Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Over 100 members of the Badillo community came out to read and play fun, interactive reading games together on September 22nd. Teachers facilitated a variety of reading games, like Tick-Tack-Toe a Word, String Stories, and Stretch-a-Word. Mrs. Drake began the night with an introduction to our AVID program, explaining just what becoming an AVID Elementary School means for Badillo students. The evening culminated with an exciting raffle. Parents and students had the chance to win great prizes that included gift cards to Amazon, iTunes, and Starbucks, and every student got to take home a book! Special thanks to the Badillo PTA and teachers for all their support to make this fun night happen for our community; and thanks to all the families who took the time to attend and show that reading is not only a very important skill, but can be a lot of fun! Visit www.cousd.net for more info on Badillo Elementary School!
November 05, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
After hearing that our kinder playground had been broken into and several tricycles were stolen, teacher, Rosanna Villolobos, reached out via Facebook for help. Her cousin responded with a generous offer to replace one of our tricycles and asked his Facebook friends to match it. One of his “friends,” Sean Lee, is a member of the Purist Organization. A group of car enthusiasts who help members of the community when there is a need. He suggested they help Badillo with some much needed playground supplies. The group agreed and they decided to hold a car show with the proceeds helping Badillo. Mr. Rea, a parent of a Badillo kinder student and a member of the Purist group and a District Representative for Senator Bob Huff, let me know what his organization had done. I suggested they present their donations at our Friday Spirit Assembly. So on Friday, January 29, 2016, several members of the Purist Organization: Mr. Lee, Mr. Rea, Mr. Wang, and Senator Bob Huff were here to present their very generous donation that included balls, hula hoops, tricycles, scooters, and Leap Frog tablets, just to name a few. Staff and students were overwhelmed with the generosity of the Purist Organization and extremely thankful for their help. Mr. Lee shared that he does this because he loves seeing smiles on students’ faces. Believe me, there were a lot of smiling faces at Badillo today and they’ll continue to smile as they enjoy playing with all their new equipment!
Posted May 09, 2016

Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
The technology team set up the new Makerbot Printer and Scanner at Badillo in November. There was a learning curve but they got the hang of it. They then proceeded to Glen Oak later that day to set up Glen Oak's equipment! MakerBot is a company that manufactures 3D printers. A "3D printer" sounds like something boring, so MakerBot Industries has chosen an excellent name. A 3D printer is a device that creates physical objects from digital plans. You can fill it with ABS (what Lego blocks are made of) or PLA (biodegradable and made of corn), download or make designs on a computer, press "go," and create replicable, real objects. We can’t wait to see what the Panthers and Eagles create!
Posted April 05, 2016


Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
On December 7th, 8th, and 9th, the elementary music program in Charter Oak gave outstanding performances at the Royal Oak Gym. Monday night Glen Oak and Badillo had over 300 students performing and over 500 parents attending. The same numbers were evident on Tuesday night with Cedargrove, and then again on Wednesday night with Willow and Washington. The students sang many fun and beautiful holiday songs, displaying some amazing harmonies along with their singing. The night was truly a great success and showed how much the children in Charter Oak love to sing and perform.
Posted March 01, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Over 100 members of the Badillo community came out to read and play fun, interactive reading games together on September 22nd. Teachers facilitated a variety of reading games, like Tick-Tack-Toe a Word, String Stories, and Stretch-a-Word. Mrs. Drake began the night with an introduction to our AVID program, explaining just what becoming an AVID Elementary School means for Badillo students. The evening culminated with an exciting raffle. Parents and students had the chance to win great prizes that included gift cards to Amazon, iTunes, and Starbucks, and every student got to take home a book! Special thanks to the Badillo PTA and teachers for all their support to make this fun night happen for our community; and thanks to all the families who took the time to attend and show that reading is not only a very important skill, but can be a lot of fun! Visit www.cousd.net for more info on Badillo Elementary School!
Posted November 05, 2015

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Badillo Elementary School is going AVID, that’s Advancement Via Individual Determination. All teachers, Kindergarten through sixth grade, have attended training and are enthusiastically implementing AVID strategies in their classrooms. Walking through rooms one will see many examples of AVID systems at work. Students taking two and three column notes, setting SMART goals, creating artwork showing “Successful Students,” using organizational tools that encourage them to be accountable and responsible, like agendas, subject notebooks, backpacks, and book bags, and lots of collaborative leaning. AVID’s mission is “to close the achievement gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society.” Badillo is working collaboratively to cultivate intrinsic motivation by creating a vision of academic success. Getting Badillo students, even at the kinder level, talking about where they want to go to college is a big focus at our school. Classrooms have adopted a college and use that as an overall theme in their rooms. Our slogan, “Badillo Knowledge will get you College,” is visible throughout our campus. With a purpose to provide all our students with fundamental skills to promote academic success, self-efficacy, and self-advocacy, all Badillo students are on their way to becoming successful, life-long learners and, eventually, college graduates!
Posted October 16, 2015


Badillo Elementary School 4

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
We have had great experience with teachers and staff. Any issues get addressed. School has great activities/events and involes families. Would like to see a gardening club and more awards given out to recognize students more.

Badillo Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2011
- a parent
Most of all the teachers are great @ Badillo, I have 3 children attending & only 2 love it, im hoping that this year my youngest daughter gets a better teacher. besides that we (my children & I) have had great teachers, Staff & an AWESOME PINCIPAL so far(=

Badillo Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
This is my son second family is very small groups and they have after school activitis.


Badillo Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
This is a very competent school the same average of any private school around I do have one of my kids in private school but when I found this school I compare the difference thanks Badillo.

Badillo Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 17, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent personaly just love badillo cause my child attended badillo since 3 grade. badillo has a great staff and wonderful principal especilly teachers (: p.s I just want to say u rock badillo panthers

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Badillo Elementary School
1771 East Old Badillo Avenue, Covina, CA  91724-3126
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (626) 966-1753
Last modified Badillo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top