Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Compton High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Compton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2014

I love my school and proud to say I GRADUATED from Compton High! And those who are ashamed of being from Compton High should be ashamed of themselves because Compton high is not the best school, but it did its best!


Posted January 27, 2014

The staff at Compton high is very lazy ! The nurse is never in her office . Overall Compton high is a horrible school.


Posted April 29, 2013

this school is the worst. i attended this school four years ago and i have to say that now im in college and what has happen is that while others take so little time to write an analysis essay i take the whole day. I did not learn any writing skills while I was in this school which in fact I had to teach myself. Teachers are not motivating some come in just to get their paycheck. Once i asked a teacher from Compton for help in a math problem and he told me to get help from my classmate. I hate this school teachers are there to help you not to send you back to your seat. Also my counselor was trying to put me in a non-college prep course until he saw my GPA which was high and then offered me something else. One last thing stay away from this school this school will get you no where. Im on my way to grad school and everything i have learned i owe it all to my college professors and TA's.


Posted September 17, 2009

Compton High has change had a enormous impact in the local community in the past recent years. Compton High rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

As a parent this would not be the school of choice. As a former classified worker who worked at this school for 5 years , I feel there is nothing wrong with this school. It is up to the student to apply themselves, even the PE dept does testing preps for the students during testing times , there is a lot of stigma tied to this school which is sad , the school just needs more money and attention but the teachers there really care and so did I , the school has lots of potential and I only had one fight per year in there area where I worked believe it or not. The school is like any other high school filled to capacity. you go Tarbabes !!!


Posted April 28, 2009

As a recent Compton High grad, it pains me to see the delusional lens of some of its current students. Compton High is by no means a great school. It does, however, have academic potential and try to aid its 'better' performing students as best it can. Yes, I too hate that all the negative stigmas tied to our city and school. Nontheless, the fact remains that we are a low peforming and achieving school. It's great to take pride in our city, and continued family generations of schooling; it is not okay to deceive ourselves. Not until recently has the administration been stable. It tool from my brother's time (2000) until I graduated (2007) for us to keep a prinicipal. Although A.P. and honors teachers are pretty hepful and dedicated, the rest of the student populus (and mind you, greater students populus) do not receive the same attention or nurishment.


Posted September 21, 2008

i'm currently attending Compton High and I think it is a great school with a lot potential. I'm taking AP and honors courses and it's a good challenge for me. If only stuents will the theses challenges, the school would be a better school. There are great teacher and some not so great teachers. I do think that some of the classrooms need to be remodel. I really do think this is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

Compton High School is a great school. it has many activities and clubs. I love it n miss it so much!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 27, 2007

This school has plenty of oppportinities for students such as :music,sports,and clubs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2007

This school is great and is great for all nationailties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

As a parent I want to say I graduated from compton high my kids attended c-high and still do. I grown up in compton so I want to support the school I graduated from. I must say it very different from when i attended (c/o 1988). It has lost a little of it touch. The kids do as they please. They don't have respect for the adults. I attend alot of c-high football games. I visited the school and the kids are wild always out of class, mouths are very bad. I have also attended the security office and the children do not have any respect for them either and it could be because they talk bad. These kids our becoming young adults so they need to be treated as we adults would like to be treated with respect. That would be a start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

Well, I am acurent student at Compton High School and feeel that it is a great school where many individuals become successful. People's minds are set to perceive that Compton High School is a bad school because of its location; however this is not the case. People don'y really know the talented teachers and students that go to Compton High School. People should stop having a negative mentlity of the school because of its location and should dig deeper into the positive things that lie withing Compton as well as Compton High School
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2007

I love Compton High even though we have our problems its still a great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2007

Granted there's few, but not enough teachers who believe in their students. If we expected more from them, they'll achieve more! As a C-high alumni, I've had to work twice as hard as my classmates in college to catch on to basic writing/math skills I should have been exposed to in high school. Its embarrassing, frustrating and unfair! I still break down, even now as a student in graduate school. Sure we don't want to spread the negative Compton myth. But lets get real people! Its not okay for our schools to have such poor attendance,test scores,student violence,indifference from administrators/staff, no books, dirty classrooms...A 'C' on their grade report? (My little sister is a student today) As a proud alumni, I must admit my experience in C-high has pushed/motivated me forward but held me back at the same time. Demand more for your kids! I do for my siblings.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 21, 2007

I really think that Compton high school is a wonderful school.Many people think that it is a horrible school because of it's area,which is not true.Compton high has great teachers who care to teach and aren't there just for the money. It is really up to you and your child on what they do.I really enjoy attending Compton high.Thank you very much for listening to me I really appreciate it,
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2006

I personally believe that Compton Senior High School is the best high school in Compton. Dominguez?..I am a student currently enrolled in Compton High School and I am a Senior (Class of '07). I can honestly say that these four years at Compton High have been the best years of my life. I have met life long friends and teachers that I honestly look up to. I am currently enrolled in a class after school that has a lot to do with what i want to do in life. Video Production. I have been in this program for two years and have excelled in it proficienlty. I also believe that Mr. Jones has been the best princial C-high has ever seen. Thank You Mr. Jones for Everything. Sicerely, A Lady of '07
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2006

I love this school for my child. It is a great place to learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

I am really hurt by these remarks made by parents in these reviews. I currently attend Compton High,and I can assure this school is developing fast!I am part of some of AP and Honors courses,it is very inspiring seeing such great leadership. For me that is a great motivation to move on and be a successful Compton High Graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2005

i believe Compton High School is given enough credit in its sports department. Compton High School provides a wide range of sports and extracurricular activities and provides proper training. However, Compton High School suffers a little bit academically. In saying that if you wish for your child to do well academically you should get extra tutoring and follow up on your child's progress. The only criticism i have is with parent involvement. i was never informed about programs that were happening around Compton High School or about my son's behavior. i would only be notified about my son's behavior after each semester but never during.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

This is the most horrible and unsafe school to send your child. I hated it I had to get up outta there!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

606

Change from
2012 to 2013

+11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

606

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 25% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
7%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 58% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
37%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 38% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
0%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 62% in 2013.

