Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
802 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carondelet High School
no rating

Posted February 22, 2010
- a student
Carondelet was hard for me as an odd person. It was very cliquey. So many girls are fake. It's almost a standard for a normal Carondelet girl to be bubbly and talkative - though that is not true for everyone. Also students who are in sports are much more appraised than those who do not. The school lacks individuality as seen in the uniforms, and caucasian dominance. Though the upside of the school is its safety and education. Never have I seen physical violence. It's a good school for getting into a good college, and there are a couple of amazing teachers. Parents, if your daughter is an outcast, she will be much happier elsewhere. If there's a money issue, try to sign up for the Work Grant program which will cut the tuition in half.

Carondelet High School 4

Posted January 10, 2010
- a student
I just graduated from Carondelet last year and it is an amazing school for teenagers. Yes, the Deans will ocassionally give you problems but the education is worth it.


Carondelet High School
no rating

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
Sending my two daughters to Carondelet was a matter of choosing between the lesser of two evils, public vs. private. Although my daughters both excelled academically, it was mostly through their own efforts. 'All that woman is capable' is really all about sports, there is very little encouragement to those who are not involved in sports or extra curricular activities which are controlled by the 'in crowd' of students and teachers. I agree with other posts that the administration looks the other way for those who 'play the game'. Rules are not enforced fairly. The good teachers are marginalized for not playing the game. Dealing with administration was frustrating; they were not willing to listen, only dictate.

Carondelet High School 2

Posted January 16, 2009
- a student
I feel as though Carondelet has somewhat taken away from my normal high school experience. Its faculty is obsessed with rules and regulations (except with a few special students to which they willingly turn the other cheek) and stifle individualism. Many of the teachers are overprotective of their jobs and are unwilling to make class interesting and creative. The clubs, and sports are very political and often undesirable or impossible to join. Carondelet also makes no attempt to help its students socialize with the De La Salle students, which are separated from one another simply because of gender. In no way do I feel that I would have been 'distracted' by boys nor do I feel that segregating genders is a normal part of adolescence. Although it prepared me quite well for college I don't feel that I am any more prepared than many of my public school educated classmates

Carondelet High School 2

Posted December 30, 2008
- a student
Completely overrated. Carondelet has managed to convince parents that they should pay above average tuition for an very average education, accompanied by bullying from the staff and administration. Their motto-- 'all of which woman is capable'--falls flat, as they are much more interested in sports achievements and length of the uniform skirts than academics. They want the girls to conform; thoughtful questioning and critical thinking are unwelcome and quickly quashed. The college counselors are not only useless, they are harmful, discouraging the girls from reaching for colleges that might be a stretch for them. Many of the faculty and staff have been there for years and their primary interest is in protecting their own turf. The physical plant is very attractive and appealing, but there is nothing of substance inside.


Carondelet High School 3

Posted October 15, 2008
- a student
Carondelet provides a solid education and safe environment for young women. I was stimulated in my academic strengths and aided with my weaknesses. But the gender inequities between Carondelet and De La Salle make me more and more uncomfortable after graduating Carondelet and, recently, college. They'll feed you a standard line about 'separate administrations' to justify flagrantly inequitable rules while simultaneously co-mingling the students during break, lunch, and upper division classes. The gender integration is great, but the inequities, such as the uniform requirement for girls only and the off-campus lunch privileges for boys only, are the result of sexist policies. Also, my freshmen year at CHS, a fundamentalist guest speaker addressed our class on such issues as the sin of divorce and of abortion in the case of rape or incest. This has disturbed me for years.

Carondelet High School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2008
- a parent
I had two daughters attend Carondelet. Academically they did very well but I found the environment extremely cliquish within the students, parents, and some of the teachers. If you aren't willing to 'play the game' you will be on the outside. The rules are not enforced fairly, i.e. uniforms, and exceptions are made constantly if you know which buttons to push. There are a handful of wonderful teachers that are committed to these girls and they made it all worth while.

Carondelet High School
no rating

Posted January 12, 2008
- a student
Carondelet is an excellent school. The academic program is challenging and left me very well prepared to graduate early from college and attend professional school. The environment is very nurturing and the extra-curricular activities are great. I loved Carondelet and hold it dear to my heart today.


Carondelet High School 5

Posted October 06, 2007
- a parent
i have my second girl at this school. has excellent academic programs, even i am not a catholic, i like their religious program in regards to respect, safety, school grounds, parent involvement, last but not least..they bring up independent woman...

Carondelet High School 5

Posted December 15, 2005
- a parent
I highly recommend Carondelet for a number of reasons. Firstly, the separation of girls and boys affords tremendous advantages, especially for the girls who tend to focus more easily on their education. The campus discipline is second-to-none and as a parent I had not a worry in the world for my child's safety. Teachers are mostly relational and all 3 of my daughters loved (and still love) the school because of this. We are not Catholic, but Carondelet made exceptions in the past for academically excellent students of other backgrounds and agreed to let us enroll our girls (for a slightly higher fee, I might add!) The education is more expensive than sending a child to the UC system, but well worth every penny. I have no regrets regarding the cost because the experience for all three (and mom & dad) was priceless.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carondelet High School
1133 Winton Drive, Concord, CA  94518
(925) 686-5353
Last modified Carondelet High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Carondelet High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top