Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


El Monte Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
It is hard to narrow it down to one teacher when they all have been such a positive influence to my daughter since the first day of Kindergarten. So, I nominate the following: 1) Mrs. Herting 2) Mrs. Aldridge 3) Miss. Kennedy 4) Ms.Ortega & 5) Mr. Adkins from El Monte Elementary in Concord, Ca. I am truly grateful that they dedicate their lives to creating future leaders. To me, that is priceless! =)

El Monte Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Jackman, thank you for introducing Drake to school as a place to learn and socialize with peers. He's off to a good start.


El Monte Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a community member
Great reputation for individualized approach which helps all students including some that would be ignored and doomed to failure at other schools.

El Monte Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
Thanks to the office staff for always calling when my child is int he office. I am glad you are there for her when I am not.

El Monte Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
I like that we have had 3 Teacher of the Year candidates at our school. Plus all the teacher are using the new common core standards material. My friends kids go to a other nearby "better" school but they are still using the reading materials from 2001!! That is sad. Our kids deserve up to date curriculum-I am glad El Monte teachers are doing what they need to do-not just what's easy or has always been done in the past.


El Monte Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
I like that students only get 1-2 pages of math, reading at the Accelerated Reader level for 20-40 minutes and some free writing. Homework should NOT take hours=thanks El Monte staff for making homework doable for us working parents.

El Monte Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
My grandchildren just recently started at El Monte Elementary School. On the first day the principal gave us a personal tour and showed us the beautiful clean campus with the chickens and the gardens. It is obvious that the staff cares about this school and the environment. She explained the schoolwide instruction and social skills curriculum. She took the time to introduce us to the new teachers and the office staff. On our tour the other students were quietly walking in the hallways and looked happy. Mrs. Bowman the principal knew their names-the kids looked thrilled about the attention. The library is beautiful and full of new books and they have a new computer lab also. The counselor (who is full time) introduced herself as a resource. Wow. When the kids came home from their first day they were excited about their classrooms and their new friends. The principal even called me the next week just to check in on how the kids are doing-now thats customer service. A great school starts with a great leader. We are so happy to be at this school!

El Monte Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
Before Mrs. Boman this school had tons of suspensions. Now there are practically none because the students are taught what to do and know the consequences. They are developing good citizenes of the the world here.


El Monte Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
The Soul Shoppe curriculum, Life Skill of the month (with the Bulldog Louie's visit) and the consistent school rules that are enforced by all adults make this school predicable and calm.

El Monte Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
Shout out to teachers extraordinaire: Ms. Romano, Mr. Adkins, Ms. Chamberlain, Ms. Sugden & Mr. Schneider!

Nearby schools

El Monte Elementary School
1400 Dina Drive, Concord, CA  94518-1222
(925) 685-3113
Last modified El Monte Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top