555 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
24%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 16% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 45% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated/Coordinated Science I

The state average for Integrated/Coordinated Science I was 26% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 38% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 51% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 13% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
1%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 39% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
35%
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 41% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
16%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 46% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
1%

2010

 
 
3%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 52% in 2013.

487 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
13%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 15% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
1%

2012

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
3%

2010

 
 
1%
High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

The state average for High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11) was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
20%
World History

The state average for World History was 46% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 10% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 15% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
4%

2010

 
 
2%
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 51% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
14%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 32% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
1%

2010

 
 
1%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
17%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 8% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
0%
High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

The state average for High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11) was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
44%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 50% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
20%
World History

The state average for World History was 19% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students5%
Females6%
Males6%
African American4%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino6%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged6%
Non-economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability6%
English learner1%
Fluent-English proficient and English only8%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented30%
Parent education - not a high school graduate3%
Parent education - high school graduate6%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)10%
Parent education - college graduate0%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state11%

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Biology/Life Sciences

All Students70%
Females68%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state93%

Earth Science

All Students0%
Femalesn/a
Males0%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino0%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students31%
Females38%
Males25%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate25%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state36%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students0%
Femalesn/a
Males0%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino0%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only0%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students32%
Females33%
Males29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability32%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only31%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented59%
Parent education - not a high school graduate19%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state43%

Integrated/Coordinated Science I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

World History

All Students59%
Females48%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented73%
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students3%
Females8%
Males0%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino4%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged3%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability5%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only6%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate8%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Algebra II

All Students5%
Females4%
Males6%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino5%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged5%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability5%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only5%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented15%
Parent education - not a high school graduate11%
Parent education - high school graduate4%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state0%

Biology/Life Sciences

All Students12%
Females10%
Males12%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino12%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Non-economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disability3%
Students with no reported disability12%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only16%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented64%
Parent education - not a high school graduate15%
Parent education - high school graduate11%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)17%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state4%

Chemistry

All Students6%
Females2%
Males12%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino8%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged7%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability6%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only7%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented11%
Parent education - not a high school graduate6%
Parent education - high school graduate8%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state8%

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students22%
Females24%
Males20%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino23%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Non-economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disability5%
Students with no reported disability23%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only29%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented75%
Parent education - not a high school graduate21%
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)21%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state19%

Geometry

All Students1%
Females2%
Males1%
African American2%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino2%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged2%
Non-economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability2%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only2%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented8%
Parent education - not a high school graduate2%
Parent education - high school graduate1%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)3%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state1%

High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students26%
Females23%
Males29%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability27%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only34%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented77%
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate26%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)24%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state23%

World History

All Students20%
Females15%
Males24%
African American12%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino22%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Non-economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability22%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only27%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented50%
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)15%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Algebra II

All Students3%
Females4%
Males2%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino3%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged3%
Non-economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability3%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only4%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented23%
Parent education - not a high school graduate3%
Parent education - high school graduate1%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)3%
Parent education - college graduate9%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state3%

Biology/Life Sciences

All Students6%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino7%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged7%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability8%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Chemistry

All Students6%
Females5%
Males7%
African American2%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino7%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged6%
Non-economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability6%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only8%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented42%
Parent education - not a high school graduate6%
Parent education - high school graduate1%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)4%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state9%

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students16%
Females18%
Males15%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino18%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Non-economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability17%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only20%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented65%
Parent education - not a high school graduate16%
Parent education - high school graduate10%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)20%
Parent education - college graduate21%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state19%

Geometry

All Students0%
Females0%
Males0%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino0%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability0%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only0%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate0%
Parent education - high school graduate0%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

High School (Summative) Mathematics (Grade 9-11)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

U.S. History

All Students17%
Females15%
Males19%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino18%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Non-economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability18%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only21%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented48%
Parent education - not a high school graduate17%
Parent education - high school graduate13%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)22%
Parent education - college graduate11%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state17%

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 83% in 2013.

463 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE) to test high school students' skills in English language arts and mathematics. The results for grade 10 students taking the test for the first time are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The CAHSEE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of California. Students must pass all parts of the CAHSEE in order to graduate from high school. If they do not pass it the first time, students have multiple opportunities to retake the test. The goal is for all students to pass both sections of the test.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females73%
Males62%
Gender Unknownn/a
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Declined to staten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Economic Status Unknown82%
Students with disability14%
Tested with modificationsn/a
English learner26%
Language Fluency Unknownn/a
Migrant educationn/a

Math

All Students69%
Females72%
Males66%
Gender Unknownn/a
African American53%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Declined to staten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Economic Status Unknown64%
Students with disability14%
Tested with modificationsn/a
English learner42%
Language Fluency Unknownn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE) to test high school students' skills in English language arts and mathematics. The results for grade 10 students taking the test for the first time are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The CAHSEE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of California. Students must pass all parts of the CAHSEE in order to graduate from high school. If they do not pass it the first time, students have multiple opportunities to retake the test. The goal is for all students to pass both sections of the test.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 81%
Black 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
English language learners 22%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Letitia Bradley
Fax number
  • (310) 898-6402

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 South Acacia Street
Compton, CA 90220
Phone: (310) 635-3881

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT