Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,891 students|Charter Oak Unified
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The California Department of Education recognized COHS as one of 373 schools in the state to receive Gold Ribbon status! The Gold Ribbon recognizes “exemplary students, teachers, classified employees, and schools for advancing excellence in education.” Math teachers had a specific role in this achievement, as Charter Oak applied for this award for math. The new Common Core teaching has been implemented at Charter Oak through the math department. Since this school is no longer using California Standardized Testing (CST) tests, the math department transitioned to Common Core teaching practices to prepared students for the new Smarter Balance Testing. The smooth implementation and transition into Common Core gave our administration the opportunity to apply for and be awarded the Gold Ribbon designation.
October 13, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
COHS BioClub students have made a $260 donation to the Science Department. The club donates half of the proceeds from the recycling program to the department each year. The science department will be using this money to purchase replacements for broken scales that will benefit all science students. We have a partnership with the San Gabriel Valley Conservation Core and they pick up the bags of recycling we collect, sort and recycle the beverage containers, and send us a check for the profits. Charter Oak High School has the single biggest recycling program of any school or busin e s s t h a t SGVCC works with in the valley. We are their highest volume site thanks to the dedication from the BioClub members who run the program. We coll ec ted over 550lbs of beverage containers last year. Visit http://cousd.net/education/school/school.php?sectionid=5& to learn more about Charter Oak High School!
Posted November 05, 2015

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
The California Department of Education recognized COHS as one of 373 schools in the state to receive Gold Ribbon status! The Gold Ribbon recognizes “exemplary students, teachers, classified employees, and schools for advancing excellence in education.” Math teachers had a specific role in this achievement, as Charter Oak applied for this award for math. The new Common Core teaching has been implemented at Charter Oak through the math department. Since this school is no longer using California Standardized Testing (CST) tests, the math department transitioned to Common Core teaching practices to prepared students for the new Smarter Balance Testing. The smooth implementation and transition into Common Core gave our administration the opportunity to apply for and be awarded the Gold Ribbon designation.
Posted October 13, 2015


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
BioClub students have made a $260 donation to the Science Department.  The club donates half of the proceeds from the recycling program to the department each year.  The science department will be using this money to purchase replacements for broken scales that will benefit all science students. We have a partnership with the San Gabriel Valley Conservation Core and they pick up the bags of recycling we collect, sort and recycle the beverage containers, and send us a check for the profits.  Charter Oak High School has the single biggest recycling program of any school or business that SGVCC works with in the valley.  We are their highest volume site thanks to the dedication from the BioClub members who run the program.  We collected over 550lbs of beverage containers last year.
Posted October 12, 2015

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Charter Oak High School in Covina has lots to offer 9th-12th grade students. COHS has a annual graduation rate of over 99%. The school has had an IB diploma program for 22 years. They also offer AVID for college bound students. COHS has a wide variety of vocational and career courses and four career pathways. The newest pathways include biomedical and engineering. COHS has business and technology pathways, as well. Both are award winning pathways. COHS has award winning visual and performing arts programs and outstanding athletic programs that are CIF winners. COHS recently won a California Gold Ribbon Award for the exemplary implementation of common core math with new integrated math courses. COHS has outstanding teachers, support staff, and administrators. Our Measure CO bond made it possible to build a new aquatic center and add a great amount of new technology in the classrooms. Everyday is a great day to be a "Charger" at COHS!
Posted October 07, 2015

Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
All the administration, teachers, and support staff are great at COHS. COHS is a great school.
Posted October 03, 2015


Charter Oak High School 3

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Once the hidden jewel of SGV, this school has declined significantly over the years. Although the campus is nice, the teachers are highly stressed, impatient and sarcastic. They also attempt to overly influence the students with their own personal views: pretty mean and uptight with the exception of a small few. The positives about COHS are that they have a very good AVID, music and sports program and the office staff are polite and helpful. However, the attitudes of the General Ed teachers could use a complete makeover and their coping skills improved. Public schools used to be a place where children were challenged to learn and grow in an environment that was positive and helpful. Now teachers seem to project their own stress onto the students in an environment of intimidation. In conversation with other parents, this same thread of opinion exists and our children no longer look forward to attending school. When we ve asked our kids What teacher has been a great influence on your life? Sadly, none of them are from Charter Oak High School. What a missed opportunity at such a critical phase of a teenagers life

Charter Oak High School 5

Posted August 25, 2012
- a parent
This high school is among the best in the state.All my children have gone here and I have found that they care about the kids and the teachers do the best with what tools they are given.Believe me with all the cut backs that have happened they do a great job!!!For all you parents out there if you really want your kids to accellerate academically then get involved with them.When you stat involved with your kids it shows them you care and they are a better person for it.Before my daughter stsrted in this district she was at least a D - C student and by the time she got into high school she brought her grades up to C+ - B.In her 2nd year at Charter Oak high she was on the honor roll until she graduated.Now she is an LVN and about to become an RN!! So I give a huge thumbs up to Charter Oak high and all the teachers!!!!Rember parents you need to get involved and stay involved with your kids if you want them to succeed.

Charter Oak High School 1

Posted August 15, 2012
- a student
Not a very good school if you are looking for academics. The administration is so so and the teachers are O.K. If you are looking for good schools now I would suggest Glendora H.S. or San Dimas High School. Damian is an excellent high school but it is a private school so you have to pay to go.


Charter Oak High School 4

Posted May 13, 2012
- a student
I'm about to graduate UC Irvine, and I have to thank COHS for preparing me for college, particularly the IB Program. The school does have its flaws. I felt that the CP classes didn't do much to help students, and not the teachers were great. Also moticed when i went there that the administration sometimes prioritized IB kids over non-IB kids. However, i believe that students and parents can demand change if they feel they need it. Overall it's a great school that offers much opportunity for student growth and if parents feel unhappy with their child's education, they should take it upon themselves to demand change at the district level.

Charter Oak High School 4

Posted August 05, 2009
- a student
I am a former charter oak student who transfered out for living issues. I liked the school and wanna go back sophmore year

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charter Oak High School
1430 East Covina Boulevard, Covina, CA  91724-1651
(626) 915-5841
Last modified Charter Oak High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charter Oak High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. Top