Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
344 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Agnes School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I remember it like it was yesterday…my daughter taking the Kindergarten entrance test as we were applying to St. Agnes School. We wanted our daughter to have a well-rounded educational experience which incorporated a sense of community, Catholic values and strong academics. As St. Agnes parishioners, we were so excited to apply to our Parish school! We hoped to be part of a Parish school where parents wanted to be involved and were excited about the school, and we believed St. Agnes was that school. Fast-forward and our daughter has just started the 6th grade and I can honestly tell you that St. Agnes School was the best decision for us. Parents partner with faculty to ensure our children succeed. My daughter is thriving academically and spiritually in this faith-filled community and has learned to help those less fortunate through service. We have made life-long friends who we consider family. If you are wondering if St. Agnes School is the right place for you, I wholeheartedly say YES IT IS and WELCOME!

St. Agnes School 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
Our family loves St. Agnes School! We have been a part of the school for around 10 years now with our oldest son having graduated and our youngest one newly starting. We re still so happy to be a part of such a wonderful community! Our children are surrounded by caring teachers, administrators, students, and volunteers. We are very excited to have our kids in such a positive learning environment. St. Agnes is a loving, welcoming, and supportive community and we are very much looking forward to continuing to be a part of such an amazing catholic and educational experience! We HIGHLY recommend St. Agnes School and encourage families to check out the School Open House at the end of January.


St. Agnes School 3

Posted October 25, 2014
- a parent
I have been on this campus for almost 10 years with my children. New principal means new priorities. Those new priorities are not so much "my thing". I was drawn to the strong community life and warm environment 10 years ago. Now, the focus is more on discipline and academics....both of which are challenging to address with classes comprised of 35-40 students. The most efficient way to handle this many kids in a class is to treat them in a cookie cutter sort of way. This is fine but if you have one of those kids who refuse to be "cookie-cuttered" (either above the pack or lagging below) then this schools won't serve them well. Also, the school has adopted Common Core. So if you think you are coming here to escape that in public schools, you're not.

St. Agnes School 5

Posted June 12, 2013
- a parent
One of the BEST kept secrets in Concord. I am not one to write reviews however feel the importance of doing so in this case. Our daughter started Kindergarten with Ms.Ghelfie & Ms. Maeda (reading/ mastering between 80-100 sight words to fractions as well as singing in 2/musicals thanks in part to the Musical Director, Mr. Hammerson) because of them she absolutey loves school. The curriculum is intensive with a loving & strong support from family/ faculty not to mention the level of education my daughter has received. Tuition cost is competitively fair to that of private schools in the east bay as well as Scholarships and Financial Aid options available.

St. Agnes School 1

Posted August 23, 2009
- a student
As a student at St. Agnes school. I have noticed that this school has many things that must be changed. The teachers sponsor and recognize the children of adults with a high income or in other words 'rich'. The teachers make most of the students feel targeted for no circumstance. The teachers' goal in most cases is to get students in trouble or accuse them for nonsense. I find very few of these teachers caring and loving towards students that don't have the income that satisfies them. In my personal opinion; i would not recommend this school for any children. The teachers treat specific students better than others. The safety is excellent only because the discipline is incredibly intimidating for any children. The recent posts that say anything positive or grateful is probably a student that has been treated with the best of hospitality; as i said before..teachers have favorites.


St. Agnes School 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a student
i love st agnes i am a student and the teachers are great :)

St. Agnes School 1

Posted October 10, 2008
- a student
Horrible, just horrible. I just don't understand how bad a school could be, but St, Agnes lowers the standards for Cathloic education everywhere. Most of the teachers feel unqualified to even be working at a school, let alone an expensive, cathlioc one. The strict curriculum is 100% anit-freedom, your kids will not do anything that the ultra-tight staff allows. Uniforms, stale lunches, terrible education. Save your kids, time and money, avoid at all costs

St. Agnes School 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
Caring teachers and individual attention to students. Parents are very involved and no one is overlooked.


St. Agnes School 5

Posted December 27, 2007
- a parent
Educational focus is one of many benefits this institution offers. In short, you get your money's worth. Many parents in the Concord area that send their children to adjacent private Catholic schools comment on the educational strength of St. Agnes. By far one of the best school's in Concord where the staff and administration that balance the student's pace and capability of learning.

St. Agnes School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
St. Agnes Elementary in Concord is a truly phenomenal school. Although our family does not have 'great' means, every penny we pay for my daughters tuition is well spent. Pro's: -Great care is taken to make sure that children are safe. One reviewer called some of the 'rules' ridiculous but I find them comforting. The rules are there for a reason.....to protect our children. -Administration & teachers go above & beyond on a regular basis. It's obvious that the staff enjoy the working environment and children. Each teacher that I've met has proven themselves to be a passionate advocate for education and children. - Resources, resources, resources. There are reading tutors, math tutors, a speech therapist, a school counselor. The school respects that each child learns at a different pace and creates a special plan for kids needing extra help. -Christian values of kindness, humility, character etc set the tone for a very peaceful campus

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Agnes School
3886 Chestnut Avenue, Concord, CA  94519
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (925) 689-3990
Last modified St. Agnes School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top