Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Cool, CA
Students enrolled: 519
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northside Elementary School 2

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Pretty sad that one of the first things you see when on Northside Elementary is that "Bets know for seed of change"... really?! Who proofread before submitting? No wonder why our kids can't spell or have a tough time with their academics!!! With this being a small town school many of the teacher and parents are quite "clicky" which makes for an obnoxious and juvenile example for the children.

Northside Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Northside school has some really bad administration and even worse teachers. There is very little parent involvement and the program leaves a lot to be desired. We expected a more positive, balanced experience. The bully behavior in students is reinforced by the staff and administration. If you stand outside the K class at the right (wrong) time you will hear her in there yelling at the kids! It's horrible! No child deserves to be subjected to that kind of behavior.


Northside Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
We spent too many years dealing with poor teaching (only a FEW good teachers), bullying, poor administration and a terrible school board. We pulled our kids out of this district and it was the best thing we have ever done for our children.

Northside Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Northside school has some good teachers and some bad teachers. The good ones are great. The bad ones are very, very bad. Hopefully they will do the community a favor and retire since they don't have their heart in education anymore. We all remember how important having a decent teacher is and how it makes all the difference to the experience of a growing child. Good luck!

Northside Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Northside is now a K-6. It has some fantastic veteran teachers and some new ones too! The best part about Northside is the approach to community involvement. They have the Seeds of Change Program which is a school garden with it's own Farmer's Market run by the students! My student has learned so much about science, biology and math just from this experience alone. Addtionally, they have a wonderful parent volunteer group called the Dream Team with two different meeting times to accomodate parents busy schedule. All this and a solid academic approach.


Northside Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
I have had the pleasure of being a parent at this school for the last 7 years. My son is in the 6th grade now. We have seen alot of positive changes throughout the years. The school continues to improve for students. There is a new parent group called the Northside Dream Team that includes, parents, staff AND students to help implement these positive changes. There are some new teachers there as well. The principal, Wendy Westsmith, is an active member of the school and not just a person sitting at a computer.

Northside Elementary School 4

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
Northside School is clearly committed to its students and community. The staff has adopted Highly Effective Teaching as a course of study during the summer which means our students learn in ways that are rigorous AND relevant and completley hands on! This year students learned hisotry through their own Renaissance Faire's, Silk Road, California History Museums and more. MIddle schoolers took the challenge of a Ropes Course and fifth and sixth grade students traveled to Muir Woods and Fort Bragg to learn about ecosystems! Great Teachers and a fabulous staff!

Northside Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
I believe that Northside is an average school for the area. If parents want better they should look for a private school or get involved more. I have been involved with this school for 4 years and it's true that some teachers need to retire because they have lost their passion for the profession. On the other hand, the school district have lost a lot of funding because of the economy. I think that the school is doing the best that they can do with the resources that they have. Overall, it's a safe and well rounded school except for the extracurricular activities...


Northside Elementary School 2

Posted August 22, 2009
- a parent
My my, how the comments have changed over the last 4 years. That alone should tell us something. Our family has been and Northside for years and we have experienced many changes, not one for the better. The sports teams are weak and there is no staff interest in making this an experience the students will enjoy. Because of budget cuts and the lack of raises due the teachers, the teachers have lost interest in the extracuricular activities. We have discussed removing our children from Northside to put them into a more well rounded enriched school atmosphere. If you are new to the area, check the academic scores before enrolling.

Northside Elementary School 3

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
Northside School is going out of its way to improve the quality of education for its students. The vibrant, energetic new vice principal, who has strong people and communication skills, balances out the principal who has strong administrative skills. While there are a couple of teachers who need to retire, the rest are willing to put in the extra time and effort to help all the children be successful, contributing members of our society. The economic problems existing today are hard on the school, but the administration seems to take these into consideration and do the best they can. My children always feel safe at Northside, and I wouldn't change that for the complications of a big city school any day.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northside Elementary School
860 Cave Valley Road, Cool, CA  95614
(530) 333-8355
Last modified Northside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northside Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top