Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wonderland Angels Early Learning Center

Private | K | 32 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Compton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2010

My daughter has been at Wonderland since the age of two years old. She is now four. I only heard about how wonderful this school was and how thier child was so ready for public school. I have to say they are not really there to meet the needs of the children. Some or should I say majority of the new staff there are so very rud, and only there to get a pay check. Every year they always hold this new student orientation for new and returning students, but what I dont understand is the fees. They are outright unfounded. Everytime there is a fund raiser the order is incomplete or it's past the deadline that the school has set. My question to the staff, 'Is there something that us parent need to be aware of ? '
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

The School has taken a turn for the worst. After the new owner came aboard tuition continues to increase and the removal or lose of good teachers are steadily increasing. Fundraisers are ridiculous parents went from paying $400.00 to $800.00 to opt out. This school has truely became more and more about the money and less about the childrens education. For the few good teachers left we appreciate you even though you can hardly take any time off. It's unfortunate that it has come down to parents pulling there child out after the school year especially, since I've heard a lot of good things about Wonderland Angels when the previous owners were there. But, when a parent wants the best for their child they have to find the best school and Wonderland was once the best but not anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

I love this school! Thet have wonderful caring teachers and excellent activities for the kids. My daughter has homework everyday-and i love it! She is learning so much at 4 years old!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

I absolutely love this school. I have two daughters there and have experienced wonderful, professional teachers and staff, as well as, a wonderful education for my girls. This school was recommended by other teachers that I work with and all of their children had attended this school, as well. I recommend it to all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

My daughter graduated from Wonderland Angels last year. Tiera attended WA for 4 1/2 years, during that time she excelled academically and socially. The teachers and staff at WA take a genuine interest in the children they teach and their future. My daughter is in first grade now and is performing the work of a 2nd or 3rd grader. Thank you to Wonderland Angels for laying such a solid foundation. Keep up the good work!! Mr. & Mrs. Ross.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

This school is AWESOME! This is my daughters 2nd year at (WA) and she is steadily learning and excelling. As a parent I couldn't ask for more. This is her last year and I sadly say that, because not very often will you find a school or staff that gives so much time, love and support to you and you're child. if or when I do have more children, (WA) will be my school of choice. They say that it takes a village to raise a child and my village of choice is and always will be WONDERLAND ANGELS! Genia & Alexis WATSON
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2007

This is a great school. Well organized, the staff is very helpful, and my daughter is learning so much at such a young age. She is learning almost the same things in Pre K that my son was learning in Kindergarten in another private school. I would and do recommend this school to anyone. It truly is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Wonderland Angels is a very good school. My daughter has been there for a month and already has learned colors, numbers, and how to write her name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

Wonderland angels is a great school my daughter has learned so much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Wonderland is an excellent school. The school provides a very good atmosphere, the class ratio is small, the curriculum is challenges the children. Although my daugher knew the basics, ABC's, colors, pre-k stuff before attending Wonderland. Wonderland has far exceeded my expectations for a preschooler. My daughter can read and comprehend at a 3rd grade level. Her handwriting looks very similar to mine. She has learned to spell using - blends, phonics, etc. and she always amazes me with her math skills. I truly recommened Wonderland to anyone seeking a school in the area. The staff is always warm and does not hesitate to inform you of your childs behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I love wonderland angels! This was the best school I could've picked my daughter. She has learned so much at this school, and I am so thankful that the teacher's there are one on one with the children,and every student is treated the same.My child get's homework 4x's a day and she zips through it,nothing is ever too hard for her.This school has really gave me so much confident that whomever I recommend to this school will be much satisfied.Wonderland Staff(especially Lisa B) your the best! -Tiffany Worship
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2006

I really like this school. My 2 boys attend(ed) this school. I like it a lot. The teachers each have about 10 students. When accidents happen, they make sure to send home an 'ouch' report. The curriculum is good as well. My oldest learned his numbers, ABC's and how to write his name within 2 months. (pre-k) The same with my youngest. (pre-school) The kindergarten teachers are marvelous. They give the students lots of one on one time and affection. My son learned to read within a couple of months. They get homework everyday in kinder, 3x a wk in pre-k & 2x a wk in pre-school. This school is open from 6 to 6, tuition is $95/wk for pre-school & kinder. The pre-k class has a special rate. I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Monique Fordham-Jackson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15208 South Avalon Boulevard
Compton, CA 90220
Phone: (310) 327-6333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Albert The Great Elementary School
West Rancho Dominguez, CA




Celerity Sirius Charter
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT