Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
700 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mariners Christian School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
I couldn't be more proud to have my kids at MCS. i just attended the 4th grade trip to Sacramento with my oldest son and it was amazing to see the work the teachers put into the entire experience. Each grade for each kid has always delivered what I believe to be the most important piece at this stage of educational development: A teacher who cares

Mariners Christian School 3

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
The great thing about this school is the teachers. They are fantastic! Very nurturing to the kids. The Christ-centered teaching is great! Christ is infused in everything they do. The unfortunate part about the school is the community. For a Christian community, there is not a lot of Christianity going around with either the parents or being passed down to the children. I wish that the focus was on truly screening the applicants for their character instead of their checkbooks.


Mariners Christian School 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
It is unfortunate that the last reviewer is probably not at this school this year to experience the positive changes taking place. We've been here long enough to see several changes, but this one is different. You can really feel the excitement of a new and fresh beginning and we are so blessed to be a part of it! New staff members and a new board have brought nothing but great things this year! The board is actively seeking out parent involvement in the new head of school search (while being led by a fantastic interim head of school). Yes, they want parent involvement in this selection! The Lord is very evident in this place as our children are learning about Him while being challenged spiritually and academically. We could not be happier with the direction the school is going and are looking forward to what The Lord is going to do in the days ahead.

Mariners Christian School 2

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
I find it interesting that there are no reviews from 2014. This school has had a massive amount of families leave in the last year. Families are done with the lack of leadership, low teacher morale, bullying, condescending board, and faux Christian families entering. If you knew someone that went to this school years ago please know that school no longer exists . Do your research before investing in MCS.

Mariners Christian School 4

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
The statistics on Great Schools is out of date. The principal is Bob Sladek and there are closer to 24 students per class and the diversity must be wrong. There is a big mix of ethnicity and economic levels. The teachers are very nurturing and well balanced with teaching the whole child. The students are very prepared for high school. We are only in 2nd grade but are very happy so far. Our daughter loves learning at MCS.


Mariners Christian School 2

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
I would agree with the reviews of the school lacking in diversity yes very true and also lots of drama great for the average child not advanced or needing help and even then lots of average kids needing tutoring. Was a great school past several years has gone down hill lots of staff turn over lots of drama noting special here not the bill of goods being sold wish they were more honest but they won't tell you the truth if they did you would enroll elsewhere

Mariners Christian School 1

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
MCS has great facility to accommodate children for learning. Unfortunately 96% of students are white children and 1% of other ethnicity in this diversified neighbors. Even with teacher and pastors recommendation letters admission directors will not favor you if you are a minority. MCS should take the (Christian) word out of school name to fit the school profile.

Mariners Christian School 3

Posted February 24, 2013
- a parent
The school is just average I have had a more diversified experience at other private school. Yes many of the children lack in kindness and the teachers seems not to address these issues. They also lack the attention to children who need a little extra help academically or those who are advanced as they are sucked up by lots of kid drama. Being in the classroom has enlightened me to many of the shortcomings of this school not the school we were sold. Not bad, every school has their issues just not what were were expecting or promised.


Mariners Christian School 5

Posted October 25, 2012
- a parent
My family has had the best experience at Mariners Christian School for the past 2 years. My son has excelled in reading and math, and his knowledge of our Lord. We have connected with so many families at MCS, and have also grown in our faith and love in our Lord! As far as "bullying and mean girls," MCS has addressed incidents last year and this year by teachers and by the principal. I know this for a fact, my son keeps me informed. My son has never encountered this behavior, but he did learn about it at Chapel a couple of Fridays ago. We are involved with our kids, teachers and other families, so we are always on top of things. We love MCS, and would recommend it to anyone!

Mariners Christian School 5

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
Mariner's is a great school. They are very caring about all the students and truly embrace the whole child and the entire learning experience. You are greeeted by a smiling staff everyone morning and the principal stands at carpool and waves good bye to the children every afternoon. It's a great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mariners Christian School
300 Fischer Avenue, Costa Mesa, CA  92626
(714) 437-1700
Last modified Mariners Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Mariners Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top