Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Costa Mesa, CA
Students enrolled: 56
 

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

21 reviews of this school


Page Private-Costa Mesa 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
I'm reviewing this as an elementary student's parent; I don't know much about the preschool side. I really like this school. I believe it is truly a hidden jewel. Although they may or may not teach more than the public schools as one post mentioned, teachers do not teach to the test. They teach for the sake of learning--like school use to be. As a result, the students are much more engaged, enjoy their classes and learning, and have a lot of fun activities. My child really enjoys coming to school everyday to learn, have fun, and see this friends. The class sizes are small and It's a very closely knit community. It's nice that all of the staff members know and care about all of the students in all of the grades. Bullying has not been an issue, and it seems all of the kids are readily accepted by each other.

Page Private-Costa Mesa 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
I didn't know what to expect from this school, especially since my son's last school was amazing and I was scared that he wasn't going to like it as much. But since he started half a year ago, he never stops talking about his friends and his teachers, and is always excited to go to his new school. He initially started in Ms. Nicole's room and then recently moved to Mrs. Brenda's classroom. Every morning when I use to drop him off with Ms Nicole, I always asked her how he has been doing, and she was always quick to respond if I had any questions about his day before. And I am also very proud that every time I ask him about what he learned that day, he always tells me about a new project or activity. At the end of the day, as long as my son is happy and excited to go to school the next day, I feel they are doing a great job.


Page Private-Costa Mesa 4

Posted November 13, 2012
- a parent
I had some complaints before I took my daughter out and placed in her the public school system. After 1 week at public school, I brought her back to Page School because I realized that she was much further ahead than the public school (in fact, over a year ahead academically). The classes at Page are small (10-15 students a class) and the teachers are on top of the academic issues. I know of another parent who did the same thing --- again, parents return to Page after seeing the public school and realizing their children surpass the public school children educationally. In the past year, Page has been accrediated. There are stricter regulations. The Spanish, English, Reading, Math, Social Studies and Science are fantastic. I am not happy with the sports as they are weak --- and the arts teacher is laughable. But the core subjects are taught well and I make sure my child participates in other sports outside of school to make up for Page's sports gap. [my child doesn't participate in the general sports anyway. Few schools offer sailing and surfing.] Overall -- I sent my child here for academics. I'm getting what I paid for academically!

Page Private-Costa Mesa 2

Posted April 22, 2012
- a community member
I expected that by putting children in private school it meant getting a better education than public school. NOT the case at Page in Costa Mesa. The kids are not excelling, mediocrity is encouraged, and everyone is always a "winner". The school is run by a few of the students' mothers -NOT the principal or assistant principal. Point out a public school that allows parents to sit in the office all day and text with the teachers during the school day! The teacher turnover rate is extremely high, go figure. The teachers do not seem to have the ability to discipline the children that need it. The lack of respect from some students is outrageous. The "arts" education is laughable and the school should be embarrassed. The children can't read or sing music. This isn't an academic environment, like others stated previously, it is a business- a business whose top priority is NOT providing an advanced education. This is a good school for working parents who need after school care for their kids. Security is lax and anyone can walk around the campus at anytime.

Page Private-Costa Mesa 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a community member
I whent to page since I was two and its great!! The teachers are caring and understanding. If i could stay there through Highschool I would. Thankyou for your love and time.


Page Private-Costa Mesa 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
I feel very fortunate to have found this school! The academics are sharp. The atmosphere is loving and caring. The safety is reliable. My daughter just completed Kindergarten, and I have committed to another full year.

Page Private-Costa Mesa 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
This School is great. My son is attending Kindergarten after a full year in pre-K, and I have nothing but praise for the teachers and the staff. The students/teacher ratio is small, teachers follow a well defined, challenging curriculum, and there are lots of extra activities to choose from. Children get to enjoy the pool every day during summer, have the opportunity to enroll in other classes such as soccer, dance, Yoga, multisports, just to name a few. The staff strives for all the students to have a great day, every day. I have been surprised by my son's progress last year, and feel very confident about Page School being the best for him this year.

Page Private-Costa Mesa 1

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
Our daughter learned nothing and missed out on organized school sports because they don't have them! Principal and assistant were pretty much clueless as to what was going on most of the time. Teachers lost papers because of being unorganized. Just a mess of an 'Academic' school.


Page Private-Costa Mesa 1

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
Pulled my son out after a year. Felt more like daycare than school.

Page Private-Costa Mesa 5

Posted September 03, 2009
- a parent
I have see a difference in my childs motivation for learning in two weeks of attending this school!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Page Private-Costa Mesa
657 Victoria Street, Costa Mesa, CA  92627
(949) 642-0411
Last modified Page Private-Costa Mesa is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Page Private-Costa Mesa Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top