Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wood Rose Academy

Private | K-8 | 104 students

Our school is best known for solid academics in a family-like atmosphere.

 
 

Living in Concord

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $260,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2012

We are in our first year at WRA and I can honestly say my son is thriving and surpassing his potential at this wonderful school. Where else, given the state of education in California, can you find a school that caps the number of students per class - 16 max??! This in and of itself was a huge draw for us. No child goes wanting.Teachers are committed, passionate and very caring and loving. The students are shining beacons - all of them and the staff always go the extra mile. Keep up the good work WRA and thank you for making my son's first year a raging success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

The staff at WRA work very hard to meet the needs of every child (and their parents). Modeling the virtues for their students and always giving them their best is of highest priority for the WRA teachers and administration. The education community here is one of professionalism with a heart. My Above Average rating reflects our sincere belief that there is always room for improvement in our school (or any school).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 11, 2011

Had an extremely bad experience at this school. Unprofessional behavior by the school staff and some teachers. Would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

Wood Rose is a wonderful school! We are so happy to have found it, it's a wonderful nurturing environment with high academics and a focus on virtues. The children watch out for one another and the families are all very friendly. Lots of parent involvement and a real family atmoshpere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

WE LOVE WOOD ROSE!! Our children have flourished and thrived in this wonderful loving environment. We could not ask for anything more in a school! The school community is inviting, and you know as soon as you walk on campus that you are in an awesome environment. The children are absolutely encouraged in the classroom and the academics are very solid. We are so pleased with the growth we see in our children, not only spiritually but academically as well. Don't let one negative comment deter you from such an amazing school, come see for yourselves and you will fall in love with everything about Wood Rose!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

We have been a Wood Rose family since 2009 when we enrolled our son as a Kindergartener. We chose the school based on its small class sizes, gift of self philosophy, and warm, friendly environment. Our son has not only thrived academically but has grown in every area of his life. He s made wonderful friends, developed close relationships with his teachers, and is growing into a well-rounded young man because of his experiences at school. He feels supported by all of his classmates and the entire extended Wood Rose family. He can t wait for school to start again in a few weeks he says that being at school is way better than summer vacation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

We brought our son to Wood Rose after a terrible year at a public school in Walnut Creek. Attending Kindergarten for a second time could be a challenge for any child, but the teachers and staff took it upon themselves to make sure he was welcomed, involved and challenged at every level. As a new parent, I was introduced to the community and greeted with open arms. While our family was still establishing our spiritual beliefs, the teachers, staff, students and community were so supportive of our exploring and growth; never did we feel scrutiny or any disparity directed our way. We have appreciated the open door policy and being able to communicate any of our concerns or worries as well as the school's ability to always listen to and take constructive criticism. As a "family" we have grown together. Now entering his third year at Wood Rose, my son can't wait for school to start. His desire to learn, to read, to excel and to be his very best is a direct reflection of the love and support the school offers. I would recommend Wood Rose to any family that asked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

Wood Rose Academy is like my second home! I have been here since Kindergarten, and I am very aware that this school is one of the best. I have been here since Kindergarten, and I have never felt any bullying or experienced any. I am a Sikh, and I was never discriminated. I just graduated this year and have been accepted into Carondelet High School. Now being accepted into CHS is not a small thing; you have to have good grades. I have good grades, but that is because the teachers and staff taught me everything I know. All the kids are treated equally, and I can promise you that your child will always come home with a happy face. I love WRA and it will never disappoint you! Thank you!


Posted October 20, 2009

Our children have benefited greatly as a result of attending this school. Our second grader 'feels loved' by the warm and caring staff. Our eighth grader feels 'challenged' and 'inspired' by her teachers who set a wonderful example of living the school's philosophy 'Gift of Self.' The small class sizes, virtue program, solid academics, diverse K-8 student body, strong parent community, and qualified staff and administration make the school an unparalleled environment for learning and growing. After moving to the area to be closer to the school, I have been amazed at how many people have never heard of Wood Rose Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Our child went to this school for several years, and we ended up being very unhappy with the school for a variety of reasons, one of which is a personal experience with some teaching staff that was extremely unprofessional, and then what we felt was the lack of support for my child by the administration to resolve the situation. We have transferred our child to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

If I was offered a job out of the area making twice the $$ I make now, I would not go because I would have to leave Wood Rose!! That is just how special this school is to our family. Our twins are in 2nd grade and we will send our youngest in a few more years. The teachers are top notch, they know my children by name and they treat them with respect. The 'gift of self' isn't just a motto or a philosophy, it's a way of life it is the center of everything they learn. I can't adequately decribe how wonderful it is having my kids be 2 of 12 in a class!! Where can you get that without spending tens of thousands of dollars? Wood Rose is our little gem- & we feel blessed to be here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

It is a nurturing place for children; and a nurturing place to develop character with no prejudices on religion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

We're very pleased with the academics at WRA. the teachers really get to know the students, get to know their strengths and weaknesses - and can help them grow both as students and as human beings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

Wood Rose is a great school for the 'whole child,' not just for academics. I agree, the school is more like a family. We are so happy to be here, for many reasons. Small class sizes mean less classroom management, more learning. The Catholic environment is very nurturing. The parents and students all learn to live the 'gift of self.' The teachers are awesome--and happy. We experienced public and private schools with our boys. We transferred our first daughter here in 6th grade, should have done it sooner. We moved our youngest child as well, so we still have a few more years. We'll be sad to graduate out. The two best things about the school are the teachers and the families. The best part of the campus is the large covered play area, which means they are not stuck inside when it rains, and they are shaded when it's hot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

Our oldest son just started Kindergarten at Wood Rose and he absolutely loves it...and so do we! They are founded on a wonderful philosophy called 'gift of self'. The curriculum is excellent and even the Kindergarteners have classes in Religion, Spanish, Art and Music as well as the traditional Math, Reading and Writing. The class sizes are small (generally less than 15) which allows for individual attention when needed. The staff are wonderful and caring and communicate well with the parents (parent involvement in the school is high). We can't say enough about this great school and are excited to send our two younger children here in due course!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

My son attended Wood Rose for 4 years.We moved out of state last year, and we miss it so much. The teachers are well qualified, and the school is one big family. The entire staff cares for your child like they are their own. The academics are second to none, and my son has done very well from the learning he received at Wood Rose. If you are looking for a wonderful school with great academics and a caring heart, then Wood Rose is the place. If we ever move back, there is no doubt Wood Rose would be the place for us !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

The quality of education is superb in this school. Academics and character via the promotion of acquiring solid virtues is topmost priority for this school. It is a very small population, and their handbook says they allow only a maximum of 15 in a class which is well and true. I have seen children blossom in this school. My kids in particular have especially my youngest who always have a hard time. Parent involvement is very high. Although music and sports are still something they need to improve on.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 11%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Ellen Crnkovich
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (925) 825-4645

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Wood Rose Academy is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
work/tuition credit

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Carondelet/DeLaSalle
Clayton Valley Charter High School
Northgate High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4347 Cowell Road
Concord, CA 94518
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 825-4644

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Agnes School
Concord, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT