Advertisement
Advertisement

Christ Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 152 students

Educating the Whole Child while providing a safe, caring environment.
 
 

 

Living in Costa Mesa

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $430,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2014

This school is very individualized for the student. The small class size allows for lots of attention to each child. There are wonderful programs in music, sports, engineering, dance etc. The after school program is wonderful too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

This is an amazing "regular" school that also works well for kids who learn differently -the teachers are all so patient and everyone is willing to find a way to reach and teach every child. Their after school tutoring program is also excellent and helped my son tremendously. Class sizes are small, teachers are awesome, families are very involved, and the principal and other administrators really go out of their way for each and every student. It is one of the only schools I know of where the principal knows the name of every child! It is not a school specifically for kids with learning challenges, but those kids fit right in and excel at this school, especially 2e kids who are very bright but also face learning or attentional problems. The religious aspect is also wonderful, as everyone is focused on being kind to one another, so bullying is much less of an issue than at other schools. Obviously, it is not the best school for kids with huge behavior problems, as they can't really tolerate highly disruptive kids, but the small class sizes and good structure make it easy for every child to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2013

My daughter completed her first year of preschool as a Blue Star (3 yr olds) and I can't say enough great things about this school. The Staff knows and loves the students. My daughter received rich academic instruction, love and care, a strong spiritual focus and incredibly fun experiences. Every day was an adventure and she loved it. I'm so grateful I chose Christ Lutheran!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

I graduated from CLCM in 1984 having attended since third grade. It was the best place to grow up. My seventh grade teacher still teaches there.


Posted April 25, 2012

Love this school! Caring staff, safe and loving environment. Strong faith based academics, art, music, sports program, yearly musicals, after care program, summer program, great middle school trips, family events and so much more. Christ Lutheran is more than a school, it's a family! The small class sizes allow your child to get more one on one attention. My children have blossomed at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

The teachers and administration of this school listen and try to meet the needs of students and parents.


Posted November 13, 2011

We've been very happy with CLS. One daughter is in 3rd grade, and this is her 4th year. The younger one is in their excellent preschool program. They're very caring toward their students and there is a real sense of community within the school. The teacher's are excellent. As a Christian school, they aim to develop the entire child. Tuition is very reasonable, and the student-pupil ratio is much lower than public schools. We very enthusiastically recommend CLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

Our family has attended this school for over 5 years now. We've been very pleased with the curriculum and hands on learning. Class sizes are small so kids are able to have access to great science activities. We also love that there is not a lot of fundraising. Art Masters, Science labs, regular art classes, music, library etc is all included. Our kids get so much more than there public school friends. Nothing is ever cut. Lots of parent participation. Teachers and principal Nordmeyer easy to reach via email daily if I have a concern or question. Thankful for all this school has to offer our kids! They are surely getting a 1st rate education in a small classroom setting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

So proud to be a part of this amazing school. The class sizes are small so each child receives lots of attention. The teaching staff is what keeps us coming back year after year. Love all the creativity that takes place here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

I have had children go from Kindergarten thru 8th grade and what an incredible, well rounded education. The teacher's truly care about the kids success and the environment is kind and loving. Both kids are very successful in high school and I feel it is due to the foundation Christ Lutheran helped form academically and in their confidence. I would recommend!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

I have had two children go through this school and we as a family have been truly blessed. The staff is loving and caring as well as having a strong desire to see your child succeed. The environment is welcoming and family friendly. I always felt my children were safe and in good hands. I could not even imagine my kids ever going anywhere else. We feel a big part to the success they have had in high school is due to the well rounded education and Christian environment at Christ Lutheran School. You can't go wrong!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

Beware of this school, alot of turn over and they only care about your money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

We were at another area school before moving. Have graduated 3 children from Christ Lutheran. Excellent well-rounded school with caring professional staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

Both of my children have attended Christ Lutheran since preschool. Now I have a 16 y/o daughter at Newport Harbor High School and one son still in 7th grade . We have felt very blessed to have the opportunity for our children to attend Christ Lutheran School. The loving , supportive and challenging atmosphere they have experienced helped them to excell in academics and athletics. Our daughter in high school involved in Honors classes and will move into AP classes next year. Also, she is involved in Varsity athletics at the high school. The Christ Lutheran plays, choir and weekly Chapel time has allowed both of our children to become very comfortable in public speaking. I highly recommend the school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I sent my oldest child (H.S. Class of 2001) through public school. I now have a child in middle school at Christ Lutheran. While both of my children had a great education, my youngest has the added benefit of a Christian education in a nurturing environment. The school is WASC accredited and uses textbooks approved by the State of California, just like the public schools. Because of this, I know that my child will be prepared for high school and college. The best part of the school is the sense of community. We are members of the church and regularly see the teachers at Sunday services. They are part of our community and we have relationships with them out of school as well as within. In a day and age when teachers try to get as far away from their students as possible outside of school, this is refreshing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

You cannot go wrong here. The current administration is the best. The staff's number one concern is your child's relationship with the Lord Jesus. Of course, your child's academic concerns is always of utmost importance as well. The children are happy. What could be better?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I have children attending both their preschool and the elementary school. I've had nothing but an amazing experience here. The staff is truly first rate. This is a school where you will know the parents and staff by name and make great friends for life. My children are so loved by their teachers, we feel like part of a family here. My children have grown so much since starting here. They are more compassionate, thoughtful and caring. After looking at several neighboring schools, we chose this school b/c of the credentials of the staff, the class size, the curriculum (not the homeschool Abeka one used by most), and parent recommendations. One trip here to meet the staff and students and you will be impressed. The preschool is phenominal and unlike any we've been apart of! We've enjoyed all aspects of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2007

My child attended Christ Lutheran for 11 years and enjoyed her experience while she grew in her faith. Christ Lutheran helps to develop long lasting relationships both between teachers and students and students with other students. My child, who is now attending college at a UC still keeps in touch with many of her former friends and teachers from Christ Lutheran. The community that Christ Lutheran has developed allows the children who attend the school to feel safe and loved while they learn scholastically, develop in their faith, and learn how to build lasting relationships with others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

When you walk onto the campus of Christ Lutheran you really notice how friendly and supportive the administration, teaching staff, and other parents are. Most children thrive in this exceptionally loving and supportive environment. Emphasis is placed on Christianity, education, and respect for oneself and others. Sept 2006, the schoolyear started with a new senior pastor and principal. They are very energetic and have many years of experience. It is not difficult to make an appointment to see any of the administrators or teachers if you have a concern. My child never has a bad day at Christ Lutheran. (CLS also has a terrific preschool, after school care program, and summer program.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

We chose this school because of its religious affiliation, small class size, and uniform policy. The academics are not what we had hoped for and are almost identical (minus religion) to those in a public school setting. It is because of that reason we will likely look elsewhere for the years to come. The staff, for the most part, is friendly and competent but not adequately trained to handle gifted and/or any needs beyond the 'normal' range. Overall, I would say it is an average school with a big heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 75%
Hispanic 12%
Asian 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Black 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
German
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • WASC Accreditation (2011)
  • NLSA Accreditation (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Caleb McFerran
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • Website
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Fax number
  • (949) 631-6224

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Performing Arts
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Skateboarding
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Dance
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Christ Lutheran is a "cool little school" that fosters a loving, collaborative relationship with families as we prayerfully partner together to equip the next generation of Christ-centered, faith filled, noble men and women that our world so desperately needs. WE ARE K.N.I.G.H.T.S. FOR C.H.R.I.S.T.!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
62
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
62
Students typically come from these schools
Christ Presbyterian Preschool
Redeemer Lutheran Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Orange Lutheran High School
Edison High School
Estancia High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

760 Victoria Street
Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 548-6866

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Page Private School
Costa Mesa, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT