Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

565 students|Compton Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Laurel Street Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
I actually encountered a few remarkable parents. Shonda Marshall who is also an After School Coordinator at another school, her husband, and son Daniel, were truly friendly and educated people. Hello from Tyler and myself. (Tiffany)

Laurel Street Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
I feel that my daughter who was homeschooled actually regressed when she attended this school for a year. She actually came home for the first 8 months and did online Homeschooling as well.


Laurel Street Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
My daughter didn't have any actual Science lessons, experiments, or in depth teaching in class. But was expected to enter into the district's Science Fair Project! My son in K came home with a weekly homework packet which he completed in one after school afternoon?

Laurel Street Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
This school only seemed concerned with studying for the state standardized testing for more than two months! Nothing more...

Laurel Street Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
No one is held accountable for their negative actions! This school is an absolute joke....


Laurel Street Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
The principal and staff need sensitivity, ethics, and common core training in order to better serve the students!

Laurel Street Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
My son had a child who kept pulling his pants down and exposing hisself in class and nothing more than him being sent to the principal office was ever done! And he did it on more than 3 times! A boy hit my daughter with a closed fist, chocked and smothered her and nothing happened to him as punishment. The kids had food fights in the cafeteria and the cafeteria staff would yell at them and tell the, to shut up. No one is accountable for their actions, including the principal!

Laurel Street Elementary School 2

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
My children attended this school 2014-2015. I had a K and a 4th grader. The office staff is unbothered as well as uninformed with the exception of the school nurse who is extremely caring and great with the kids. The school is unorganized, unkept, and a mess. The cafeteria ran out of food, or burnt up the food on more than one occasion, where they ended up giving the kids a cereal bar, while some received an actual meal. During the first three weeks of school my 4th grade child had over eight or maybe nine teachers before they finally settled on a permenant one. My child actually told me that she wasn't learning anything new. No actual Science was taught, but they were sent home with the workbook to do homework. 1 book report the whole yr. K son was referred for speech therapy in Oct & didn't meet with them til May! The principal Dr. Owoaje is a rude & uppity. She will not hesitate to correct you on her title. She's unorganized and unfocused! What was the last straw for me was when my daughter was attacked by an older boy during recess and the students had to intervene. Not the staff or security guard who witnessed this, but two other female students, while adults looked on. When I came to the school to discuss what would happen next with the student, the principal didn't know that I overheard her telling the school nurse who was informing her that a parent needed to speak to her regarding the incident which had occurred earlier. I actually overheard her saying, "I don't have time for this right now, I've been in meetings all day and I'm ready to relax"! Before walking over to me with a fake smile to ask how could she help me. She spoke to me for less than 3 minutes as she was more concerned with attending a staff Luau Party which they were setting up for out back. I almost lost my composure & began seeing red! When my daughters father went up there the next day and requested that at the least during the schools "investigation period", that she keep the other student away from my daughter, she stated that it was his job to tell her to stay away from the kid who chocked, socked, and placed his hands over my child's nose and mouth area at the same time! I had such high expectations as to the standards which I believed came from the leadership of Frank Lozier. New school year, and I transferred my kids to LAUSD and it was the best decision ever!


Laurel Street Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2015
- a parent
This would be my child's second year attending Laurel Elementary School, I must say I am very unsatisfied with this facility. They started of the school year with a new principal which seems to have no interest on the well being of her students nor does she seem interested on the higher learning legacy this school is known for. Not that long ago I had the opportunity to have a one on one get together with Ms. Owoage regarding a serious matter . In the middle of a conversation as I was explaining to her that I had made numerous attempts to get this matter resolved she got up and walked away to speak to someone in the front office and the walked back in as if nothing had happened . Which made me feel disrespected and needless to say the issue has yet to be resolved. I have personally contacted Compton Unified School District whom are taking the matter into their on hands . My child will not be staying for the remainder of the school year . Compton Unified School District has outstanding elementary it just happens that Laurel Elementary School is not one . Don't be fooled by the 2012 California Distinguished Award which was given when Frank Lozier was principal.

Laurel Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2012
- a parent
Laurel Street Elementary School really cares about their students. This was my son's first year attending Laurel. I was concerned that he would not be challenged in a way I felt was appropriate. Laurel exceeded my expectations. His Kindergarten teacher Mrs. Guillory provided a caring and loving environment that supported and enhanced his academic experience. Students participated in college fairs and cultural events throughout the school year. The field trips were purposeful, engaging, and fun for the students. We had the pleasure of celebrating Laurel's great honor and accomplishment of becoming a California Distinguished School. They are definitely that and more. I would highly recommend Laurel Street Elementary School. Go FALCONS!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laurel Street Elementary School
1321 West Laurel Street, Compton, CA  90220-2801
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (310) 898-6440
Last modified Laurel Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top