school program that works with kids to 6:00pm. Principal is available to parents and highly visible. She has monthly coffee and parent trainings to show us that we are a part of the school community. Dr. White believes in our kids and wants to protect their learning which is why she pushed for our school to become a k-8 school. Everyone that I know with kids in Clinton love it and all of the recent changes seem great for our kids and their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2012

My child will be entering first grade next year and thank to Ms. Levy she is more prepared than ever! The staff is friendly, and as far as I can see Ms. levy is what every teacher to try to be like! She is very concerned and dedicated to ALL students. Thank you Ms. Levy. My wife and I thank you. Also Our daughter loves you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2011

The principal here is bad. She is rude and doesn't have support for parents. She wouldn't let us to meet the teachers on the first day of school. I never experienced this. Then we got talked to like kids and put off the school campus. Don't send your kids here. Mrs. Roberts was much better for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

The academic process seems to be ok for now. It doesn't appear to be a lot of building relationships between the teachers and parents like stated at the beginning of the school year of 2010.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

The teachers at this school really care about the kids and give them their all. All three of my children have gone to this school and left Clinton prepared for middle school. I will miss this community of teachers and would like to thank Ms. Spears, Mrs. Estrada, Mrs. Delarosa Ms. Garrett and all the fifth grade teachers! Thank you from the bottom of my heart
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

To the parent that wrote on June 17, 2011, I want to express my gratitude for that nice statement about my colleagues and I. Your statement is very encouraging and I am sure that we will continue to dedicate ourselves to our students so they can receive and achieve a good education. Thank you, Mrs. Rojas!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 20, 2011

My Son was in Preschool until 4th grade in general Education the Teachers are wonderful the tutors are great My son who is now in 2nd grade had to be retained due to lack of instruction in Math, reading and writing, the only way I was able to have my son included in general education this year in 2011 is by hiring an attorney because the staff is so against students with special needs being Mainstreamed in general ed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

Prior to this school year I seriously contemplated taking all 3 of my children out of the school. It has always been an ok school. Now there is a new principal who is positive, friendly, loves kids, encourages parents, passes out food and clothes to some of us who need help and I can go on and on. Dr. White is a blessing. Even the teachers are happier and more kind toward kids and parents. Dr. White's positive presence has helped kids learn more because she knows how to get the best out of people. I checked up on her when I met her from the school she came from. The teachers and parents all said they wish they still had her. They said she helped them see that they could teach better and get kids to learn an they did. Their scores went up a whole lot. I hope she stays around and continues to help kids learn and develop into good people. Clinton teachers seem better and more motivated. They look professional and are good role models for kids. Ms Rojas is one of the best along with Mr. Clark, Ms Walker, Ms. Spears, Ms. Levy, Ms. Nunez, Ms. Bogart, Mr. Igbo, Ms Estrada, Ms. Monroy, and also the new vice principal Mr. Lira. Probably because they have a young smart principal Dr. White
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

My daughter had a great kindergarten teacher who pushed her hard and was consistent with rules, homework and procedures. She is a great teacher overall and I heard positive things from my child about the rest of them as well. However, first grade level needs work. I would like to see more consistency with thier class and home work. The school is under new leadership but no noticeable changes. The office staff is often rude and not very helpful. They make me as a parent dread having to visit the campus or approach the office. Actually, I can always count on the principal greeting with me a smile unlike the rest of the office staff. It's a beautiful well kept campus that makes it welcoming for children to come learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

I like clinton for my kids. Its best in the area. Teachers care and involve kids in learning. Tutoring helps kids learn more and get higher grades and test. Everyone is respectful speaks nice and involves parents when they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

Clinton goes above and beyond to ensure the children have the top resources and quality education. Our son's teacher goes above and beyond to ensure us he is focused and on the right track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

Clinton is a great place to learn and work. Clinton is a student centered academic environment where the needs of the students come first. Our goal at Clinton is that every child reaches his/her potential and achieve academic success. We also believe in making sure that each child, within our abilitiy, basic needs are met, food, shelter, belonging, and love. We also strive to bring out/expose each child's God-given gift and to acknowledge those gifts and talents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2009

Clinton Elementary has an amazing staff: teachers, instructional assistants, plant workers, cafeteria, security and our office staff. We all have high expectations for our students to achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Best Teachers, Best Principal, Best Staff! The school is like a family, they support and care about each other.The students are encouraged to always try their best and reach for the stars!


Posted June 9, 2009

my son started k1 I'm really happy with his teacher and him. he has learned so much. thank u miss spears. You're doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

I am happy with everything at Clinton Elementary school except the discipline policy. My child has been there for 3 years with no complaints. Some teachers are strict but I know it is in my child's best interest. There is no consequences to poor behavior so the teachers have to stay on top of the misbehaving students who don't do work. I sit in on many of my child's classes and I see kids talk back and get disrespectful. When I talk to their mothers, they like to blame the teacher for their child's problems. If everyone would work together, this school will continue to be great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

I m completely disappointed with Clinton Elementary. I have had problems with both staff and teachers there. Education is not a priority at Clinton Elementary and justifying the teachers misconducts by staff is completely unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

The test scores are out to prove that Clinton Elementary is on the right track. My daughter will be attending the fourth grade this year and we are looking forward to breaking more Compton Unified School District records. Clinton s third grades were outstanding in the following areas: Language Arts and Math. Their scores were above the states average percentage. Great job Clinton staff and all involved parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

817

Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

817

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females65%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate51%
Parent education - high school graduate66%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students75%
Females79%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate70%
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females51%
Males31%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state35%

Math

All Students73%
Females76%
Males70%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner69%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate79%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females55%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state67%

Math

All Students84%
Females86%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner77%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate78%
Parent education - high school graduate87%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females51%
Males39%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females86%
Males64%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate76%
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students49%
Females58%
Males39%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented76%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 92%
Black 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
English language learners 53%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kanika White
Fax number
  • (310) 630-7914

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 Compton Boulevard
Compton, CA 90221
Phone: (562) 630-7912

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mark Keppel School
Paramount, CA


Children R Us School
East Rancho Dominguez, CA



Children R Us
Compton, CA


Los Cerritos School
Paramount, CA


Howard Tanner School
Paramount, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT