Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Elementary School

Public | K-2 | 480 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2014

Take caution when going to this school, it could harm your child, compromise education and recently hurt your career if you are an employee or Teacher. There is favortism shown to people that ask for accountability, report accomodations not met for not just students, but staff employees. In some cases the Principal will not support people or even students when asking for assistance, a safe and secure school to learn, grow and employees might even have their career or job jeapordized. It is surprising that this behavior has continued for years and discussed openly in the Community and School environment and needs to be addressed immediately. We as educators, Parents and students need to stop this from happening to others and take a stand to stop this behavior of harming others, especially innocent children.


Posted January 14, 2014

We love Woodland! If you are looking for a school with great teachers, wonderful staff and an active & supportive parent community this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

Woodland is a wonderful school because of the parent and staff support. It is a Kindergarten through second grade primary elementary school, which fosters young minds. I love all the teachers and the school environment. My children are excited to go to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Love Woodland! I am a mom of triplet boys who just completed Kindergarten. They are each unique individuals and were all in separate classes. Each teacher was a perfect match for my boys. They are caring, wonderful women and terrific teachers! They were great with communication and very supportive of me as a mom who just returned to work in a part time position after being a stay at home mom from birth through preschool. One of my boys required an IEP. The reason for the lower rating for the Principal is that she discouraged me from pursuing an IEP and told me some untruths about the process. I believe she is near retirement. I contacted the Special Education Director for the district, met with her and the process was immediately implemented. I truly think you must be an advocate for your child. I love Woodland; I like the fact that it is K through third grade. The campus is small. The John Wooden attributes are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My daughter just completed Kindergarten at Woodland and we were very happy with our experience. The school focuses on John Wooden's amazing values and builds self-esteem and confidence. I love that it is K thru 2 - a truly unique school. I am hoping we are as happy with first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

It s been a while since I ve had children at Woodland, but we had an excellent experience there. I have had two children at Woodland and Kaiser, one is now at Ensign (in honors English and Math, which his elementary school teachers did a great job preparing him for), and one in 6th grade at Kaiser. We were very happy with the teachers we had at Woodland (all but two of them are still there). I always loved the fact that the school had only K-2, it was such a nice, protected environment for the younger children. I walked my kids to school every morning and the teachers and parents were always friendly and social. The level of parent involvement is good, and through the years it has grown even stronger. That being said, there are a handful of teachers between the two schools that I would not have wanted for my kids, but you are going to have that situation at any school (believe me, I have heard complaints from Mariners, Newport El, Newport Hts., and Carden parents sometimes you have a bad year). But we have loved Woodland and Kaiser and have had wonderful teachers the whole way through. My kids have received an excellent education, and made great friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

I'm a concerned parent of a to be kindergartner. The school sounds nice but the not so good reviews scare me. Is there anyone who can help me feel comforted? Thank you.


Posted June 23, 2012

This elementary school is the best in the area...the teachers are incredible and they are lead by an amazing principal who has been setting an academic standard of excellence for many years. Check out the recently added kinder-garden where the students can learn science with a hand-on experience. Also, a science teacher was added to teach the first and second graders in a dedicated science lab for 45 minutes each week!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

Woodland is the best kept secret in Newport-Mesa! The teachers are fantastic and the environment for learning one of the best. The teachers are accessible, open and focused on helping your student achieve their best. The front office staff is welcoming and cares about the students. It is also nice to have the K-2 format because the focus is on the primary grades. The students have a full computer lab, music program, "kinder-garden", reading specialists and science taught by a credentialed science teacher! The parent organizations, (the PFO and Foundation), also work together with the school to help provide some of these programs; and they continue to look for other areas to make Woodland even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

woodland is an amazing school the staff there in the office and in the school have been great . The my daughters teacher has worked hard for my daughter to be able to succeed. I really love this school and apperciate all the hard work they do for me and my child. Thank you so much Woodland
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

Amazing teachers, great staff, and parents who are extremely involved!!! This is a little gem of a school in Costa Mesa!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

Wow! What an amazing group of teachers, students and parents at Woodland. I have been fortunate enough to have a WONDERFUL experience at both Woodland and Kaiser (the 3-6 feeder school across the street)! My two boys loved Woodland. I love Woodland! From the moment you walk on campus and see the beautifully painted murals depicting John Wooden's Pyramid of Success, you feel welcome! You then walk into the office where you are greeted with a smile and sometimes even open arms. I've never had a bad experience as other raters have had. They must have been having a really bad day when they filled out their rating. The campus is clean, safe, well organized and there are so many teachers working hard to challenge each child every day!!! They have an amazing computer lab, smart boards, new playground equipment, healthy food, highly qualified and educated teachers and a loving staff. I find it hard to believe what the other raters have said about the staff members. Very hard to believe. Check out for yourself what a great school it is. PS Principal is spelled with PrinciPAL, not principle:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

Both our boys have finished their 3 years at Woodland! We are actually sad that we won't be returning. We believe that most of the teachers are EXCELLENT and truly care about the kids! We did have only 1 teacher that wasn't our favorite...but that is normal. I love the parent participation too! The front office is friendly and helpful. Again we will miss Woodland!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

The principle and some of the staff will destroy your Childs self esteem and character. There is no accountability and our tax dollars are being set up to destroy our precious children year after year. My child went to this school and was reprimanded for asking questions which in turn made her feel like she could not raise her hand in the classroom. One of the teachers would scream so loud at the children you could hear her outside the door. You will also be discouraged from walking on campus and not feeling you can stay a few minutes before or after school. My child was traumatized from a teacher not having patience teaching children at all. If you are brave enough to report anything to the principle she will turn it against you ridicule your parenting skills. Make sure you get your childs meaningful work, if you ask too late you will be told the teacher thru it in the trash can and devastate your child. My neighbors around me experienced similar things, however their children were punished for going to the bathroom after lunch and isolated from others during class time for no reason. Our society should come together and not reward lifetime jobs and benefits to these people. MC
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

this school lacks of guidance from the the principal. She does not provide help or solutions for out-of-track students. My son was recently humiliated in front of the class for a misstep. Isn't the school staff there the guide children?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

We adore this school. The teachers are excellent and work well together, there has never been a lack of parent participation in doing projects, helping with activities, and helping the teacher. We came from a major urban area and loved our school and were delighted to find the academics and special activities were so rich for this school! We're in first grade now and our daughter is thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

It's too bad that one parent who has a bad experience can write a review that can ruin the reputation of an excellent school with strong leadership, skilled teachers and a safe and nurturing environment. I currently have one child at Woodland and two that have moved on to Kaiser, Woodland's sister school. Throughout the six years I have been involved at Woodland, I couldn't have been more pleased with the educational environment it offers. Each of my children learn differently and have individual needs that need to be addressed. The staff and principal worked with me to meet these needs and choose the correct teacher placement for the following years. I rate this school with the highest rating possible. When parents and staff work together, all students are winners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Greetings, I'm a current staff member of the NMUSD and have a child who's a student at this school. While I can speak positively about our experience in Kindergarten, the opposite is the case for our experience in first grade. My child's teacher is in her last year. She actually had the audacity to inform me that she's on HEAVY medication for her aching back. She uses humiliation and intimidation to keep her kids in line. She actually sends her first graders back to the kindergarten class if they don't finish their work on time!! She's kept my kid sitting in the back of class all day and all year long. And that's not all...my child actually got written up for not eating his sandwich at lunch, and for 'acting like a baby' in the words of the teacher. She called him a baby to the class!! No accountability!


Posted May 20, 2009

I have a child that attended k and 1st at this school and pulled her out to put in private due to the lack of learning she was receiving. The principal was of no help when I had questions about happenings in the classroom. The teacher did not even look at the work the students were doing or not doing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

My son has been in K for 6 months now and he is doing very well in reading, math and writing. Really great teacher and have other good things going on like the arts program, 'good' food education and generally well rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

845

Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

845

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females72%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability47%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females72%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 27%
Hispanic 25% 51%
Asian 2% 11%
Black 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2025 Garden Lane
Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 515-6945

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Joachim School
Costa Mesa, CA


Mariners Elementary School
Newport Beach, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT