Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Carondelet High School

Private | 9-12 | 802 students

The official school of young women who want to make a difference.

 
 

Living in Concord

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $260,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2010

Carondelet was hard for me as an odd person. It was very cliquey. So many girls are fake. It's almost a standard for a normal Carondelet girl to be bubbly and talkative - though that is not true for everyone. Also students who are in sports are much more appraised than those who do not. The school lacks individuality as seen in the uniforms, and caucasian dominance. Though the upside of the school is its safety and education. Never have I seen physical violence. It's a good school for getting into a good college, and there are a couple of amazing teachers. Parents, if your daughter is an outcast, she will be much happier elsewhere. If there's a money issue, try to sign up for the Work Grant program which will cut the tuition in half.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2010

I just graduated from Carondelet last year and it is an amazing school for teenagers. Yes, the Deans will ocassionally give you problems but the education is worth it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

Sending my two daughters to Carondelet was a matter of choosing between the lesser of two evils, public vs. private. Although my daughters both excelled academically, it was mostly through their own efforts. 'All that woman is capable' is really all about sports, there is very little encouragement to those who are not involved in sports or extra curricular activities which are controlled by the 'in crowd' of students and teachers. I agree with other posts that the administration looks the other way for those who 'play the game'. Rules are not enforced fairly. The good teachers are marginalized for not playing the game. Dealing with administration was frustrating; they were not willing to listen, only dictate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I feel as though Carondelet has somewhat taken away from my normal high school experience. Its faculty is obsessed with rules and regulations (except with a few special students to which they willingly turn the other cheek) and stifle individualism. Many of the teachers are overprotective of their jobs and are unwilling to make class interesting and creative. The clubs, and sports are very political and often undesirable or impossible to join. Carondelet also makes no attempt to help its students socialize with the De La Salle students, which are separated from one another simply because of gender. In no way do I feel that I would have been 'distracted' by boys nor do I feel that segregating genders is a normal part of adolescence. Although it prepared me quite well for college I don't feel that I am any more prepared than many of my public school educated classmates
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2008

Completely overrated. Carondelet has managed to convince parents that they should pay above average tuition for an very average education, accompanied by bullying from the staff and administration. Their motto-- 'all of which woman is capable'--falls flat, as they are much more interested in sports achievements and length of the uniform skirts than academics. They want the girls to conform; thoughtful questioning and critical thinking are unwelcome and quickly quashed. The college counselors are not only useless, they are harmful, discouraging the girls from reaching for colleges that might be a stretch for them. Many of the faculty and staff have been there for years and their primary interest is in protecting their own turf. The physical plant is very attractive and appealing, but there is nothing of substance inside.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2008

Carondelet provides a solid education and safe environment for young women. I was stimulated in my academic strengths and aided with my weaknesses. But the gender inequities between Carondelet and De La Salle make me more and more uncomfortable after graduating Carondelet and, recently, college. They'll feed you a standard line about 'separate administrations' to justify flagrantly inequitable rules while simultaneously co-mingling the students during break, lunch, and upper division classes. The gender integration is great, but the inequities, such as the uniform requirement for girls only and the off-campus lunch privileges for boys only, are the result of sexist policies. Also, my freshmen year at CHS, a fundamentalist guest speaker addressed our class on such issues as the sin of divorce and of abortion in the case of rape or incest. This has disturbed me for years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2008

I had two daughters attend Carondelet. Academically they did very well but I found the environment extremely cliquish within the students, parents, and some of the teachers. If you aren't willing to 'play the game' you will be on the outside. The rules are not enforced fairly, i.e. uniforms, and exceptions are made constantly if you know which buttons to push. There are a handful of wonderful teachers that are committed to these girls and they made it all worth while.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

Carondelet is an excellent school. The academic program is challenging and left me very well prepared to graduate early from college and attend professional school. The environment is very nurturing and the extra-curricular activities are great. I loved Carondelet and hold it dear to my heart today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2007

i have my second girl at this school. has excellent academic programs, even i am not a catholic, i like their religious program in regards to respect, safety, school grounds, parent involvement, last but not least..they bring up independent woman...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

I highly recommend Carondelet for a number of reasons. Firstly, the separation of girls and boys affords tremendous advantages, especially for the girls who tend to focus more easily on their education. The campus discipline is second-to-none and as a parent I had not a worry in the world for my child's safety. Teachers are mostly relational and all 3 of my daughters loved (and still love) the school because of this. We are not Catholic, but Carondelet made exceptions in the past for academically excellent students of other backgrounds and agreed to let us enroll our girls (for a slightly higher fee, I might add!) The education is more expensive than sending a child to the UC system, but well worth every penny. I have no regrets regarding the cost because the experience for all three (and mom & dad) was priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2005

Carondelet is an ok school. The academics are great and it is a beautiful, safe school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

Great option for all-girls education. Teachers are dedicated and caring. Lots of opportunity for personal attention. Students will be well-prepared for college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 30, 2005

This school provided me with a wealth of accademic resources, but little in the way of social/emotional support. I found their emphasis onsmall issues like conformity with dress to be stiffling.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 6, 2005

Excellent instructors. English department is especially solid. Secure environment is provided for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

Top notch in AP History and AP Physics. Administration a bit less forgiving than necessary, but a very safe environment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 18, 2004

This school is a great school. Girls can concentrate on their studies and still get to see boys and interact. They challenge the students which helps the student in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2004

It is a great school. Students who go here are challenged which is great for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2004

My child and I had the best experience years at Carondelet High School. She was totally challenged academically and socially. Students in their Junior and Senior years are able to take classes with De La Salle (all boys school next door). It provides such a safe environment that students are able to concentrate on learning. Parents are always updated on the progress of their children. The tuition is high but it is worth every pennies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Carondelet High School provides an excellent learning environment for girls to excell. There are classes available to challenge all abilities. They encourage them to be strong women and future leaders. They have a reputation for an excellent sports program that results in many state titles. Complaints-it can be very cliquish (but when you have groups of girls, this happens), and the uniform policy is not enforced across the board.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 26%
Hispanic 14% 52%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Christ the King
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 88% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
French
German
Russian
Spanish
Swedish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Literary magazine
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Swedish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French / Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Nancy Libby
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 925.686.5353
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • All girls
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Swedish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • A Cappella Club
  • Anime club
  • Asian Music Club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Equestrian Club
  • Foreign language club: French / Spanish
  • Literary magazine
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • Carondelet High School, founded and sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet, provides quality Catholic education in a caring environment. Carondelet educates, challenges, and enables young women to integrate gospel values, to intelligently apply these values to their lives, and to reflect these values through leadership and service to the greater community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

December 01, 2014

 
62
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Christ the King

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$15000 - $16000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 88%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1133 Winton Drive
Concord, CA 94518
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 686-5353

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Benham Academy
Walnut Creek, CA




Legacy Academy
Pleasant Hill, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT