Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maude B. Davis Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 496 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

We're luck to have our son attend Davis. The staff are excellent. Teach and TA and parents are motivated to help kids learn. Most importantly the program at Davis make kids want to learn and want to be in school to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

The staff did a super job. We were lucky to have our son goes there. They kept each student focus to educational goals, and work closely to each and every student including the parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

My child has had a lot of difficulties at this school. I can see why so many reviewers have said they do not like the school. I agree that this school is better than the neighborhood schools, but that is not saying much. Most of the surrounding schools are improvement schools with low test scores. We have a very limited selection of what I would consider "good" schools in our area. That is the only reason my child is still at this school. If we could afford to move our child to another area or another school, we would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

Love, Love, Love this school! Unlike the parent who wrote that last review. I too am at the school several times a week. I've been at the school from the beginning and find it so amazing. I do have another school to compare it to and it blows the neighboring schools away in all aspects. You can tell that the teachers are so happy to be teaching at a school with so much parental involvement. I'm a room mom and I never have any problems getting parents to volunteer. Such a breath of fresh air from the school I came from. My children have way more knowledge and I can see the difference from my oldest child who came from the neighboring school, versus my other child who had been at Davis Magnet from the beginning. So blessed to be apart of this community! Last year there was a 350 child waiting list. Glad to see an unhappy parent leaving to make room for a family who will be very thankful for that spot next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

We have had our child here for several years. Each year, I keep hoping it will get better. It has not. I have seen first hand the lack of education the students actually receive. The school lacks in supervision and disciple of the students. Students can basically do whatever they want and there are no consequences for their poor behavior. Teachers have no control over their classrooms and the new administration does nothing to fix the issues that have been plaguing the school for years. This school has been a complete disappointment for our family. There are several reviews on here about how wonderful the school is, I would have to disagree. I am always at the school. I have been in my child's classroom volunteering every year for hours and hours. I have done all the reading, math facts, and extra work after school with my child. I feel I have a very informed opinion of OUR SCHOOL. I am very involved in the school and the activities. I think the reason that so many parents might feel that this is a great school is because they have nothing better to compare it to. This is our last year at this school. We are moving to a better school district. I would avoid the school if you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

Davis is a great school. the teachers work well with students and the principal is actively involved with the students. we're very happy to have our grandson attend !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

For those of you above with your complaints. I have to say that most likely you did Not in fact do what was expected of you by Our School. You did not do your Math Facts nor Reading Every day for 30 minutes nor your child's Computer programs. You did not invest enough time as a parent to your one or multiple child's needs. As for attitude .. You get back what you give. We are entering our 4th year and are very pleased with the SOARING GRADES that we see from our own child. I stand there every day and see the lack of parenting while certain kids run over The Parents. It has Nothing to do with the school!! Be a better parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

We had three painful years at Davis Magnet School. Now we are in a wonderful educational place in a different state. Davis Magnet teachers we had lacked in lesson planning, parent-teacher communication, and classroom management. Our son's days were filled with doing worksheets, and unsupervised use of technology programs. I volunteered in the classroom, and not once saw actual "teaching", just independent work. The classrooms were chaotic. If there ever were any "projects" those were to be done at home (=parents' responsibility). The math and science focus was a joke. There were a few after school programs, but we did not see anything exceptional in the everyday teaching. However, the music program is great, PTA awesome, and the parents are very involved. Still, we have been so pleased to see the progress our son has made in the new school past year. While at Davis, his performance was always average, but once we enrolled him in the new school, and they tested his skills, he had to be placed in a grade below, because by 3rd grade, the kids in the new school were already a full year ahead where an average Davis Magnet student would have been. Now he is above all standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

The school as a whole is great. We really like the science and music programs. Last year one of our children was in a very rowdy class and the teacher had no control. Our children have only been at this school but I think the teachers need more guidance on dealing with discipline problems. I've noticed that some teachers are firm and others let students rule the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

My son is entering his last year at Davis Magnet. Since the beginning of his journey here as a 2nd grader at the onset of the Magnet curriculum, I can honestly say, "if these children Re the future leaders of our city, county and country...we're going to be in great hands. It's more than just a school. It's a co-op education community of, students, teachers, facility, and parents with a principle that is involved, listens and shares our goals. From music, science, technology, engineering/robotics, these kids could not get a better start in their education. The sky is not the limits here, these kids are looking to the galaxy and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My grandson goes to Davis and loves his teachers and the attention he receives on an individual basis and has excelled in his classes the 4 yrs. of attending! We love Davis!


Posted June 12, 2013

I feel very blessed to be a part of the Davis family. I have two children there and we are going on our third year. Our experience has been nothing but positive. Having never attended any other schools it's difficult to say how it compares, but I can say my children have made wonderful friends, the teachers are fantastic, we love all the programs they offer and especially love the degree of family involvement. The PTA is incredible as well! Because of morning flag deck occurring every day the families have an opportunity to connect with one another, which facilitates stronger relationships within the school. The new principle is awesome and has a positive energy that radiates throughout the school. She seems to be perpetuating Dr. Rafferty's vision successfully. If I had any complaint at all it would be my desire to see stronger consequences and intervention for bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

My son has been at Davis since it opened. He started in 2 nd grade and is now in 5th. We love this school. Every teacher so far has been exceptional . Parents are here because we Want to be here not because its our neighborhood school. Teachers were hand picked by the best principal in the state and they too want to be part of something special. Davis offers wonderful extra programs in science math and technology areas. The school is committed to having 100 % of students achieving competency in the core curriculum not the 80% that the state asks for. I am confused by the negative reviews and what those parents said or experienced because I haven't seen or heard anything of the sort and I'm on campus and involved at Davis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

We were originally very excited about this school. However, the quality of the teaching staff has gone downhill. Although this school may have adopted the philosophy of meaningful homework to no homework, the reality is otherwise. We agree that mindless and piles of homework serve no purpose and do embrace the idea that homework should promote "higher-level thinking", parent involvement, responsibility, retention and good study habits. Based on the assignments we have witnessed year after year, it has been nothing more than the tearing of pages from various workbooks that have absolutely no value. Our Child is finished with the "assigned" homework in a matter of minutes. The only challenging work our child sees is what we as parents are coming up with. Spelling homework has been a joke...copying words down over and over doesn't work. How about the teachers invest more time to construct better lesson plans, and incorporate some strategies students can use at home. To the parent bragging about assigned reading, pretty much a state standard, nothing special there, just like the rest of the davis curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

This is one of the worst schools I have seen in Orange County. The only reason I gave this school one star is because I didn't have a selection for zero stars. Why do I dislike this school? Well we can start with the holier than though attitude I have received from the teachers, and the unwillingness of the prior principal Rafferty, who quit in a rather sudden fashion, to work with parents. The teachers at this school, with the exception of Mr. S, seem to have their "favorite pet" parents. The rest of us are ignored. The assignments given are pathetic, almost none existent. They are no brainer assignments. This will seriously handicap the kids when they get to high school, and college. This anti homework campaign is absolutely absurd. How are kids supposed to learn other points of view when they aren't assigned anything? When they actually get homework it is a mere fill in the blank.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Our daughter has been at Davis since kindergarten. She is now in third grade. She has had a wonderful experience! The teachers are top rate! I've done lots of in class volunteering and the teachers I've seen have all been amazing. Contrary to what the above reviewer wrote I've found that the teachers and staff are incredibly friendly. We were disappointed that Dr. Rafferty left! However, the school is on the right track and most people I've spoken to are confident that the right replacement will be found.. Some of the highlights of the school are the librarian. She's always friendly and approachable. The kids adore her! The science teacher, Ms Brusic is phenomenal. She's great with kids and she's really knowledgeable. The music teacher, Mr. S is energetic and beloved at the school. There are lots of family activities at the school (Sock Hop, Camp Out, etc) that people really look forward to. The final shining star is the teaching staff. They are a sharp group with high expectations. I couldn't be more impressed with the teaching staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

I feel so blessed to have my children attend Davis Magnet School. We couldn't ask for a better principal. Dr. Rafferty goes over and above. He is hands on and inspirational. The teachers are excellent. Combine that with tremendous parent involvement and you have the formula for success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

We are also a first year Kindergarten family and I am impressed. The academics are superior. Teachers collaborate within and without of their grade levels and demonstrate flexibilty that enhances learning. The principal is remarkable - he is always available for matters large and small and is a true leader. The community of families is strong, supportive and positive. This school has all the ingredients needed to continue to grow better and better year over year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

My daughter is finishing Kindergarten and I am beyond pleased with her progress. The teachers go above and beyond what is expected of them and make learning fun, yet challenging. Dr. Rafferty is by far the best principle in the district. He is always on campus for flag salute, helps with the loading and unloading of kids during pick up and drop off and has high expectations of his staff, students and parents. Dr. Rafferty can always be found at the PTA meetings and was extremely dedicated in getting our relationship with NHL's Ducks to partner with the school. With top notch free after school programs for all grade levels to enrich their learning, what more could you ask for. I love this school and look forward to my other two children attending in the future. It can only get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2011

This is my sons second year here and I couldn't be happier. The teachers are awesome and I'm amazed every year by how much he learns. He's in first grade now and is reading books for 3rd graders, but I never feel like he's being pushed too far. My 3 year old just started Pre-school here, and I'm just as happy with it. Can't wait for all the years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

937

Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

937

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females74%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females86%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females68%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate66%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females88%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females92%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females89%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Females95%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students98%
Females100%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students95%
Females90%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females88%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students94%
Females82%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 19%
Asian 10%
Two or more races 4%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/AN/A
English language learners 6%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 Arlington Drive
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 424-7930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bright Hall Academy
Costa Mesa, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT