Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


California Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Mr. B is our principal and he is wonderful! Our school suffered a set back on the second day of school, as we were flooded. Teachers, students, and staff were displaced for weeks. It was challenging and stressful but Mr. B was 100% involved and managed the chaos. His leadership was solid. California Elementary has great teachers and staff. We have a strong sense of community and parental involvement. Very happy and love our school!

California Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2015
- a parent
California Elementary is amazing and is one of the best schools in the Newport Mesa school district. It's like a nicely hidden little secret. The amazing leadership, faculty and staff along with great parent support and involvement make all the difference. The school's strong Non-Profit Foundation and PTA also help create an amazing learning atmosphere and help provide additional educational experiences and opportunities that are not available to many other schools. Regarding Scores - You can not honestly compare any school by overall or general scores alone. The school zone that California Elementary is in has many great programs for students that are in need or have challenges. The scoring for these students are bundled into the overall score so it does not truly reflect a test comparison of like students. If you compare like students, this zone scores as well if not better than any other zone. Most importantly, no excelling student is hindered in any way by these programs and any students in need of help in certain areas at any level gets the support they need. It is exciting to see such an amazing school getting better and better every year.


California Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
California Elementary has been wonderful! The staff and principal are the best. I love that they run a very organized program. Mr. B is well respected by the children. He is firm and fun! Parental involvement is also very present in this school. I'm very pleased! Go cougars!!!

California Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
My son recently started Kindergarten here & he loves his new teacher & school. The teachers, staff & principle are genuinely caring & sincere. My son was transfer from a PI school & had a horrible experience. Since starting kindergarten here, he's been learning so much & having a wonderful time at school. He loves doing his homework & always look forward to share his "letter item" at the end of each week. His Kindergarten teacher is very dedicated. She goes above & beyond to ensure that every child is learning & having a great time at school. The teachers & staff take every precaution to keep students safe during & after school. This is an outstanding school!

California Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
This school is great. They do a wonderful job of trying to help kids stuggling in areas. The teachers donate time to help these kids. This school doesnt not just push a kid through and make them someone else's problem.


California Elementary School 4

Posted March 09, 2012
- a community member
My siblings go to this school and seem to love it, and I did too when I was there. The teachers and great, and so is the majority of the others who work/volunteer there. The only complaint I hear quite frequently is about the office staff. The woman in the front office never smiles, and is rather rude to parents and children, including myself. It's like the grinch reincarnated into a woman! Also, the janitor always seemed to be lazy, if I remember correctly. Other than these two, the school is fantastic, learning is exciting, and opportunity is endless.

California Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
parents, teacher, and staff are wonderful

California Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent


California Elementary School 4

Posted June 11, 2007
- a parent
Both of my daughters attend this school and we have had a great experience. Most of the teachers tend to be patient and wonderful with the children. The PTA goes above and beyond my expectations. And the Principle, Kellie Smith is very sincere and kind. I only wish the Middle School, Tewinkle, had as great reviews!

California Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 31, 2007
- a parent
California is a phenominal school. Teachers who care, a principal who really is your pal, parents who want nothing more than an outstanding community, and students who are eager and excited for school! The desire of our parents, teachers, and staff to provide a well rounded education from technology to fine arts, from physical education to moral and character development, and least we forget the fundamentals - make for a stellar school and school experience. We certainly are one phenominal Distinguished School!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

California Elementary School
3232 California Avenue, Costa Mesa, CA  92626-2231
(714) 424-7940
Last modified California Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
California Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top