Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln Alternative Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Corona

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $233,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

Lincoln is a fantastic school, and I have been very happy with my kids here. We have a strict dress code, other parents at other schools think that is "lame". However, I believe it teaches kids to have respect for authority, which unfortunately is a rarity these days. The teachers are great, and our new principle Mr. Leedy is amazing! He has brought new life to Lincoln. Just this year alone, he has brought back or added fun activities, and events for the kids, and the whole family. I couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Our school offers a strong emphasis on the basics of education. Constant push to make our kids better students and just better people in general. The staff is amazing. Our new principal, Mr. Leedy is a breath of fresh air.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

I love Lincoln! Not only great in academic, but the kids are thought to have discipline, respect towards other, and high patriotism. Great parents participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

I have been connected with Lincoln Alternative for quite some time and find it an excellent school. The expectations of parents and staff to maintain high expectations for students both academically and behaviorally is superb. The administration is professional and keeping LAS at the forefront for the betterment of our children is important to them. Teachers are open to new ideas while consistently keeping the original philosophy of the school which are high expectations, challenging academics, structured environment, parent involvement and patriotism. Lincoln Alternative is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

Lincoln Alternative School has been my school of choice for 21 years. All three of my children attended Lincoln and absolutely loved it ! They have excelled ever since. I believe their success largely came from an outstanding education achieved at Lincoln. I am also a teacher at Lincoln having taught several different grade levels over the years, as well as having been a volunteer parent for a period of time when I was a stay home mom. I have found teachers and parents at all grade levels to be child focused, ensuring that every student gets the best education possible. Change is inevitable in any institution. However the ideals of patriotism, respect, discipline, and receiving an excellent education have remained constant at Lincoln.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2012

I am new at this school and I was greeted with a cold welcome. My daughter does not like the school and complains that she does not trust the staff to protect her. I have not had much interaction with the school. Does not appear to be a very welcoming school. I'm not familiar with any of the staff ar admin, but when I presented the principal with an issue I believe he dealt with it the best he could (I hope). People are experiencing difficult times and we are all human. I believe you have to look at the whole picture. One mans trash is another mans treasure. What might work for one, may not for another. Gather the information needed to make the best decision for your child. For our family this is not the right fit. I believe emotional support is just as important as academic support and my daughter is not happy at school. I am researching new schools to transfer her. Good luck to you all and thank you for the helpful reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

The budget cuts impact EVERY school in California not only Lincoln. It is sad. But I still believe Lincoln is a very good school. The parents involvement has been very high already in Lincoln, but now parents have to step in more to help. And in my opinion, we should give a little bit more time for the new principal + new asst. principal to prove their work. My youngest son is in one of the best public schools in Yorba Linda that got Blue Ribbon tittle, because we can't find similar program close by in Corona for him. The facility of the YL school is beautiful and high tech (with big touch screen board + teacher laptop in every class), the teachers are awesome, high scores, but I feel Lincoln teaches more than academic stuffs... patriotism, respect, hard work, and discipline. That's the reason why I will keep my kids in Lincoln, though YL school has a same distance (even less) as Lincoln from my house. I don't mind a lot of homework, though I wish the optional enrichment homework gives opportunity to learn advanced skills not only busyworks. Overall, I am pleased with and still believe in Lincoln.. especially if we, the parents, keep work together with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

We have been at Lincoln for 9 years and must agree with previous posters that the school has changed for the worse. Partially this is due to budget cuts, which the school cannot help, but it is also due to a change in philosophy. The current principal is a good administrator, but shows no interest in the children. The discipline and Lincoln pride once palpable is gone. Lincoln is still a good school, but not the great school it once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

I agree with the last post. My child has changed since she started first grade and does not seam like the cheerful little person she used to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

Posted April 27, 2004 My daughter has attended Lincoln since kindergarten. I also have two siblings that have attended. I am sorry to say that I am very disappointed with the direction the school has taken. Although Lincoln is known to teach to a higher level, I have not found this to be true. The teachers all teach to the california standards test, only. My daughter is not learning the skills that are necessary to acheive great scores in her later school years. My daughter is in 3rd grade, and consistently has a minimum of 2 hours of homework a night. Yet, the work is just busywork. She learns nothing from what is sent home. We are so disappointed with her current education, we are soon going to make the decision to either transfer her from Lincoln to a new school, or to home school her. Submitted by a parent Write your own review
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

I appreciate the school's focus on high expectations and a structures environment. I do wish the teachers exhibited the dress standards expected of students under the dress code. Teachers, especially the male teachers, do not exhibit what is expected of students. The new principal has spent the year watching and experiencing his new school which is much appreciated, especially since he has been a principal for over 20 years. Because of his willingness to observe and his past experiences, I will support any changes he makes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

I have had a child go thru Lincoln and is currently going to enter her Junior year in high school. She is a straight "A student and the disapline she learned early on from Lincoln has been very beneficial. Yes Lincoln is very strict with the academics but this will sever them well as there schooling continues. I also have a 1st grader and next year a kindergardener that will go there. Is it tough? Yes, but in this day and age, it needs to be. The teachers are very helpfull if the student struggles. Take advantage of what help the teacher can offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Lincoln was the biggest let down to my child. Everyone is stereotyped and the priority is not the kids but only the test scores. I was amazed to see how many parents are brainwashed to put academic before the child's emotional needs and how a lot of the children put value on other kids strictly based on their academic achievement. My child has done so much better sense leaving this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Excellent school! The teachers are all very helpful and they love volunteers. They seem to really, truly care as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

I have a first grader and a kinder both attending Lincoln. This is an excellent school if you want your kids to excel.Initially,my spouse was worried about our younger kid attending Lincoln as she is a strong will child.However, after attending Lincoln for several weeks, I see a tremendous improvement in her behavior as well as academic. I am a proud Lincoln parents. The teachers goes above and beyond their duties.Many parents volunteer and are very involved with school activities. The PTA are very active.My kids are getting excellent education and discipline.Best of all, they love their school and come home smiling. For parents who like to attend Lincoln,be prepared for tons of school work and sitting with your kids if you opt for this school. It take both parents and teachers, working together,to produce the best result for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

We have the best parent involvement and fabulous teachers. We've won the California Distinguished school back to back, the only school in our district to do so. Most parents feel that we are getting a private school education for free. We have teachers that go above and beyond the state standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The principal and staff are just so caring and patient. Never put down students. Work hard with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

I have a 6th grader who has attended since kindergarten and I also have a 1st grader. I love this school. It is a great, safe environment. I have never seen any problems amongst the students. The teachers and staff are very dedicated. This school has high academic standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

There is no other school I would choose to send my children to. The Principals and teachers are wonderful. The children come first. Whether a student needs to be challenged or needs extra help they have a system in place to help all children. The academics are very challenging and there is a lot of homework but it is worth all the time. I was recently told by my 9th graders Math and English teachers that they can alway tell a Lincoln kid in their class because they are the only kids that can use critical thinking skills. I don't want my children to come out of school having memorized a bunch of information, I want them to be able to take that information and apply it in everyday life as well as their future education. They also teach the kids to be proud they are Americans!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

I am so proud to have my children attend Lincoln Alternative. The staff and students work so hard and have been recognized as a California Distinguished School in 2004 and iin 2008. This is an incredible accomplishment. The academics are challenging but my students have been very prepared for intermediate school. the dress code is a little extreme but it is part of a program that I travel mnay miles to attend. The teachers, office staff and dministrators really like kids and go above and beyond to provide a fair and consistent academic program. I wouldn't think of going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

905

Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

905

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females73%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students82%
Females80%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females69%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females82%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females87%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females93%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner61%
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate89%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females83%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state82%

Math

All Students92%
Females92%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate84%
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state82%

Science

All Students89%
Females88%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females80%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females71%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 52%
White 35% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 11%
Black 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1041 Fullerton Avenue
Corona, CA 92879
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 736-3336

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT