Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles W. Tewinkle Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Costa Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $465,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

My kids have done very well at Tewinkle. The kids are extremely nice, and they have had zero problems with anyone. I'm sure there are some kids with issues, but what school doesn't. The teachers are wonderful, and have challenged both my kids. I couldn't be more proud of my children, and the readiness that Twinkle proved for them. I think it is important for children to attend a diversified school; it has enrich their lives by close association with people from a wide range of races and cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

I am a parent of a newly promoted 8th grader. I must say, I had my reservations about TeWinkle. There were many rumors about TeWinkle, and the "bad' students, 'gangs'...the list goes on. I told my daughter who was and will be in all AP classes, that the moment she felt she wasn't learning, or she felt bullied etc. to let me know. To make a long story short, every fear I had was completely, and utterly unfounded. The kids there are friendly, polite, and sweet. My daughter knew only children who were motivated to do well, considerate and a pleasure to know. The teachers were SO helpful, hardworking and communicative. My daughter scored in the advanced levels on the STAR tests, and now she is in all honours classes as she moves onto High School. TeWinkle is great, and I will never judge a school again, until after my kids have attended it. One more thing, the old and the new principals are completely available for any concerns you may have. The school is small, and it is very easy for parents to be involved in their child's very good education. There are many non-white students there, and they are no different than my kids. A wonderful and all too fast experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

This year is one of the best years I have had at TeWinkle. We got a brand new gym, and it is my 8th Grade year. There is a new program at Tewinkle called ZAP (zeros aren't permitted) if you do not complete your homework you have to call your parents, to tell them you will be staying after school to complete your homework. I think this program has been very effective. I am looking forward to my years at Estancia.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

This is my son's second year at Tewinkle. We moved to this area from Buena Park where my son went to elementary school for all 6 grades and kindergarten. The move was difficult for him. He had no friends as they were all left in Buena Park schools. I am happy to say he has adjusted well at Tewinkle and now has many friends. He loves school and is really working hard this year to improve his grades over last year. Tewinkle is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

I am a teacher at TeWinkle, and I am so proud of the gains our school has made. Our principal has set a climate where teachers are allowed to teach and students are encouraged to reach for excellence. I saw very few, if any, disruptions during this last school year. If you want a school that is supportive and active in the community - TeWinkle is the best choice!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2008

I am a teacher at TeWInkle. Nothing special about it either way. It's a normal middle school with the same positives/negatives as any other. Your child will succeed if you value education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 30, 2008

i currently go to tewinkle and i think its a cool school i havent seen any physical bullying yet so i think in those years they bullied but not this year so maybe there is a little name calling but doesnt that happen in almost every school if you never attended that school dont vote.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2008

Even though some people don't want to pass, most of the students do want to succeed. The teachers are good and Dr.Baurmeister (sp?) has many programs to help failing students with their studies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2007

My son tells me that his classes at Tewinkle are filled with so many disruptive students that many of his teachers have to yell just to get the class to quiet down so they can begin teaching. Although this may work I don t really think it looks that professional and it wastes my son s learning time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

I currently go to tewinkle school(2007) and it is truly horrible. The teachers are very un-open and embracing with there students. I get bullied alot here and I do not reccomend this school for any parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

I attended Twinkle (as we called it) from 1999-2000. The bullying was intense, and resulted in broken (nose, ribs). The teachers knew what was going on and supported the bullies, once informing me that I would have detention for a week while I was at the emergency room getting stitches from being smashed with a glass bottle. I went on a hunger strike and went from 85 lbs to 65 before the let me to transfer to Ensign with some classes at OCC. If your child is black, foreign other than Mexican, small or smart, do NOT send them Tewinkle.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 18, 2006

I was a student at TeWinkle Middle School from 2003-2006, and I had a great experience. There are many programs that will benefit every kid, such as Nature Academy, Leadership, Web Desgin and much more. All of the teachers I had taught me loads of useful information that I know have prepared me for real life. I recommend TeWinkle Middle School for anyone looking for a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 27, 2006

Every school will have issues. I like the direction the new administration is taking the school and I think my daughter has had a really positive experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

I go to this school and I personally hate it. They have new principals and they are very mean and strict. They seem to want everyone to conform into one little group of perfect people. I mean they have the stupidest dress code rules and GANAS list which I don't even think should be there. A friend of mine and I were going to protest against them to the school board because of this. So look out for protestors against Tewinkle soon!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

791

Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

791

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
41%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females48%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state42%

Math

All Students47%
Females45%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students99%
Females98%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate97%
Parent education - high school graduate94%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state100%

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females56%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state49%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students46%
Females44%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability17%
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state43%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students56%
Females51%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state52%

Science

All Students66%
Females64%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 82%
White 13%
Asian 1%
Black 1%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
English language learners 45%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kira Hurst
Fax number
  • (714) 424-5680

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3224 California Avenue
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 424-7965

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Soteric Academy
Costa Mesa, CA



Kline School
Costa Mesa, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT