Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ayers Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2014

My student was diagnosed with moderate autism. He was socially awkward and would not interact with others. He has been attending Ayers only sine the start of this 2013-2014 school year and I can already see the difference in him. What is even more amazing is he now socializes with his peers (in and out of school) and comes home and always speaks about his "friends". He has the most amazing teacher and support staff. The Principal is awesome and caring and the office staff a hit! The PTA and their programs are outstanding. Thank you Ayers for bringing out what I always knew was in my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

I love Ayers, the teachers are fabulous, my daughter is a 3rd grader this year and every teacher she has had has been excellent. Her first Kindergarten teacher made the suggestion to keep her in Kinder another year and I am grateful to her for pushing for it cause it was the best decision we made. The principal this year is wonderful! I am proud to be a parent at Ayers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

We have been at Ayers for 2 years and I though we have had principal issues the first 2 years the teachers are amazing! Now we have a new principal that I am very excited to work with. She has a strong vision for how our school should grow with the new common core changes. I am confident that she is the exact principal that our school needs to make this transition as smooth as possible. With motivated teachers and a new strong leader the school has no where to go but up and up! It is an exciting time at Ayers and we are proud to send both of our children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

As a parent to several children who have attended Ayers, I have to say I have been very happy with the school. We have had to go through some difficult changes with principals etc, in the past few years, but the teachers and parents have stayed strong and have united to continue to make Ayers a wonderful place to learn. We have a wonderful PTA that is always striving to provide assistance to the teachers, plan fun activities all year long for the students and remain a positive group for the school. And with the new principal, the staff, parents and students are looking forward to a very successful school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Ayers is a fantastic school! Even amidst multiple principal changes over the past several years, our parent and teacher dedication has remained strong. And finally it seems we have found a wonderful leader in our new principal, Mrs. Petersen. She is positive, professional, and seems to be partnering beautifully with the staff and PTA. Ayers has a very active PTA that is dedicated to serving the needs of the entire school. One of my daughters attended Ayers K-5 starting in 2007 and the other is still there. Ayers, like all MDUSD schools, is not free from challenges/problems but with a responsive staff and active, supportive parents, our school continues to thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

I have been extremely happy with Ayers Elementary School. I have two children who have attended Ayers. One is going into 4th grade and the other graduated the year before last. The staff and parents are very dedicated and involved and have made both of my children feel comfortable in the classroom and proud of their accomplishments. I would recommend this school to any parent who is new to the area or is contemplating on placing their child/children into a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

My son has been Bullied by other students at this school and his teacher. My son has had issues at this school non stop since day one. His attitude at home changed he became aggressive and violent at home because of the stress at school. The issue was brought up to the NEW PRINCIPAL on numerous occasions and she did nothing about it. This is a epic FAIL of a school. I had even talked to the teacher and was brushed aside more then once. And since my son is now having depression issues we have pulled and are looking for a new school. Thank you AYERS for destroying a bright kid that scored in the 99% percentile on the star testing last year your fail not ours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

My son was in a Concord private school last year, and we transfered him to Ayers this year. I thought that spending all that money on private school was getting him a better education, but it turned out to be just the opposite. He is getting a better education at Ayers, and he is much happier. I have noticed that the teachers are very focused on the 'teaching' part of their job. The parents and PTA seem to do the rest. There is tons of parental involvement. The new principal is awesome! She truly cares, and has called me on a few occassions to talk about my son, even though he wasn't in trouble. I highly recommend Ayers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Ayers has a great group of teachers, staff and very involved parents. It is a very warm enviorment. I do wish academically that expectations were higher. I think many children arecapible of much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

All of the teachers have been very good and the Parent involvement it great. Teachers have always been happy to meet with me on any issue and go the extra mile to help challenge and encourage my son. Also Mrs. Baum does a great job working with the kids. I currently have a 4th grader at Ayers, but my other children attended a public school in Walnut Creek. One note: I do see lower expectations of the kids of the kids - especially in terms of writing and reading compared to what was taught at the other school and agree that they could be pushed a little harder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

Ayers is one of the best schools around; excellent principal; fabulous dedicated teachers; friendly and helpful office staff; lots of parent involvement; hard working PTA; very responsive to parent needs; high academic expectations; wonderful resource and special education staff; the best in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

I love this school as do my children.The teachers are very involved. There is a lot of parental involvement which seems to help push this school further. I do think the children could be pushed a little harder academically. I could not imagine my children going to a more wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

Academically this school is pretty good. However, the lack of supervision and the attitudes of the staff regarding bullies is unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2006

Overall we have been pretty happy with the teachers at the school, Although I do feel that their expectations from the students are quite low. Most times my kids have 1 page of homework that they can complete in 5-10 minutes. My kids are not challenged enough (my kids are very happy about their homework, or lack thereof). They still have music and band, and my son seems to enjoy this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

This is a fairly good school academically - the majority of the teachers are truly dedicated to the students and work hard to make sure the students understand the material. The facility could use some upgrading - it lacks air conditioning - which can be a problem during the hotter months. There is an adaquate amount of parental involvement at the school - especially in the lower grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

Rigorous academics. Music programs are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

Ayers Elementary is in need of some strong leadership, which I am sad to say it currently lacks. I had heard some good things about the school before we enrolled, so I am sure at some point it was above average. Now between the lack of strong leadership and no programs to speak of, the children there just seem lost. I have been talking to other parents in the area whose children went to Ayers for a period of time before they decided on private school or home schooling. The answers over and over are the same: no programs & staff that allow children to harass other children on a constant basis. Someone needs to come in and clean up Ayers Elementary now for the sake of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

This school needs to be shaken up, new staff, a more diverse staff. This school doesn t have one male teacher on staff fulltime. The Principal and her staff do not live up to their policies about bullying. Yard supervisors are not paying attention or not caring about wrong doings on the playground, so the kids do not report it. If it is reported and action is taken the student now becomes subject to more bullying on and off campus. This school needs major help, the superintendent needs to step in and take charge for the sake of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2003

I went to Ayers Elementary and I had the time of my life! I loved all of my teachers, made great friends, and learned everything I needed to know to prepare me for middle school. The teachers were ALL very qualified and knew what they were doing! I felt extremely safe everday I went to school. I now attend a private school and I truely believe that Ayers was the closest thing to private school that you can get in a public school.


Posted June 1, 2003

Lack of programm, and constant lack of qualified teachers leave kids wondering what are they doing at shool in 1st grade. What a deal !


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

817

Change from
2012 to 2013

-17

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

817

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-17

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females44%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state18%

Math

All Students64%
Females68%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females72%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females76%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females76%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state69%

Math

All Students65%
Females68%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females76%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state79%

Math

All Students71%
Females67%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state72%

Science

All Students73%
Females70%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Hispanic 34%
Two or more races 9%
Asian 7%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/AN/A
English language learners 17%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5120 Myrtle Drive
Concord, CA 94521
Phone: (925) 682-7686

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT