Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ronald E. Mcnair Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Compton

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

McNair is a great school. The teachers are hard workers. The principals empower the children. Learning is fun there. The after school program is great for working mothers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

Great school! Beautiful learning environment, wonderful staff and their strive for academic excellence is what makes this school the best elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

My child goes to Optimal Christian School, which is a great school but after visiting Bursch Elementary, James Academics and Our lady of Victory. Ronald E. McNair School has everything that a hard working parent could ask for. I am a very involved parent that interacts with teachers and students to make sure that my child is provided with the best education. I find that reading, writing, arithmetic, science, music and art it is very important in early child deployment. This school has a library, computer lab, fruit garden, large black top, green grass play area and theatrical auditorium where they put on monthly plays. Each class has a computer work station for students to learn on. Most of all the campus was clean and very colorful. I was taught don t always judge a book by its cover, you might find out that the best schools are in your neighborhood. P.S. So next year you know where we will be? Yours truly, A Hard Working Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

Both of my daughters attended this school since 1st grad. Now we must leave and relocate due to family, Me and my wife have no regrets having our childern attend this school. Since the first day they steped onto the campus the staff has been above above average, consistent with the way they interact with and teach the childern. The Priciple is always present and active and that flows down to the teachers. This is not just a school but a family that strives for excellence in education. It shows in my student test scores and their hunger to learn more. All my kids talk about is the teachers and how they help and take the time with them until they grasp what is going on. They are very big on working with the parents so the kids can get what they need at home and school. McNair Elementary ROCKS in education first then in student support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2010

This is our second year at McNair and I was so impressed with the principal, teacher and the entire staff. My daughter's third grade teacher listened to my concerns about my daughter and she worked with her and I must say, there was such an improvement in her studies. I am thankful for the afterschool program as well. That has also help my daughter to come out of her shell and become more engaged in the activities they have during the day. Thank you all so much for your hard work and dedication to the students. This year my youngest daughter is also attending and so far - she is loving it. Great job McNair - Go Rockets!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

I presently have 2 children at McNair; one which have been attending for the last 3 years. I am very impressed the the Principal, Teachers and Staff. The McNair Staff really care about the children and it is seen on a daily basis. The teachers work really hard towards the academic progress of the children. I only wish there were more extracurricular activities for the lower grade levels; but I understand the budget cuts. McNair's After School program last year for my 2nd grader was excellent. Hopefully the standards for the After School program for this year is just as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

In 2005 the rating was the highest in the Compton District. My child had the best K,1st and 2nd grade teacher however when she reached 3rd grade i noticed a major drop in her academic level and interest. It seems to me that the teachers after 2/3rd don't have the patience. The teachers were always absent more than 3times a month. The school year started with a new principle which resulted in a lot of IMPROVEMENT than the prior principle but i feel there could be more parent involvement, needs tutors and the afterschool program yr 2009/2010 is a joke my kid comes home w/homework that is not done / or checked or explained. The prior yr was better homework was done & checked & if not correct was done until correct. K-2nd grade was good after that if you care about your kid's behavior and academics get your kid out!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I have to say that I am very impressed by how the school's staff and appearance have come a long way. I am a parent of 2 teenagers who attend McNair 12 years ago. Now my baby who is 7 is going there and I love it. The principal and teachers are so great and hard working. I was considering putting my little one in private school but with the many changes and great attention that my girl gets; McNair I can honestly say is better than a private education. I am just really,really thankfull of the many changes for the best that are being done here at McNair. Keep up the excellent work everyone!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

I am highly impressed with the teachers, support staff, and the new principal at McNair. I crrently have two children attending McNair. They are both blessed with very gifted and creative teachers. The principal and teachers go beyond the call of duty for students and their families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I believe that the teachers have very poor resources to enhance the childrens learning. The accomplishments of McNair teachers are wonderful. Secondly, if parents would be more proactive in their childrens learning and less crucial of the teachers things would dramatically progress.


Posted August 4, 2008

This School reminds me of when I attended elementary, the Structure and organization of the class rooms and Teachers, are Impeccable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

I am very impressed with the level of attention my son has received from his teachers, as a single working parent, it makes me feel confident in our public schools. Thank you !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

I am a former student from Ronald McNair, graduated in '97. Although I'm sure each case is individual, I am very thankful for the early guidance that I received at this school. The academics were great given the resources. Teachers were good as well and some of the nicest, most caring teachers in my memory were from my elementary school years. I am now at the 2nd best liberal arts college in the country and have a lot of thanks to give to everyone at this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 1, 2005

The academic is wonderful. Its a magnet school with wonderful teahers. There are extracurricular activities like drill team and basketball also they have a music class. Parent involvment is good but it could be greater.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I feel that this school needs some serious improvement. I feel that my childern are not geting the proper education due to poor Teachers. The teachers have no patients.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

807

Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

807

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females73%
Males63%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate69%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females78%
Males68%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner71%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate72%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Females29%
Males38%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females50%
Males63%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females74%
Males66%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females79%
Males86%
African American89%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate80%
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females53%
Males38%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented72%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females60%
Males71%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner63%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate68%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students56%
Females50%
Males63%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate61%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 52%
Black 36% 6%
Two or more races 14% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
White 0% 26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Theophane Korie
Fax number
  • (310) 898-6098

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 West El Segundo Avenue
Compton, CA 90222
Phone: (310) 898-6330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Carver Elementary School
Los Angeles, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT