Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Neil Cummins Elementary School

Public | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Corte Madera

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $765,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

My son (2nd grade) has attended NC for almost three years now and loves it. Great after school program at Twin Cities too. We moved here from San Mateo in 2009 specifically so our kids could be in this school district. My only complaint is the student to teacher ratio in the 2nd grade ECP is too high. Fifty kids with only two teachers isn't optimal even though the teachers are excellent. Hopefully with the new Cove School opening next year they will bring the student-to-teacher ratio down to 20:1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

The posters below have hit the nail on the head with this school, far too much enrichment and not enough basics. And the school is continually asking for hand outs, with little to show for your investment. I cannot fault the teachers, they work hard and deliver the best they can, but when you have a small group of loud and rich parents deciding that children need x, y & z at the expense of the basics and the principllaos unable to stand up and declare "this is my school, I'm in charge" then the teachers are fighting a loosing battle. Plus, the sheer amount of upheaval the students are expected to roll along with is absurd - the entire school is being renovated this summer and for a week before the summer recess there was NOTHING in the classrooms. No learning, and this was in addition to the school finishing 2 weeks earlier than others in the area, and not going back until 2 weeks after the others in the area. My opinion - my children were suffering because of this. And more upheaval is coming because of the new Cove school due to open in 2014.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

agree w/ most of the comments, there are some wonderful parents and teachers, thought I feel there is too much transitioning and not enough uninterrupted time for the basics, the new school in the district may have different programming. i am part of a parent group looking to public Waldorf for more integration, rigor and developmentally attuned curriculum. if you want more info, let me know here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

I am posting to add perspective. My husband and I sold our beautiful home in Peacock Gap, SR and moved to Larkspur that our daughters will have the opportunity to attend Redwood HS one day. We pulled them out of Glenwood Elementary where they now attend NC. In a nutshell, NC does not hold a candle to Glenwood. NC just does not seem to draw the quality of teachers that Glenwood, Ross, Kentfield, SA etc. do. More importantly, there seems to be an inferiority complex from the parents, feeling the need to measure up to the surrounding area. NC spends entirely too much time on enrichment, and not enough time on core subjects developing the basic educational needs of the children. Instead, the teachers spend the day educating the children on vanishing species of lizards, but do not cover the sum of 54 + 98. Very disappointed. NC certainly does not measure up to the hype, not even close. I would gather my children and run back to Glenwood if I were not bound by invisible district lines.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

I m going to pile on to the below post. You nailed it!! I have been waiting to post but not wanting to shake the water. Neil Cummins has become a joke. My son is in his last year and can t wait for him to get out! What he is NOT learning there is unbelievable. My wife spends 2 hours w/him every night, teaching him the stuff a 10 year old SHOULD know. There are a hand full of parents who run the place, and the rest of us plebs get the privilege of donating to every fund raising event that comes along. My head spins how many times this school sticks its hand out. I always donate but I want a RETURN on my investment. That return is to teach my son something useful that he can continue to compete and get into a descent college one day. Neil Cummins seems more concerned with conciliating a group of wanna-be parents trying to keep up with the Jones , then to teach our kids something beneficial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

I attended Neil Cummins way back in the day. I started in Kindergarden in 1992. I was a student who english was a second language. I had the best teachers ever in my life. This school is by far the best you can put your children in. I learned the most at this school then in any other school ive attended. Now i live in San Diego and have a daughter of my own about to enter kindergarden. If i could pick up Neil Cummins and move it here. No school will ever be good enough.


Posted July 17, 2011

My children have been at Neil Cummins over the last 6 years. I volunteer often. There is a great deal of parental participation, not necessarily just in the classrooms. Core curriculum is fabulous and always evolving. My only concern is that my children don t spend enough time in the classroom being taught reading, writing and arithmetic. While the extra" programs are enriching, there are too many and too much needed class time is spent transitioning/settling into and from extras . If you anticipate your child needing extra help in core areas, plan on a tutor. Teachers are, as you would find anywhere, varying. Most are incredibly dedicated in their approach to teaching. The devotion to their students is unparalleled! There are a handful of teachers who perhaps would be happier elsewhere. Unfortunately they are obvious in their discontent. It spills over into their classrooms. Praents in the know chat. Apparently tenure and unions prevent administration from helping those teachers move onto happier environments. Other staff on campus are equally devoted to the students. It s a very kind atmosphere. With few exceptions, NC a very safe and nurturing environment!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

My son was brought here on a rescue mission from St. Pat's. He is a new child. He learns more, he is happier, he can't wait to get to school, doesn't want to leave and is delighted to share the hand-on (read: raising chickens, planting gardens, music concerts, multi-cultural dance in pe) with any and all who will listen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The Staff are efficient and very caring - great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

Neil Cummins is a wonderful school with a dedicated and caring staff/administration, and families that make a difference. In fact, parent involvement is amazing. There are countless opportunities to be involved, and the administration is very supportive. The only area of concern for me is the size. The school is K-4 and 700+ students. There are positives to a large community, but also some negatives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

We have been very happy with this school. Our son is in 2nd grade this year. The teachers are dedicated, the parents are super involved, and the atmosphere is excited and energized. I especially appreciate the way the teachers tailor each child's learning within the classroom to challenge faster learners and provide extra support for those who need it. The physical program and music is great, as are library and tech. There aren't many extracurriculars at school itself because the surrounding community is rich in offerings. There is a school-wide emphasis on good behavior, social skills, and personal responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

This school benefits from a strong leadership team that combines a principal who focuses on teachers, academics, county-wide leadership and a vice principal who focuses on community and student contact. The teachers are excellent, and the parent involvement is outstanding. For a large school, the curricum, community and communication are unbelievable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2005

Neil Cummins is an excellent school. My child was well rounded and ready for High School at graduation. The teachers are mostly very good. Always, a few bad apples.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

901

Change from
2012 to 2013

-16

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

901

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-16

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females73%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females73%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females72%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian55%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females78%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females91%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females80%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 11%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michelle Walker
Fax number
  • (415) 927-6967

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

58 Mohawk Avenue
Corte Madera, CA 94925
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 927-6965

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Allaire School
Corte Madera, CA




St. Patrick School
Larkspur, CA



Ring Mountain School
Mill Valley, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT