Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

946 students|Compton Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Clinton, William Jefferson School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
I am so very proud that my kids can attend Clinton. The principal Dr. White is always interacting with the kids and make herself available when parents need her too. She is always smiling and seems very high energy. I watched her standing after school yesterday waving to the kids in every single school bus as the buses left to take the kids home. It was the most kind thing I have ever seen a principal do! Wish I had a principal like her when I was in school. I had to tell my wife about it because it says a whole lot about how much she loves her students and the work she does. The teachers are very serious about learning and try hard to make sure students do well. I wish more parents could volunteer. It makes me sad to read a complaint because I know those people probably don't know much about the school and probably never gives effort to get involved positively. It's not just the teachers or principals responsibility but all of our job to raise and educate our kids. Some people want the school to do everything. Our kids do well because we work positively with the school and stay involved. We love it here and are so happy that the principal took a risk to get the school changed to go to 8th grade. Now our kids can stay in this good place longer and continue to learn and thrive. Did I mention that the school has a technology focus which my kids are always talking about.

Clinton, William Jefferson School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
The kids talk about something like pbis and how they learn things to make them good people toward others


Clinton, William Jefferson School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
She is a wonderful person and shows that she cares deeply about the kids. She wants them to learn and do very good in their life.

Clinton, William Jefferson School 2

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
This school is broken. Do not always believe things you see. KNOW facts and speak to teachers and other staff who will tell you honest answers about the lack of support and poor progress of students. Sadly I decided to remove my children from Clinton. Great teachers, yes! Excellent teaching practices, yes! Pride in the community, yes! Positive relationship with administration, NO! Respect from principal and assistant principal, NO! Are select individuals on campus given special treatment, YES! All is not fair. All are not treated equally. I am saddened that two principals cannot support their staff and develop better relationships. Teachers cannot be happy and motivated to teach when they are not supported. This is another reason why African American parents are removing their children. ONE group is getting all perks and treated like royalty. The rest of kids are being set up to fail. I am disappointed. Thank goodness Paramount is very near home.

Clinton, William Jefferson School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
My school is great . But we need to help it . It has great teachers .


Clinton, William Jefferson School 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
My kids have access to a lot of technology. Teachers get training to better help our kids learn. Our school has new computers in classrooms, new computer labs, a soccer field and after school program that works with kids to 6:00pm. Principal is available to parents and highly visible. She has monthly coffee and parent trainings to show us that we are a part of the school community. Dr. White believes in our kids and wants to protect their learning which is why she pushed for our school to become a k-8 school. Everyone that I know with kids in Clinton love it and all of the recent changes seem great for our kids and their future.

Clinton, William Jefferson School 1

Posted December 15, 2012
- a parent
Bad bad bad principal! She is not what a principal should be. The vice principal is bad too. You never see them around school. They play favorite to some parents than change the rules that don't apply to all. She is fake. My kids don't like her and teachers say they don't like her too. She does not care about the kids and treats them like a military camp. I'm removing my kids from the school after winter break.

Clinton, William Jefferson School 5

Posted July 21, 2012
- a parent
My child will be entering first grade next year and thank to Ms. Levy she is more prepared than ever! The staff is friendly, and as far as I can see Ms. levy is what every teacher to try to be like! She is very concerned and dedicated to ALL students. Thank you Ms. Levy. My wife and I thank you. Also Our daughter loves you!


Clinton, William Jefferson School 2

Posted September 03, 2011
- a parent
The principal here is bad. She is rude and doesn't have support for parents. She wouldn't let us to meet the teachers on the first day of school. I never experienced this. Then we got talked to like kids and put off the school campus. Don't send your kids here. Mrs. Roberts was much better for the kids.

Clinton, William Jefferson School 3

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
The academic process seems to be ok for now. It doesn't appear to be a lot of building relationships between the teachers and parents like stated at the beginning of the school year of 2010.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clinton, William Jefferson School
6500 Compton Boulevard, Compton, CA  90221-3181
(562) 630-7912
Last modified Clinton, William Jefferson School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clinton, William Jefferson School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top