Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Temple Christian School

Private | K-8 | 202 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Concord

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $157,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,310.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

My son has attended Calvary Temple Christian School since preschool, the young age of 4. He is now 14 and in Junior High and I can honestly say that my husband and I have been truly BLESSED beyond belief to have found the very best school to have entrusted our son to for the last 9 years! Next year will be his last year in this school and it is with a very heavy heart that the day will come that we must say good bye to a truly amazing, loving, caring, educational school with great Christian values. The staff treat your children as if they are their very own. They not only teach what our kids need so desperately to learn but they teach what other schools do not, love and respect! I honestly cannot say enough good about this school, its just impossible to put 9 years of praise, gratitude, love into a small rating. Our son has been an A+ student since pre-K so I think that speaks volumes with how great this school. Best thing, my son has never NOT ONCE been bullied from Calvary Temple. Only loved by his teachers, principal and fellow students. Its almost a fantasy come true. You would not be sorry if you placed your kids in this school. You really wouldn't!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

Excellent Christian school with wonderful staff and a great curriculum. My daughter loves attending school here and looks forward to class every morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

CTCS is awesome! We have attended a couple other schools in the area and this one is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

This school is awesome with an amazing staff who genuinely love all of the children. Strong academics to be sure, but much more than that this school shows children how to put compassion for others in motion. My children run to school when I drop them off (and not just to get away from me) :) Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

We are very glad to have been led to CTCS. Excellent staff and leadership. I love the balance between academics and spiritual development the children receive. The teachers are sensitive to the development of the children in every area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

This school is AMAZING!!!!!! The teachers, the principal, the staff, the students all amazing!!!! I recently pulled my daughter out of the public middle school and knew, instantly that this was the school for her. She has been welcomed with so much kindness. I am so thankful for Calvary Temple. I cannot say enough positive things about this school. I feel blessed!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

CTCS is a great place for students to thrive academically, socially, and spiritually. I love that my kids get a great education in a place where they feel loved and accepted, on top of the fact that they get to worship God in a weekly chapel. It melts my heart as a mom to know that they love going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

We have three children at CTCS, and all three are thriving there. We've experienced K-5 so far, and all their teachers have been awesome. They give each student lots of time and love. The curriculum is academically challenging, but not overwhelming. We are very impressed with the level of dedication from the whole staff - the principal is very involved with the students, and it's obvious that the kids all love him. The spiritual education my kids are receiving is outstanding - I love the fact that they have the opportunity to worship God at school, as well as at home and at church. We feel blessed to have our kids at CTCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

My daughter has loved her experience at Calvary Temple Christian Preschool. The staff is so friendly and awesome. I'm sad she will be leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

My son is a 1st grader at CTCS and I can only hope to continue thru the 8th! The teachers are very personable with the students from all grade levels. The foundation they have in place is a strong one, I cannot recommend this school enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

My son attended Calvary Temple Christian School for eight years. He thrived in the loving, Christian atmosphere. He loved his teachers and principals and made many good friends among the student body. He now is in his freshman year at Berean Christian High School. He was very well prepared for high school by his CTCS, experience. His first quarter grades were, four A s and two B s. I can t recommend Calvary Temple Christian School enough!! Vawn Fishbaugh
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

My son has attended CTCS since he was in preschool. He loves the school and takes pride in it. I feel that he will be ready to move into high school with confidence. The teachers and staff have always been there to partner with my husband and I to direct him both spiritually and academically. I believe that he is developing a great foundation that will be a benefit to him in his high school years and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I was a student at Calvary Temple Christian School 3 years ago. I started off in the pre-school and went all the way through 8th grade. I loved going to school there. All of the staff and teachers were very fun and kind. They cared about their jobs and their students. This school gave me a solid christion foundation for the rest of my educational career. I am now about to be a senior at a public high school and I am planning on attending Evangel University in Missouri next Fall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2008

My child recently graduated from 8th Grade after 10 years at Calvary Temple Christian School. He started at 3 years old in the preschool and continued all the way through. Overall, he has had an excellent educational foundation grounded in Christian morals and values. As he moves on to high school, I am confident that his experiences at CTCS will lead him to long term success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

CTCS is a great school with a close community of Faculty, Students and Parents. The teachers are dedicated to teaching every student academics and strong christian values. Older students often look out for the younger ones. All students and parents are encouraged to be involved in school activities. Since enrolling my child, CTCS has met and exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend Calvary Temple Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

Small private christian school with excellent academic program. After school program includes basketball.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 26%
Asian or Pacific Islander 15% 11%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Black 10% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • WASC Accredited
  • ACSI Accredited

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Jackson
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (925) 458-9870

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4725 Evora Road
Concord, CA 94520
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 458-9870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




New Jerusalem
Bay Point, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT