Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Agnes School 3

Posted October 25, 2014
- a parent
I have been on this campus for almost 10 years with my children. New principal means new priorities. Those new priorities are not so much "my thing". I was drawn to the strong community life and warm environment 10 years ago. Now, the focus is more on discipline and academics....both of which are challenging to address with classes comprised of 35-40 students. The most efficient way to handle this many kids in a class is to treat them in a cookie cutter sort of way. This is fine but if you have one of those kids who refuse to be "cookie-cuttered" (either above the pack or lagging below) then this schools won't serve them well. Also, the school has adopted Common Core. So if you think you are coming here to escape that in public schools, you're not.

St. Agnes School 5

Posted June 12, 2013
- a parent
One of the BEST kept secrets in Concord. I am not one to write reviews however feel the importance of doing so in this case. Our daughter started Kindergarten with Ms.Ghelfie & Ms. Maeda (reading/ mastering between 80-100 sight words to fractions as well as singing in 2/musicals thanks in part to the Musical Director, Mr. Hammerson) because of them she absolutey loves school. The curriculum is intensive with a loving & strong support from family/ faculty not to mention the level of education my daughter has received. Tuition cost is competitively fair to that of private schools in the east bay as well as Scholarships and Financial Aid options available.


St. Agnes School 1

Posted August 23, 2009
- a student
As a student at St. Agnes school. I have noticed that this school has many things that must be changed. The teachers sponsor and recognize the children of adults with a high income or in other words 'rich'. The teachers make most of the students feel targeted for no circumstance. The teachers' goal in most cases is to get students in trouble or accuse them for nonsense. I find very few of these teachers caring and loving towards students that don't have the income that satisfies them. In my personal opinion; i would not recommend this school for any children. The teachers treat specific students better than others. The safety is excellent only because the discipline is incredibly intimidating for any children. The recent posts that say anything positive or grateful is probably a student that has been treated with the best of hospitality; as i said before..teachers have favorites.

St. Agnes School 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a student
i love st agnes i am a student and the teachers are great :)

St. Agnes School 1

Posted October 10, 2008
- a student
Horrible, just horrible. I just don't understand how bad a school could be, but St, Agnes lowers the standards for Cathloic education everywhere. Most of the teachers feel unqualified to even be working at a school, let alone an expensive, cathlioc one. The strict curriculum is 100% anit-freedom, your kids will not do anything that the ultra-tight staff allows. Uniforms, stale lunches, terrible education. Save your kids, time and money, avoid at all costs


St. Agnes School 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
Caring teachers and individual attention to students. Parents are very involved and no one is overlooked.

St. Agnes School 5

Posted December 27, 2007
- a parent
Educational focus is one of many benefits this institution offers. In short, you get your money's worth. Many parents in the Concord area that send their children to adjacent private Catholic schools comment on the educational strength of St. Agnes. By far one of the best school's in Concord where the staff and administration that balance the student's pace and capability of learning.

St. Agnes School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
St. Agnes Elementary in Concord is a truly phenomenal school. Although our family does not have 'great' means, every penny we pay for my daughters tuition is well spent. Pro's: -Great care is taken to make sure that children are safe. One reviewer called some of the 'rules' ridiculous but I find them comforting. The rules are there for a reason.....to protect our children. -Administration & teachers go above & beyond on a regular basis. It's obvious that the staff enjoy the working environment and children. Each teacher that I've met has proven themselves to be a passionate advocate for education and children. - Resources, resources, resources. There are reading tutors, math tutors, a speech therapist, a school counselor. The school respects that each child learns at a different pace and creates a special plan for kids needing extra help. -Christian values of kindness, humility, character etc set the tone for a very peaceful campus


St. Agnes School 2

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
So many ridiculous rules and regulations. They really care a lot about getting their money. Favorite children and parents for sure. Dissapointing. The education is not that great.

St. Agnes School 5

Posted March 17, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Agnes School
3886 Chestnut Avenue, Concord, CA  94519
(925) 689-3990
Last modified St. Agnes School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Agnes School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top